It's normally facing the entrance. Some are on the coinbox, or the entrance area.Originally posted by the_fallen:where the sticket found on SBS buses?
i didn't really see any when i board the bus.
can snap a pic of the sticker to show us?
or tell us where is the sticker pasted on (which part of the bus)
i'll want to go read the contents of the sticker
I think you need to get some of your facts right.Originally posted by sBs_boy:The reason that the BC does it is to prevent people from farecheat. This is all thankz to alot of the O Lvl students.. They alwayz show their bus card and pay student fare when they are not allowed to do so.
Remark 2: You are absolutely right. That's why I'm trying to get you to make noise, just don't implicate those you talk to.Originally posted by UnLeAsH_cHa0s:tks for ur reply. but jus 2 clear things up, i did not in any case try to teach others 2 disobey the dvr or instructions given. i m only trying to let some of the consumers out there know that such inconvenience may happen to them n they will end up on losing end, so protect urself of cos wif no violence involved. wat really pissed me off is -
1. all other dvrs i consulted CONFIRMED that confiscation is not allowed by the dvr. in my poly days i hav experienced expired cards, but @ that time i was at the ticket top-up counter trying 2 top up (using adult fare of cos no cheating here, poly students should know wat i mean) the counter lady had my card in her hands, she was behind the counter mind u! i cant do anything 2 her right? instead of retaining my card, she asked my POLITELY if i wan 2 keep my card or simply refund the values in it. so y this time is diff? cos bus n MRT diff?
2. the staff i spoke to r always jnr cust svc offrs on the hotline. they dunno anything n jus say "case by case basis" regarding my fare claims. trying 2 make me fed up n jus give up in my opinion.
x2Originally posted by Agenda:SBS sucks.. Poly students are still students, Why they have to pay adult fare..
Eat this SBS!! _|_![]()
Originally posted by AngZangGui:In the very first place.. I nvr say that they cannot continue to use their cards. But i was referring to a small group of students who show their card to the BC and make the BC assume that they are students and then make away by just paying 55c when they are not allowed to do so..
I think you need to get some of your facts right.
For O lvl students, after their graduate, the card can still be used until it expired in Jul the next year (meaning if they grad in 2006, 2007 still can use). For those who never go to JCs, their card can only use the concession until mid-Jan. After that, they also have to pay [b]adult fare even if they continue using their student card issued to them when they were in sec 1.
I have been using my sec sch student card while working for the first 5 months before getting into poly in 2005. The ticket office even told me that the card still can be used until Jul 2005 but I just have to pay adult fare if I continue using the card after mid Jan 2005.[/b]
Originally posted by Junw31:Have you had any idea how things at Corporate communication work like?Today you complain about the driver and within 2 days they already "fired" at us which could affect our allowances
[
So i believe picking out of all this driver(as in give warning, any action taken or etc) is definitely necessary for the customer service standard to improve. Minimise rather than tolerant such cases.![]()
Originally posted by the_fallen:where the sticket found on SBS buses?
i didn't really see any when i board the bus.
can snap a pic of the sticker to show us?
or tell us where is the sticker pasted on (which part of the bus)
i'll want to go read the contents of the sticker

I see there are 2 different types of stickers... Some got say retain, but others don't say retain.Originally posted by Y_Shun:authorized to check....but can they keep it?
1. If U "really" are a Poly Student, why didn't U just show your Poly Student Card to the BC instead of the receipt?Originally posted by UnLeAsH_cHa0s:1st of all guys the all caps title is bcos i m really super pissed wif wats my situation, so no offence 2 any1. jus needed 2 made this known to other ppl 2 prevent them from suffering like me.
a few days ago i was boarded bus 65 at bendemeer rd goin towards orchard direction. when i tap my ezlink card, there is this error sound (u all should know wat i mean), n the idiot reader showed "CARD EXPIRED". so i tout mayb got some prob n i used my Adult ezlink card. i moved to the back of bus. The dvr called me to go n tap my student card again. thinkin that he may wanna help me i passed my card to him w/o hesitation. WTF he took my card, say my card expired n he insist on keeping my card, saying its some crap company policy. wa i damn DL la, but he driving so i LL stay calm. i showed him my receipt which i bought my bus cencession, its obviously JUNE 2008, n he say he hav 2 keep the card, den jus slot it into his pocket, n gimme some kuku receipt. i told him it gonna b some system error wat, how can expire? he keep shaking his head, say wat call some crap no. aft 5 days bla bla bla, those push blame stories. DAMN PISSED at this moment.
nvm i tout mayb its jus misunderstanding. so i call the no. on the receipt, n tell them my situation. mind u this is like more than week later n i hav been using adult fare every freaking day, which is like almost $5 per day to go sch. if u guys were in my shoes u would expect some form of compensation for the adult fare right, more than $20 by den. i mean i got bus concession leh! liddat i losing end no matter wat right!?!? the ans i got was "we will pay ur balance of the bus concession based on the total cost minus no of days left in the mth" wa lao eh obvious "EAT" me leh!!! den as 4 my adult fare they say is case by case basis may not compensate WTF!!
in the end finally case close. they say my card corrupted muz replace dammit. muz pay fee somemore!!! obviously i muz pay wat if not how go sch??? up till now i havent received compensation for the adult fares i have used, & not 2 mention the remainder of my bus concession @ the time of confiscate. this is really pissing me off, i hav been travelling to n fro from bus terminals 2 terminals trying 2 get my card n claims. waste of time n money, study time oso affected. in due course i will bring this matter up to CASE definitely. i really cant stand this kinda service. sry 4 the long post but this really muz b made known to every1.
SO NEXT TIME U TAKE BUS, UR CARD SOMEHOW GOT SOME IDIOTIC ERROR N THE DVR INSIST ON TAKING UR CARD 4 WATEVER REASON, DONT GIVE HIM!!! KEEP UR CARD N TRY 2 VERIFY WIF TICKETING OFFICE OR WATEVER JUS DONT GIVE HIM THE CARD. I HAVE VERIFIED THIS WIF A LOT OF OTHER BUS DVRS N THEY HAVE COMFIRMED THAT EXPIRED CARDS R NOT 2 B CONFISCATED INSTEAD RETURNED TO THE OWNER.
He gave the card to the BC and the BC just took it and did not return him.Originally posted by brotherchen1982:1. If U "really" are a Poly Student, why didn't U just show your Poly Student Card to the BC instead of the receipt?BC might think your receipt is not for your card as he doesn't know if U are still a Poly Student.
Originally posted by Y_Shun:Poly student is issued with 2 cards;
He [b]gave the card to the BC and the BC just took it and did not return him.[/b]
"Bus Captains are authorized to check all fare cards, passes and ticket and to retain them for varification if required."Originally posted by Y_Shun:authorized to check....but can they keep it?
liddat say we all LL lor... wat they say is final ma. we consumers hav no say. i dont c any cheating of fares involved wif tertiary cards. tout only concession or no concession? no diff wat?!!? how 2 cheat?? some serious reviewing of policies needed down here IMO.Originally posted by sBs_boy:"Bus Captains are authorized to check all fare cards, passes and ticket and to retain them for varification if required."
In conclusion, BCs does have the rights to retain your card in an event that the suspect that something is wrong. Theres nothing more that you can do.. itz stated in the notice found on all SBS Transit Buses.
got two types. This is found in B9TL. Ezylink Card is also a type of farecard.Originally posted by stooper:I see there are 2 different types of stickers... Some got say retain, but others don't say retain.

actually i only heard of this 'confiscation of easylink' after i graduated from JC. my friend's card was confiscated due to the fact that she tried to pay 55cents but was caught. she shed her tears on the bus immediately as it was not only a normall EZLINK card but a pass with her pri sch photo which accompanied her sec and JC years.Originally posted by Y_Shun:Janurary 25 2007
Why did bus driver take my ez-link card?
I AM a Secondary 5 student waiting for my O-level examination results.
On 20 Jan, I went to top up my student ez-link card and, to my dismay, I was told that I had to top up a minimum of $10 (adult rate) instead of my usual $5 (student rate).
I didn't do so and paid for my bus fare with coins while showing my student ez-link card.
When I boarded bus 168 that day at around 8pm at Tampines St 71, I did as I had previously - paid 55 cents while showing my ez-link card.
However, the bus driver asked me to tap my card at the reader and I did so. Then he told me that my card was an adult card. Stunned, I told him I am a student.
He took my card from me, printed a receipt and told me to call the number on the receipt after five working days. When I asked for my card back, he simply said: 'Cannot.' When I asked why, there was no answer and he started to drive off.
I was dumbstruck. I didn't even know why my card was taken and I still don't know why.
Now, I have to pay adult fare until I get my card back.
Does this mean that because I am waiting for my exam results, I am not considered a student anymore?
Why couldn't the bus driver just tell me why he took away my card?
- Saufi Chainarong Sornsaeng
and if he grab your arm... give him a punch on the face issit?Originally posted by UnLeAsH_cHa0s:SO NEXT TIME U TAKE BUS, UR CARD SOMEHOW GOT SOME IDIOTIC ERROR N THE DVR INSIST ON TAKING UR CARD 4 WATEVER REASON, DONT GIVE HIM!!! KEEP UR CARD N TRY 2 VERIFY WIF TICKETING OFFICE OR WATEVER JUS DONT GIVE HIM THE CARD. I HAVE VERIFIED THIS WIF A LOT OF OTHER BUS DVRS N THEY HAVE COMFIRMED THAT EXPIRED CARDS R NOT 2 B CONFISCATED INSTEAD RETURNED TO THE OWNER.
You can refuse to give him wat. And who knows what happens to the card if they confiscate it?Originally posted by ice_jas:Okay, i realised it was my fault hence i said i pay the 90cents. i tried to 'bargain' with him if i could keep my card but he says cannot.
Originally posted by ice_jas:I understand that its painful to see your cute face on the ezlink card being taken away... its like your childhood pillow sent to the dustbin or something... However, emotions aside but the fact is that after the concession validity, you are required to pay your bus fare in full adult fare, not the normal 55 cents. By paying 55 cents when your card isnt valid is actually an abuse of the system. I believe your friend know that her concession validity expired and she herself is no longer a student, so why pay 55 cents?
actually i only heard of this 'confiscation of easylink' after i graduated from JC. my friend's card was confiscated due to the fact that she tried to pay 55cents but was caught. she shed her tears on the bus immediately as it was not only a normall EZLINK card but a pass with her pri sch photo which accompanied her sec and JC years.
Originally posted by ice_jas:I understand that your sec/jc ezlink card does not have money, but the fact that based on the assumption that you know that your sec/jc ezlink card does not enjoy concession fares anymore and now functions as an adult ezlink card has led to the confiscation of the ezlink card by driver. That's because you initially put 55 cents in the coin box. Even if you top up to 90 cents is useless. The fact is, you abused the system.
and well, i just met with this incident recently when my easylink card ran out of money and apparently i paid 55cents out of norm. the uncle demanded me to tap the card n i tapped. IT's TRUE THAT i paid money because my ezlink card got no credits! but he said that he need to take the card as i had already tapped and the card needs to be sent to don't-know where for some don't-know what purposes. Okay, i realised it was my fault hence i said i pay the 90cents. i tried to 'bargain' with him if i could keep my card but he says cannot. But he added that i can get back my card in a few days. So oh well i gave it to him, despite feeling pissed, stupid and lost. The point here is that, I'm not unhappy with the fact that the uncle don't want to return me my ezlink card, but, should they confiscated a ezlink card just like that?
Originally posted by ice_jas:Just bring your i/c la.. its only another card. You wont die though i understand younger people tend to lose the i/c easily that's why they revised the age from 12 to 15.
To students who Don't bring I/C around, isn't this ezlink card with a photo and i/c number equivalent to a i/c? and should we give our 'i/c' to anyone just like that if they demand for it? what if something happens and we need an easylink card to verify our identification? this is such an inefficient way of 'updating' the system. why not they just 'lock' the card and says that i'm supposed to go to some stations to register and to unlock otherwise i can't use my card?
Confiscation of bus card/normal fare card or what is not as problematic as confiscation of a student's pass. Actually just wanted to rant my thoughts here, and hopefully someone will enlighten me.