Yes, mercedes are more powerful but dont understimate the Scanias.Originally posted by alleggerita:Hmm..seems to me the merc 0405 are more powerful and easier to drive. DDs will definitely be more difficult to drive than single-decks..oh, and I think the Scania buses have the quietest engine of all buses other than the CNG volvo buses..does anybody noe why? Haha..
Its Merc own gearbox, W3E.Originally posted by alleggerita:Oh..and I realised another thing..I hate the merc buses because the gearchange are super jerky when compared to a volvo b10m's..lol..voith gearbox is it? Or merc's own gearbox? But in any case, it is a bad automatic gearbox..haha..
Ya me too...I love the VSO (B10TL) only for its suspension, super soft! However the Voith gearbox makes it crawl in acceleration..But its still a nice bus, especially the engine and radiator noise combination!Originally posted by alleggerita:Haha..I see i see..yeah..the gearbox sucks..horrible jerks from the 1st and 2nd gears..3rd gear onwards better..even when stopping also will jerk..lol..cant stand it..For SD, i love the Volvo B10M MkIV DM3500..wonderful..for DD, I love the Volvo Super Olympian B10TL Volgren..lol..wonderful air suspension..
It's not the Voith gearbox problem,It's the speed limiter lah dey,3 speed gearbox you think can't speed meh?Then why Some Tridents can speed?Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Ya me too...I love the VSO (B10TL) only for its suspension, super soft! However the Voith gearbox makes it crawl in acceleration..But its still a nice bus, especially the engine and radiator noise combination!![]()
My favourite SD is the Scania N113CRB, quite obvious.. But actually, i like the Mercs O.405 (SMRT ones) more..![]()
Aiyo...Dont you know that the VSOs are labeled as pork chops? They are underpowered lah, engine not powerful enough, thats why cannot speed. Tridents cannot speed got problem liao. 305bhp leh, surely it can speed?Originally posted by carbikebus:It's not the Voith gearbox problem,It's the speed limiter lah dey,3 speed gearbox you think can't speed meh?Then why Some Tridents can speed?
U refering to SMRT Scania ELBOs? SBST i dont think they can jerk.. Scania ELBOs jerk the worst, like the SBST MBs.Originally posted by Rooky:got one time i took a scania CAC, the bus was so jerky that one old lady said that she feels like she is riding a horse
SBST scania. when the bus is accelerating jerk a lotOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:U refering to SMRT Scania ELBOs? SBST i dont think they can jerk.. Scania ELBOs jerk the worst, like the SBST MBs.The ELBOs jerk only when the lock up kicks in.
Ignorance at its best.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:U refering to SMRT Scania ELBOs? SBST i dont think they can jerk.. Scania ELBOs jerk the worst, like the SBST MBs.The ELBOs jerk only when the lock up kicks in.
Hmm...they do jerk (slightly?)...But what i meant is, Scania ELBO jerk more than SBST N113s (i personally think so). Is this true?Originally posted by Scania:Ignorance at its best.
You go and take those SBST Scanias, tell me whether they jerk or not.
Oh ... Sorry for the rubbish comment that i made...Originally posted by Rooky:SBST scania. when the bus is accelerating jerk a lot
The 0405 is not young, besides, the gear change in the W3E differs from the Voith and ZF ones. It involves gear-slips just before the change.Originally posted by alleggerita:Haha..I see i see..yeah..the gearbox sucks..horrible jerks from the 1st and 2nd gears..3rd gear onwards better..even when stopping also will jerk..lol..cant stand it..For SD, i love the Volvo B10M MkIV DM3500..wonderful..for DD, I love the Volvo Super Olympian B10TL Volgren..lol..wonderful air suspension..
What about WLDEP drivers? CRL?Originally posted by sBs_boy:It actually depends though.
Example :
- HGDep drivers would say Volvo
- AM/SL drivers would say Merdz
- Some BNDep drivers would opt for Scania
So, itz hard to determine which bus is the easiest to drive though.
Woah! Which MKIVs has the 285bhp engine? The DM3500? Cause i rmbr the THD101GC/THD102KF engine (used by MKIV Striders and MKIV DM and MKIV PSV Soon Chow) produces 245bhp leh (am i correct?). Not sure about the DH10A (DM3500) . 285bhp seems really powerful for a SD citybus.Originally posted by SBS3625D:Ahh.....talking about favourite buses? Mine would be the MKIIIs, and the Voith MKIVs. The Voith MKIVs with the 285bhp engine is definitely great to ride on.
Mercs would be good compared to volvo and those scania. Why mercs is best? You can try this, try to sit at those seats that are behind the drivers (those green seats). You can hardly hear the engine sound from there, the whole bus seems to be very stable. You also can hear the "Pss..ss" sound when the brake is released. Mercs also had easy setting to operate the bus. Compared to volvo which locate their engine on the front. Volvo like those striders and DM 3500. Those drivers who are very tall, seems to bend their back to be able to look out. As the windscreen seems to be quite low and the driver seats was very high! The worst would be those scania. OMG, I think they are too light and tend to shake a lot. When it passes by those road that were irregular, they would shake hardly and may cause you to puke!Originally posted by sBs_boy:It actually depends though.
Example :
- HGDep drivers would say Volvo
- AM/SL drivers would say Merdz
- Some BNDep drivers would opt for Scania
So, itz hard to determine which bus is the easiest to drive though.
285bhp more for DD or artic. SD dun need so much power.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Woah! Which MKIVs has the 285bhp engine? The DM3500? Cause i rmbr the THD101GC/THD102KF engine (used by MKIV Striders and MKIV DM and MKIV PSV Soon Chow) produces 245bhp leh (am i correct?). Not sure about the DH10A (DM3500) . 285bhp seems really powerful for a SD citybus.![]()
Ofcourse it's silent because the engine and radiator is located at the back. Scania have their engine at the back but their radiator is at the side. The MB has a good good pickup but it's noisy especially at the exterior. Volvo engine is not at the front, it's located in the middle for equal weight distribution. I still like the mk3 and mk4 though because they can go very fast.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Mercs would be good compared to volvo and those scania. Why mercs is best? You can try this, try to sit at those seats that are behind the drivers (those green seats). You can hardly hear the engine sound from there, the whole bus seems to be very stable. You also can hear the "Pss..ss" sound when the brake is released. Mercs also had easy setting to operate the bus. Compared to volvo which locate their engine on the front. Volvo like those striders and DM 3500. Those drivers who are very tall, seems to bend their back to be able to look out. As the windscreen seems to be quite low and the driver seats was very high! The worst would be those scania. OMG, I think they are too light and tend to shake a lot. When it passes by those road that were irregular, they would shake hardly and may cause you to puke!
Those MK3 too! They are very unstable! They tends to shake a lot! Same issue, the driver seats and the windscreen. The driver seats was so high and the windscreen was rather low..Originally posted by XTransbus:Ofcourse it's silent because the engine and radiator is located at the back. Scania have their engine at the back but their radiator is at the side. The MB has a good good pickup but it's noisy especially at the exterior. Volvo engine is not at the front, it's located in the middle for equal weight distribution. I still like the mk3 and mk4 though because they can go very fast.