Well, this was what I was able to infer from the raw information I gathered - I would like to welcome you to correct me if I'm wrong.Originally posted by ZYX2005:excuse me? u do realize that yishun was then village area then and was served orginlly by the united SBS co with bus svc 164 166 n 171?
pls check ur facts
ZYX
All right, then, tell me about them - I'm getting interested...Originally posted by ZYX2005:it is unfrotunte that the raw info you got is not dated back to year 1973 for other bus serving yishun. u ad focus on bus 171
so if u had those facts u were right for those fact but wrong for the idea of the post.
means u din have extra fact. means u must think before u post . "is ur info enough to argue?"
" can i realize that maybe before this got thing happen?"
--------------------------------------------------------
eh? why i gone and reply "pls check ur facts"
sorry wrong. because ur facts not enough even if u check hor, u cannot realize got other bus served yishun then withdrawn.
my bad
ZYX
It's up as of reply timing. There are some technical issues which we are getting the server admin to solve...Originally posted by Urroh:Anyway the website is down again.. cannot see..![]()
For the boonLay extension, what is there to hand over ??Originally posted by ngjy22:Last time got a lot of TIBS Svcs hand over to SBS and SBS svcs hand over to TIBS but now no more...
Maybe PTC and LTA is satisfied with the current 'territorial' expansion thing. Maybe enough of bus svcs in Singapore.
Off topic: I wonder when CCL and Joo Koon Line opens, will the 'handing over bus svcs' occur again?
Boon lay dont have anything to hand over.Originally posted by sBs_boy:For the boonLay extension, what is there to hand over ??
Later SBST give all the JIS to SMRT... Then SMRT will use it for dumping ground for all their Nissans and the upcoming CSS Nissans...Originally posted by ngjy22:Boon lay dont have anything to hand over.
So, what is your point of asking the question in the 1st place ?Originally posted by ngjy22:Boon lay dont have anything to hand over.
i only know minor stuffOriginally posted by eX.A.K.R.:All right, then, tell me about them - I'm getting interested...
(i dun care if this is public forumOriginally posted by sBs_boy:So, what is your point of asking the question in the 1st place ?
the handover was to give Tibs better grounds to compete with SBS, beyond Yishun, Woodlands and Admiralty Rd West...Originally posted by ngjy22:Last time got a lot of TIBS Svcs hand over to SBS and SBS svcs hand over to TIBS but now no more...
Maybe PTC and LTA is satisfied with the current 'territorial' expansion thing. Maybe enough of bus svcs in Singapore.
Off topic: I wonder when CCL and Joo Koon Line opens, will the 'handing over bus svcs' occur again?
I think this is also the cause of deadlocks for TIBS, now SMRT for fleet and route expansions and coverages. SMRT Buses is stucked right up in the North West and Northern areas.Originally posted by ^tamago^:the handover was to give Tibs better grounds to compete with SBS, beyond Yishun, Woodlands and Admiralty Rd West...
also, it was a good time to do so as Tibs were buying in many new buses then tat can take on these new responsibilities....
actually, i dun think they can move out right?Originally posted by off_service:I think this is also the cause of deadlocks for TIBS, now SMRT for fleet and route expansions and coverages. SMRT Buses is stucked right up in the North West and Northern areas.
I don't think they can move. Actually I felt that when SBS Transit won the NEL tender, TIBS was already at a disadvantage with the areas they got in return. Most of them are matured estates with no much room for new services. With PTC's ruling of no duplication and wastage of resources, the situation, I feel, got worse.Originally posted by ^tamago^:actually, i dun think they can move out right?
frankly, i find SMRTB has taken on the image of its parent SMRT, very stingy and maximise profits at all costs (pun intended).
they can disregard small-time business holders' pleas in times of bad business (dhoby ghaut xchange), not spend money to install shoulder length barriers which will only cost them little compared to their profits they take in, and now this.![]()
You just took my opinion on SMRT right out of my mind, Tamago.Originally posted by ^tamago^:actually, i dun think they can move out right?
frankly, i find SMRTB has taken on the image of its parent SMRT, very stingy and maximise profits at all costs (pun intended).
they can disregard small-time business holders' pleas in times of bad business (dhoby ghaut xchange), not spend money to install shoulder length barriers which will only cost them little compared to their profits they take in, and now this.![]()
Ah! I caught your ball - you thought I was referring to both Yishun New Town and Yishun Village (more correctly, Nee Soon) when I was talking about Yishun. I was referring to Yishun in the context of the new town, which had then-TIBS buses from the very beginning. But if you extend it to cover Nee Soon Village (which was the area around Nee Soon Camp and the private houses around there, if I'm wrong), then obviously then-SBS moved in much earlier.Originally posted by ZYX2005:i only know minor stuff
when i went thru the 72 bus guide that day while doing point to point er report is saw about 3 bus svc serve the yishun area. village etc.
i will have to do a report on 1972 bus guide in BIh then see how to explain more
yup
zyx
Please... get your facts right. They are not more powerful, they are Euro I spec. On paper they may be more powerful, but the engine is cut back to not rev as high to reduce emissions.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:![]()
All were those more "powerful" bendies, those with the OM447hLA engines, as compared with OM447hA engines used in the first batch Habits. Most were ZF, except for TIB1193C and TIB1194A, which were Voith. Those with ZF can really pin you to your seats!
Even the fleet also had consecutive rego numbers.![]()
Yah, you 171 turned most people's head, especially yourselfOriginally posted by Windy_hates_B10TLs:Please... get your facts right. They are not more powerful, they are Euro I spec. On paper they may be more powerful, but the engine is cut back to not rev as high to reduce emissions.
The photos of the SBS O.405 on 171 is also at the Singapore Zoological Gardens, which is now no longer served by the 171. I took the photo back in the early 1990s as a kid not much older than many of you. I also took the pic of TIB905Y which is on display on the site.
I thot some Habits were Euro2 ?Originally posted by Windy_hates_B10TLs:Please... get your facts right. They are not more powerful, they are Euro I spec. On paper they may be more powerful, but the engine is cut back to not rev as high to reduce emissions.
The photos of the SBS O.405 on 171 is also at the Singapore Zoological Gardens, which is now no longer served by the 171. I took the photo back in the early 1990s as a kid not much older than many of you. I also took the pic of TIB905Y which is on display on the site.
i believe we do have much records on the transport history. now with advancements in technology specificlly the scanner, one cna do wonders with it and his old news clippings / pictures collection...Originally posted by off_service:Yah, you 171 turned most people's head, especially yourself
It's a pity technology wasn't as advanced last time, unaffordable, lack of interests and hardly any records from the relevant authorities. Else we will have more records on Singapore Transport history.
My bad, I did a typo I was meant to type Euro II. The "L" in OM447hLA means it is intercooled and meets Euro II spec.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:I thot some Habits were Euro2 ?