possible solution, but you will need to have sufficient reason, as for me, who does not live in 608 affected areas, i cant have sufficint reasons but to sign petition online.....Originally posted by sbst275:Actually, why not approach the MPs...
Look at 307, once the matter became polticise, SMRT just have to give in
Does Sv 608 pass along Tanjong Pagar GRC?Originally posted by CS Pang:possible solution, but you will need to have sufficient reason, as for me, who does not live in 608 affected areas, i cant have sufficint reasons but to sign petition online.....![]()
You are thinking too much.. Even so, do you think that by taking away 608 will give SMRTB 66 buses ? Answer is no..Originally posted by swee_heng:I think SMRT withdraw 608 because they lost out in the auction of the acquiration of the 66 New 12m buses & they dun have enough buses thats why
Erm, I think u r mistaken.Originally posted by swee_heng:I think SMRT withdraw 608 because they lost out in the auction of the acquiration of the 66 New 12m buses & they dun have enough buses thats why
Sounds like SMRt is bidding for 66 second-hand unwanted busesOriginally posted by swee_heng:I think SMRT withdraw 608 because they lost out in the auction of the acquiration of the 66 New 12m buses & they dun have enough buses thats why
Since when did the trains provide island-wide connection from Marine Pde? What bull$hit is that?Originally posted by brotherchen1982:Said an SMRT spokesperson in a statement:
"Since 2000, ridership for CSS 608 has declined by about 40% due to population shifts from the older estates to the new towns, and the relocation of HDB Hub from Bukit Merah to Toa Payoh. Lower fares, low ridership and the availability of alternative bus services have affected the viability of operating this service."
"Over the years, this service has been duplicated by alternative bus services operated by another transport provider. These services also ply similar sections of the route as CSS 608. Passengers who travel along popular routes such as Shenton Way, Marine Parade and Bedok therefore have other services to choose from. They can also take the MRT, which provides island wide connection from these areas.
"As such, SMRT will cease operating City Shuttle Service (CSS) 608 from 1 April 2007 due to low demand for this service. While we understand our passengersÂ’ concerns on the withdrawal of this service, we are also mindful of having to optimise resources based on passenger demand. "
- Taken from Stomp : SMRT: 608 service cut due to ridership dip
It also passes through SM Goh's Marine Parade GRC.Originally posted by gorby107:Does Sv 608 pass along Tanjong Pagar GRC?
If so, we can go and tell MM Lee about it![]()
where do u get tis infor?Originally posted by swee_heng:I think SMRT withdraw 608 because they lost out in the auction of the acquiration of the 66 New 12m buses & they dun have enough buses thats why
Its not true. Its a TENDER not an auctionOriginally posted by CS Pang:where do u get tis infor?
oh nose, does that mean GCT is not as impt as before?Originally posted by gorby107:Does Sv 608 pass along Tanjong Pagar GRC?
If so, we can go and tell MM Lee about it![]()
Originally posted by TIB1049L:oh, i see
Its not true. Its a [b]TENDER not an auction[/b]
hmm, there is always bull$hit around...Originally posted by iveco:Since when did the trains provide island-wide connection from Marine Pde? What bull$hit is that?![]()
True indeed..Originally posted by CS Pang:hmm, there is always bull$hit around...![]()
:points fingers @ Marbok Tan for giving SBS(T) the NEL in 1999 and forcing the NW for NE swap as well as the SMRT-Tibs merger.Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:After taking svc 608 yesterday haven't taken for years !
Took from Bedok to Bukit Merah. Frequency of the bus on saturday was pretty poor. I was at the boarding queue of 608 but there was no bus . 200D came and the driver had only 5-10 minutes of break before he started his next trip.
The bus was in poor condition , suspension of the nissan diesel buses are the worst in Singapore and you can keep hearing the suspension sound as the bus moves (bouncing) along the road .
The load between Marine Parade to Bukit Merah was pretty healthy, most of the elderly will board the bus between Shenton way to Bukit Merah. Some of them were talking to each other about the withdrawal (Overheard) and they were obviously pissed with SMRT for such a drastic measure and how inconvienent without 608. I saw the withdrawal 608 sign board and SMRT make no effort or so whatever to guide people how to take alternative routes. This whole episode speaks volume of SMRT's bus division. They have shown how incompetent their management are. Well done' SMRT bus company. The biggest mistake of bus transport is SMRT taking ove TIBS. Service has gone down since the takeover.
What can be done instead of withdrawing the service ?
1. Hand over the service to SBST ( If you are in need of the buses , don't sacrifice your passengers just for profits) . Since Bedok and Bukit Merah are in SBST's area, it's fair for SBST to take control of the service.
2. Increase the price to the same as SBST and SMRT's bus divisions. Explain to the customers clearly why the need for this, I am very SURE they will accept a BUS fare increment than a STUPID bus service withdrawal.
I still think the best option is number 1.
I have lost all my respect for SMRT bus services (MRT is a different story) after this whole episode.
Dude, may I remind you that the MRT service is just as bad or at most slightly better than their bus services...7 to 8 mins frequency off peak on the NS Line...WT...Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:After taking svc 608 yesterday haven't taken for years !
Took from Bedok to Bukit Merah. Frequency of the bus on saturday was pretty poor. I was at the boarding queue of 608 but there was no bus . 200D came and the driver had only 5-10 minutes of break before he started his next trip.
The bus was in poor condition , suspension of the nissan diesel buses are the worst in Singapore and you can keep hearing the suspension sound as the bus moves (bouncing) along the road .
The load between Marine Parade to Bukit Merah was pretty healthy, most of the elderly will board the bus between Shenton way to Bukit Merah. Some of them were talking to each other about the withdrawal (Overheard) and they were obviously pissed with SMRT for such a drastic measure and how inconvienent without 608. I saw the withdrawal 608 sign board and SMRT make no effort or so whatever to guide people how to take alternative routes. This whole episode speaks volume of SMRT's bus division. They have shown how incompetent their management are. Well done' SMRT bus company. The biggest mistake of bus transport is SMRT taking ove TIBS. Service has gone down since the takeover.
1. Hand over the service to SBST ( If you are in need of the buses , don't sacrifice your passengers just for profits) . Since Bedok and Bukit Merah are in SBST's area, it's fair for SBST to take control of the service.
2. Increase the price to the same as SBST and SMRT's bus divisions. Explain to the customers clearly why the need for this, I am very SURE they will accept a BUS fare increment than a STUPID bus service withdrawal.
I have lost all my respect for SMRT bus services (MRT is a different story) after this whole episode.
Yah lah... On Saturday, 5pm onwards already drop to 8min frequency. Every week I take from BNL, already got people standing. When the train arrive at Jurong East, wah, packed to the door! This is some more off peak still can pack to door!Originally posted by Zilchster:Dude, may I remind you that the MRT service is just as bad or at most slightly better than their bus services...7 to 8 mins frequency off peak on the NS Line...WT...
Agreed wif your opinion regarding SMRTOriginally posted by Airbus330Captain:After taking svc 608 yesterday haven't taken for years !
I have to say some words of fairness here.Originally posted by vivienlee:Agreed wif your opinion regarding SMRT
1. Ever since SMRT took over from TIBS in 2004, no new buses have been bought in at all. Look as SBST - now got VSOs, CNEs and B9TLs. Instead of buying new buses, SMRT took opportunity to withdraw CSS sv 605 and recycle some of its old and poor conditoned Nissan buses to SMRT, hence spoiling the image of SMRT. If TIBS is still existing, maybe TIB1248D will be a new bus model instead of those ex CSS buses. Who knows, maybe no addition to the current fleet wif those recycled Nissan buses.
4. From the paintworks of some of the buses, I can oso tell tat SMRT is really very cheapskate. Instead of repainting its current buses (from TIBS to SMRT livery) to give a brand new look, noticed tat SMRT only touched up the base of its buses. Can tell from its side patches. Those from fully painted buses revert to SMRt livey, sometimes SMRT juz apply stickers painted wif yellowish white coat to cover tat's all. These stickers also do peel off easily too.
I think vivienless means that SMRT buses are almost all re-stickered instead of repainted. You see some of the rear of Habits and Lance. They forgot to pry off the badge. So the badge bulges out from the sticker.Originally posted by off_service:I have to say some words of fairness here.
SBST has brought in new buses over the past few years due to the fact they are replacing the older buses which are going off, other than mere fleet expansion.
Some SBST buses were also have their new paint painted over their old SBS livery. Look carefully and you will notice.