Same page as SBS's AVMSOriginally posted by ^tamago^:appeared on ST today i think.
If you read the article, ST has bluntly gave away everythingOriginally posted by Urroh:what is the difference? Why cant preserve CSS 608??![]()
THE only remaining City Shuttle Service (CSS) will be shut down at the end of next month due to falling ridership and the availability of alternative services.
Too few people are using service 608, said SMRT, which has been running CSS since 2001.
Since 2000, ridership for CSS 608 has declined by about 40 per cent 'due to population shifts from the older estates to the new towns, and the relocation of the HDB Hub from Bukit Merah to Toa Payoh', an SMRT spokesman told The Straits Times.
She added that about seven trunk services - such as SBS buses 10, 12 and 196 and SMRT's 851 - as well as the MRT serve routes on which 608 runs.
And despite CSS 608's tickets being cheaper by between 10 and 20 cents, this has held little attraction to commuters rushing to work as they would board whichever bus that arrived first.
SMRT had initially planned to discontinue the service at the end of this month, but decided to defer it by a month after grassroots leaders in residential areas affected by the route's withdrawal appealed.
CSS started life in 1975 as the Singapore Shuttle Bus Service, as part of the Government's 'Park and Ride' scheme, providing a bus link between the central business district (CBD) and outlying residential areas.
For example, it provided connections to the CBD from housing estates such as St Michael's, Queenstown and Sin Ming.
But over the past six years, all services except 608 have been discontinued.
The 17 buses in the yellow-and-orange liveried service run from Bukit Merah through Shenton Way and the National Stadium to Bedok, operating from Monday to Saturday, 6.30am to 7.30pm.
The Straits Times took a ride on the bus last week and found that no more than 10 commuters were on board from its starting point in Bukit Merah to Bedok, where it ends after a nearly two-hour run.
Several people boarded the bus along the Chinatown and Maxwell Road stretch, near the Ministry of National Development - but not enough to fill the bus.
So it came as little surprise when most commuters told The Straits Times that 608's demise would not affect them greatly.
Ms Katherine Low, 35, said she likes the service as there are always empty seats when she takes the bus from her home in Zion Road to Bukit Merah, where she works as an accounts assistant for a trading firm.
'But I still have alternative services to take to work, like 16 and 5, so its not that bad for me,' she said.
But administrative executive Michelle Yong, 35, will be sad to see the iconic buses go.
She said: 'After April, I'll take another bus to get to Bukit Merah. But it's a real pity they are stopping this service which has served so many people well all these years.'
All CSS staff will be redeployed within SMRT after April.
huh? wrong liao.. There are 14 and 40 that goes to bedok interchange from there..Originally posted by Lighty:Damm ..this is the only bus from east coast road (KFC near siglap centre) to bedok interchange ..
That time I took 68 full load leh. Because it's a Dart.Originally posted by sbst275:If what ST says is true, that means he!! lots of SBS svs would have to be withdrawn alrdy like Sv 35 (Off Peak), 68, 400 (Weekdays)
cheyOriginally posted by SBS 233 X:That time I took 68 full load leh. Because it's a Dart.![]()
Take picture and send to TNP lor. Publish so pack SMRT still got reason to claim no profit?Originally posted by Acx1688:Come on the article is BULL!
I take the 1st 608 to work and take the evening bus bac n i have to stand ALMOST EVERYDAY, who is more correct!
The bus is 3/4 full in the morning 1st bus and loads maintain throughout the day as 3/4. For peak it's standing room at certain times, nw people lesser coz ev1 take other modes as 608 is going to be withdrawn soon.
i will do that after i come back, i have already written to ST for T Rajan's unsubstantiated article waiting for them to respond.Originally posted by SBS1985C:Take picture and send to TNP lor. Publish so pack SMRT still got reason to claim no profit?
Yup, its more or less confirmed so we still got some time to snap pics of those "orange" buses before they go extinctOriginally posted by TWS4793:Is this true? So we got more time to catch photo of these buses. Yay!
ya.. before they go extinct..Originally posted by SMRT Buses:Yup, its more or less confirmed so we still got some time to snap pics of those "orange" buses before they go extinct
Maybe we go opposite Hong Leong Building near Lau Pa Sat there to take photo of the bus, but at what time is it most suitable to go there then?Originally posted by SMRT Buses:Yup, its more or less confirmed so we still got some time to snap pics of those "orange" buses before they go extinct
Go Geylang Lor 1 Ter on Wkends, take till you want...Originally posted by TWS4793:Maybe we go opposite Hong Leong Building near Lau Pa Sat there to take photo of the bus, but at what time is it most suitable to go there then?
Geylang Lorong 1 Terminal? Are you sure that we can go there to take the pictures of SSB buses (and Bus Plus)?Originally posted by brotherchen1982:Go Geylang Lor 1 Ter on Wkends, take till you want...![]()