Not only that, it also gives the bus operator more flexibility on how to configure their buses. Plus, more choices to a wide range of bodywork designs. In short, Scania provide the basic structure and its up to the customer to build a bus that they want.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:To save space on transportation.![]()

What else beside ZF5HP/6HP & Voith Diwa 864.3 4spd?Originally posted by Halide:Great news indeed that new SD buses will be bought in mass stock this time. However, what gearbox do you think they'll be using for these new buses?
Ok Dave how's B9L,I've heard that only 3 seats the most you can have at the rear due to the engine placement,Or they have to do curve-style seats?Originally posted by Powered_By_CNG:Volvo seems to have somewhat improved the fuel consumption of the new DH12E engine for Euro 5. The average fuel consumption has finally been improved to below 50L/100km for city operations. The addition of an SCR catalyst has allowed Volvo to improve the torque and power curves while greatly reducing emissions. Still, fuel consumption is incredibly high, considering that Mercedes-Benz's OM 457 hLA consumes about 38-42L/100km on the same city duties.
Regards,
Dave
Allison gearbox, which is quite impossible. Btw, Scania chassis often comes with ZF, Voith dont think got offer, unless SBST request special order.Originally posted by carbikebus:What else beside ZF5HP/6HP & Voith Diwa 864.3 4spd?
very ex oso...but Allison gearbox make bus like auto like that lorOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Allison gearbox, which is quite impossible.
he specs of Scania Bus say u can only fit a ZF with itOriginally posted by Halide:Great news indeed that new SD buses will be bought in mass stock this time. However, what gearbox do you think they'll be using for these new buses?
Irisbus euroclasss Or is it cityclass (confusion myself) in Korea I saw. very nice. WAB CNG bendybusOriginally posted by iveco:I seldom see IrisBus products in Asia, save for the TurboCities in KL.
Anyway, what's with Dennis? Aren't they also a major supplier of bus chassii?
good use of the key words light bus and heavy busOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Prob is that Dennis uses Cummins engines , and theses engines are known for being hard to service and maintain. Also, i dont think AlexDennis offers a full 12m SD bus. The Enviro300 is a light bus , not a heavy bus such as the OC500LE.
Correct me if im wrong.![]()
So lucky, take on 109.Originally posted by SBS9888Y:very ex oso...but Allison gearbox make bus like auto like that lor
BC like accelerate very jialat..took it along 109 (8016D) TPE sector like take so long before it reached 50kph![]()
Heavy buses are usually max 18tonnes max weight whereas bendies are 24tonnes. Not too sure abt DD . Light weight buses are around 14-16tonnes.Originally posted by ZYX2005:good use of the key words light bus and heavy bus
i think in the Japan case i studying light bus means 10m to 11m but can carry load but yet not a full 11.6m to 12m bus...well confused myself.
by that definition the Macau Soon Chow darts re light bus and the DFZ of KL are heavy bus.
these concepts seem important for the japanese bus industry i studying now in preparartion for my trip. got dunno what hino light bus hino heavy bus..blurz
=p
ZYX
With a great BC who knows how to handle darts, its no problem for it to go up to 65km/h when I took it.Originally posted by SBS9888Y:very ex oso...but Allison gearbox make bus like auto like that lor
BC like accelerate very jialat..took it along 109 (8016D) TPE sector like take so long before it reached 50kph![]()
Oh well, Allison AT-series is not that well anyway, I prefer World series (B or T series, they're nicer than AT series)~~Originally posted by SBS9888Y:very ex oso...but Allison gearbox make bus like auto like that lor
Do you mean 25cm? 2.5cm is very littleOriginally posted by Airbus330Captain:Commuters can expect more leg room — up to 2.5cm between seats
Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Unless they buy CBU Unit..Which i doubt so
Taken from Brotherchen1982's link
Singapore News // Thursday, April 19, 2007
Move in, please
New buses, seating will ease congestion at doors
Leong Wee Keat
[email protected]
IT IS a common grouse among commuters — a long-awaited bus arrives, crowded at the front and the exit doors, but with plenty of standing room at the rear.
This sight normally raises the ire of finance executive Karen Tan. During the morning peak hours, the 30-year-old often knocks on the bus windows and gestures at passengers to move in so that others can board.
"The bus captain gets the impression that the bus is full, and does not open the door," Ms Tan explained. "But in reality there is usually plenty of room at the rear."
[b]With SBS Transit rolling out 100 new buses in July and new seating arrangements, the public transport operator hopes passengers like Ms Tan will have a smoother rider.
On these buses, two seats at the rear will be removed — reducing the seating capacity to 23. The extra space created would give passengers more standing room and encourage them to move to the back.
SBS Transit's latest effort comes on the back of a "move to the rear" campaign launched in February on three services — Nos 15, 27 and 36. A recorded message reminds passengers to proceed to the rear.
The new single deck buses, bought at a cost of $35 million, will also be more spacious. Commuters can expect more leg room — up to 2.5cm between seats — and headroom (cabin height will go up by almost half-a-metre).
Does this person knows what we don't ?
Do we expect to see the 100 new buses in July ? The bodywork has not even started not to mention about the design of the bus being comfirmed. I wonder how much manpower is needed to build all 100 new buses from now until July presuming the chassis are here and bodywork design is comfirmed. [/b]
I believe its an error on Mediacorp's side. Its 100 new buses FROM July.Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Taken from Brotherchen1982's link
Do we expect to see the 100 new buses in July ? The bodywork has not even started not to mention about the design of the bus being comfirmed. I wonder how much manpower is needed to build all 100 new buses from now until July presuming the chassis are here and bodywork design is comfirmed.
Go take a malaysian coach if you want 25cm worth of additional legroom. Its like sitting on an economy class seat if you want 25cm.Originally posted by SBS9806J:Do you mean 25cm? 2.5cm is very little
Deosn't matter. As long as there is 1 new bus that is WAB friendly, and is a single decker that is introduced in July, SBST can proclaim that the new bus is out.Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:....................
Do we expect to see the 100 new buses in July ? The bodywork has not even started not to mention about the design of the bus being comfirmed. I wonder how much manpower is needed to build all 100 new buses from now until July presuming the chassis are here and bodywork design is comfirmed.
There is also graphic drawing about the seating arrangement on the newspaper.Originally posted by brotherchen1982: