I believe a lot of aunties like to go to there do their marketing, and also it might have been some Grassroots thingy.Originally posted by tanjun:Maybe the reason is as you have mentioned "More people are using it than 105."
If I am not wrong, according to sgwiki, 105 is actually a merged service that includes a feeder service 312 as one of the route amendments. So, why the discrimination?
Sometimes, I do wonder that the phrase "The world is so unfair." doesn't apply to humans only, it also applies to bus services too.![]()
Originally posted by tanjun:In short, I just want to say that the traffic lights are for human to cross. I just use the correct way that people should go to the nearest MRT station. More importantly, that route is just my personal suggested route. U guys can find ur own route that u find it comfortable and no point arguing cos it would nv end.
Lol. When I look at the replies, lol, it is very funny. I just check in The Street Directory that to my horror, the bus stop opposite Hong Lim Cplx I assume that you are referring to Upper Cross St B01 to be exact, is nearer to Chinatown MRT than to Clarke Quay MRT.
The bus stop that is at North Bridge Rd B01 is nearer to Clarke Quay MRT in my opinion.
It is funny as in the above quote, you try to advertise that that bus stop is the [b]nearest, safe and official way to Clarke Quay.
Let be realistic shall we? There will be no end to the quarrelling if it continues. I am just trying to be specific here. Let me stress that a person can walk from that bus stop to Clarke Quay MRT if he thinks that is the official way to there.
To me, who cares as long as he can reach the destination?
109 also skip that stopOriginally posted by ^tamago^:I believe a lot of aunties like to go to there do their marketing, and also it might have been some Grassroots thingy.
Actually their intention is not to clog up the small bus stop so decided not to give 105 a chance to call there, but with the NEL Rationalisation it's become quite crowded with a line of buses occasionally during peak hours.
Slowly I dun understand wat u r talking. U r the one who ask this..Originally posted by ^tamago^:Since when does 174 go to "Central" towards Boon Lay. i thought u were debating about 174 skipping it while I was talking about "Hong Lim Complex"?
I also don't know "Hong Lim Complex" = "Clarke Quay Station". This is the first time I know of such associations from someone is in knowledge of the area. And now someone who has debated so much about 174 skipping "Central" and at the same time suggesting that those headed for "Hong Lim Complex" should not jaywalk from Boat Quay bus stop has not mentioned a solution because for all we know, 174 does not stop at "Central".
And stop acting like a hypocrite who tries to care yet criticizes. It will not do you any good.
PS: Other than "chickenlittle2", you should interpret "Hong Lim Complex" as "Clarke Quay Stn" and vice versa.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:So again, I ask u which direction right? U say going "Hong Lim Cplx". Do u know where is "Hong Lim Cplx"? Did I understand u in a wrong way? If u r going to "Hong Lim Cplx", u should alight at "Apollo Ctr". For better illustration, if the bus is heading Boon Lay then stop at the bus stop at "Apollo Ctr" and walk to Hong Lim Cplx lor.. In the first ever reply, I had state the reasons why Svc 174 going towards new bridge rd did not call at the bus stop opp Hong Lim park (another bus stop to clarke quay stn).
[b]
What if you were on 174? What will you do to get to "Hong Lim Complex" since the bus does not stop at "Central"?
[b]
Is the person from this forum?Originally posted by TWS4793:
But what if I want to go "Hong Lim Complex" and I'm going towards New Bridge Rd? Of course I'll alight at Boat Quay and cross the road. Now after all your debate about 174 skipping "Central" on the way to New Bridge Rd, I would like to hear how do you intend to get to "Hong Lim Complex".Originally posted by chickenlittle2:So again, I ask u which direction right? U say going "Hong Lim Cplx". Do u know where is "Hong Lim Cplx"? Did I understand u in a wrong way? If u r going to "Hong Lim Cplx", u should alight at "Apollo Ctr". For better illustration, if the bus is heading Boon Lay then stop at the bus stop at "Apollo Ctr" and walk to Hong Lim Cplx lor.. In the first ever reply, I had state the reasons why Svc 174 going towards new bridge rd did not call at the bus stop opp Hong Lim park (another bus stop to clarke quay stn).
In conclusion,to get to "central" and not "The Central" or "Central Square" and decide to take Svc 174 there or the either way to take this service pls alight or board the bus stop at "Apollo Ctr". U just need to walk straight and cross the route to "Central".
I am just sharing my own opinion, I am just want to say wat I thinks it is right. If it make u think in another way, all I want to say is u r thinking too much.
Fastest record time is 17min! On 9031C, by a rather plump 179 perm chinese BC.Originally posted by ngjy22:What is the fastest time that 179 complete the trip?
I knew that last time stooper said that it's 20 mins or something.
Anyway, I think I took the pro BC bus tdy (SBS9049C, 25mins), floor all the way, I felt that, it's like playing game! I dunno who is the pro but I knew that he floor all the way.
Chinese, without specOriginally posted by stooper:Fastest record time is 17min! On 9031C, by a rather plump 179 perm chinese BC.
Can you remember the BC you took? Is he Indian or Chinese? Got specs?
Still cannot tell lah...Originally posted by ngjy22:Chinese, without spec
If u want to go Hong Lim Cplx and the svc 174 is heading New bridge Rd, of course I would say u got to alight at boat quay. I repeat myself again, I had already said in my first post on why Svc 174 does nt stop at "Opp Hong Lim Cplx"Originally posted by ^tamago^:But what if I want to go "Hong Lim Complex" and I'm going towards New Bridge Rd? Of course I'll alight at Boat Quay and cross the road. Now after all your debate about 174 skipping "Central" on the way to New Bridge Rd, I would like to hear how do you intend to get to "Hong Lim Complex".
You had given me reasons for something I don't need (I'm asking "Hong Lim Complex" not "Clarke Quay Stn" but you think "Hong Lim Complex" = "Clarke Quat Stn") and yet did not answer me on how you intend to get to "Hong Lim Complex" if you are on 174 towards New Bridge Rd. If you do not alight at Boat Quay, what other methods do you suggest I take to go to "Hong Lim Park" then?
But my very first question here is why can't 174 have the same privileges as other services plying Eu Tong Sen St to stop at "Hong Lim Complex"/"Central"?
What if I want to go to "Clarke Quay Stn" if I'm headed towards New Bridge Rd? Where do I alight?Originally posted by chickenlittle2:If u want to go Hong Lim Cplx and the svc 174 is heading New bridge Rd, of course I would say u got to alight at boat quay. I repeat myself again, I had already said in my first post on why Svc 174 does nt stop at "Opp Hong Lim Cplx"
If u telling my earlier which direction u r going and we would end up like that and I would need to give 2 directions to u..
Ur first question I think someone answer liao..
U r talking about Svc 174? Since Svc 174 is not calling at the bus stop opp "Hong Lim Park". More importantly for u, I would say alight at Boat QuayOriginally posted by ^tamago^:What if I want to go to "Clarke Quay Stn" if I'm headed towards New Bridge Rd? Where do I alight?
Of course I know 174 does not stop at "opp Hong Lim Complex". But why does it also not stop at "Clarke Quay Stn"?
Of course I'd love you to give directions! They are so amusing it keeps me going and curious to have a piece of your mind. Of course, I can choose not to use your methods, and don't intend anyway.
No no. I'm done with that. Now I'm seeking yours. I want to know how you would get to "Central" without alighting at Boat Quay. Come, tell me.
Middle age, also a bit fat.Originally posted by stooper:Still cannot tell lah...Got anymore details? Fat/skinny? Old/young?
ProOriginally posted by TWS4793:Care to list how pro the 179 BCs are in ascending order?
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:U r talking about Svc 174? Since Svc 174 is not calling at the bus stop opp "Hong Lim Park". More importantly for u, I would say alight at Boat Quaybut not jaywalking and walk towards the building "One George.." and use the traffic light to crossover and there is human pathway to that led u to the "Clarke Quay" MRT Station .
Someone had asked this question.. They only allow a limited number of buses stopping there.. Since Svc 174 just start from "New Bridge Rd Terminal", the demand would not be that high. So Svc 174 was sacrificed ..
Some of ur directions given requires people to risk their life
Not recommeded to take svc 174 cos this service does not pass by "Central"..
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:If u r going Hong Lim Cplx. Which MRT station would u alight at?
Originally posted by choww:Chinatown.
Really? But you have mentioned that Clarke Quay Stn is nearer to Hong Lim Complex. If you were to recommending alighting at Boat Quay, why do you bother question the decision to skip "opp Hong Lim Complex" in the first place?Originally posted by chickenlittle2:FYI, normally pple going to Hong Lim Cplx would alight at Clarke Quay cos it is nearer..
I took his bus by luck, I didn't expect to sit on a pro bus!Originally posted by TWS4793:I've heard from so many posts about the pro BC on Service 179 and I'm interested in taking his bus. Any recommendations?
Originally posted by service_238:Pro
Rather Pro
Super Pro
Damn Pro
Ultimate Pro
I don't think so, but I know he's a SINBus member.Originally posted by stooper:Is the person from this forum?
TaxiOriginally posted by TWS4793:What is the surest, fastest and easiest way of getting to Fullerton Square before the first SBST Premium Service bus arrives there, besides the MRT?
I can directly take Premium 544 to reach there, but I do not want to take this service. What else should I take after I had taken Service 225 to Bedok Interchange? What time should I be at Bedok Interchange in order to take the bus, arrive early and be able to catch all the Premium Services?
I do know another person on the list though he isn't a bus fan.Originally posted by TWS4793:I don't think so, but I know he's a SINBus member.