then why do they have the erp unit on them?Originally posted by SBS1984E:FYI: Public Buses like those operated by SBST and SMRT Are exempted from ERP.
Just follow lor.Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:then why do they have the erp unit on them?
They are not exempted.Originally posted by SBS1984E:FYI: Public Buses like those operated by SBST and SMRT Are exempted from ERP.
this is to identify them as exempted vehicle from paying the ERP..Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:then why do they have the erp unit on them?
where got all need to pay???Originally posted by stituss:They are not exempted.
The policy of ERP is congestion charging. As long as you occupy road space, you are liable for charges. Hence, ERP applies to all vehicles: cars, lorries, buses, motorcycles etc, be it public or private transport.
Quite counter-intuitive that ERP is taxing on public transport, when they are suppose to help alleviate congestion!
Good question.Originally posted by manjieass:where got all need to pay???
police vehicle no need leh.. even though theres a ERP unit but don need to pay.. don tell me when theres an emergency inside a erp carpark u must put cashcard to attend the case meh???
Police cars are travelling on their father's road. I dun think they need to pay ERP.Originally posted by charlize:Good question.
Do police cars have to pay ERP?
of course is don need la.. police cars are exempted from COE, import tax, road tax, parking charges, erp, insurance... think theres somemore but i forgotten liao..Originally posted by charlize:Good question.
Do police cars have to pay ERP?
I cannot remember properly but last year got an incident, where ambulance cannot enter/exit carpark gate (because no ERP unit or something). In the end, they had to transfer the patient to another ambulance and the person died eventually.Originally posted by manjieass:where got all need to pay???
police vehicle no need leh.. even though theres a ERP unit but don need to pay.. don tell me when theres an emergency inside a erp carpark u must put cashcard to attend the case meh???
That incident happened in EXPO. While, that ambulance involved was a private ambulance. In the end, the baby had to be transferred to a SCDF ambulance before the baby was sent to the hospital.Originally posted by stooper:I cannot remember properly but last year got an incident, where ambulance cannot enter/exit carpark gate (because no ERP unit or something). In the end, they had to transfer the patient to another ambulance and the person died eventually.![]()
...actually, I can confirm that public buses are not charged for the system.Originally posted by stituss:They are not exempted.
The policy of ERP is congestion charging. As long as you occupy road space, you are liable for charges. Hence, ERP applies to all vehicles: cars, lorries, buses, motorcycles etc, be it public or private transport.
Quite counter-intuitive that ERP is taxing on public transport, when they are suppose to help alleviate congestion!
but i ever remembered reading in the Straits times years back that public buses got to pay ERP charges, but at 3/4 of the rates for normal lorries & buses. maybe the LTA later reversed its policies against charging public buses? and what about private buses and school buses? though they occupy road space, they are in fact helping to reducing traffic congestion by moving the masses!Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:...actually, I can confirm that public buses are not charged for the system.
I was once on a route 175 bus coming back from CMPB. As the bus swung onto Orchard Road, I decided to go forward to have a peek at the IU over there (the Orchard gantry was operating at that time). When the bus passed underneath the gantry, "$0.00" showed up on the IU's display.