lol. I dun think it will be that long. From BP int to Jelapang Rd, there are 13 stops and 9 traffic junctions that the svc will pass by. Suppose if the bus needs 2 mins from stop to stop + boarding of passengers and 0.5 min for every traffic junction, the total time will be around 30.5 mins. Besdies, the freq of 920 is on the range 15 - 21 mins. It already occupies half of the travel time to Jelapang Rd.Originally posted by manjieass:wa.. can go crazy ar.. instead of 15-20mins from bp interchange to jelapang on 920, it would take at least 40-45mins liao!!!
another forumnite replied me some buses from svc 190,960 would go off service upon reaching the terminal in the city and return empty to the north to continue the next trip during morning peak. I think some of these buses should begin the trip from Bt Panjang (instead of WDL) to allow passengers down the route a chance to board the bus.Originally posted by rx7Savanna:Bukit panjang!!!
we need more buses to city areas, instead of depending on extremely overpacked 190, 960 and the hopeless 700/700A and 171.
SMRT seldom provide downroutes for services, except known ones like 190, 985. This is something I don't quite understand. SMRT has many buses which goes on non-revenue services from terminal to terminal but they do not provide downroute.Originally posted by SBS3688Y:another forumnite replied me some buses from svc 190,960 would go off service upon reaching the terminal in the city and return empty to the north to continue the next trip during morning peak. I think some of these buses should begin the trip from Bt Panjang (instead of WDL) to allow passengers down the route a chance to board the bus.
Sv700 has downroute from Petir Rd too.Originally posted by off_service:SMRT seldom provide downroutes for services, except known ones like 190, 985. This is something I don't quite understand. SMRT has many buses which goes on non-revenue services from terminal to terminal but they do not provide downroute.
I must say that Expressway or popular services should have downroutes. That include 960, 963, 966 and many more to name.
Woodlands is okay. At least there's 169, 858, 965.Originally posted by tanjun:Regarding to the name of the thread, I will say Yishun and Woodlands town itself has poor bus connections except nearer to central.
Let me state an example. If you are staying at Yishun Ave 4, you have only one feeder service to rely on which is service 812. Besides, there are no nearby bus stops with trunk services that you can rely on. So, if you wish to go anywhere outside yishun, you must take 812 to the int. Thus, at least one transfer is required. It is the same thing for Woodlands.
However, for Serangoon North area, there are trunk services that bring you to other places even though there is no MRT over there. Thus, I applaud SBST for implementing such a gd network at their territories.
Let me give some more examples.
76 going past Ang Mo Kio Ave 4 which already has 268 as a Townlink service.
28 going past Tampines St 45, st41, St 34, St 32.
3 going past Pasir Ris St 21, St 71, Dr 10.
And so on and so forth.
Looks like there are a lot of politics over this issue.Originally posted by Yaimster:Woodlands is okay. At least there's 169, 858, 965.
Yishun ? Notice that 39, 85, 851-855 and 857 all operates from Avenue 2? Add other buses like 858, 965, 969? No other trunk services operate outside of Central. Now you see why they've extended 806 to Sundays to cope with cashcow 804.
Accessiblity from Yishun to other towns is not that good too. SMRT will make its excuse to point to you that there's always the MRT to rely on.
same as yewtee areaOriginally posted by 105090:actually, the worse town (with SMRT Interchanges) is woodlands.
ALL buses will stop at woodlands interchange and go no further except the intra-town but they cant get you out of woodlands..... I dont think thats called convenience if you are staying at the wrong end of the town and needs a service from the interchange which dont passes by your street? (dont account 160, 170).
Most streets in woodlands are served by one pitiful feeder bus which only brings you to the interchange for other connections. these residents dont have trunk services at all, since woodlands trunk services generally take the shortest route out of woodlands (eg. Ave 2, Ave 3)
fair enough, Yishun have 5 passing through services, 858 965 969, and 167, 980
jurong west extension is really too way out, unless they built interchange near SLBP, else most buses will take a long route to exit boon lay..Originally posted by toll123:Jurong West N7, N8 and N9 is with poor bus connections too with only 502 that brings you to town area.......
Woodlands is quite better as compared to Kranji, CCK areas. And yes, the side that 911, 912 and 913 serves without the E is atorcious. 900, 901 and 911 are a few, with 911 as the worst.Originally posted by 105090:actually, the worse town (with SMRT Interchanges) is woodlands.
ALL buses will stop at woodlands interchange and go no further except the intra-town but they cant get you out of woodlands..... I dont think thats called convenience if you are staying at the wrong end of the town and needs a service from the interchange which dont passes by your street? (dont account 160, 170).
Most streets in woodlands are served by one pitiful feeder bus which only brings you to the interchange for other connections. these residents dont have trunk services at all, since woodlands trunk services generally take the shortest route out of woodlands (eg. Ave 2, Ave 3)
Same for Boon Lay. ALL buses terminate at Boon Lay Interchange/slbp. Exception is 99 though.Originally posted by 105090:actually, the worse town (with SMRT Interchanges) is woodlands.
911 can be horrible, especially when bendies only occur sometimes! Not only does some of the residents have only 1 service to rely on, the bus can be so crowded when it reaches certain stops like Woodlands St 83 that you will have to wait for the next 911 to come!Originally posted by TIB1049L:Woodlands is quite better as compared to Kranji, CCK areas. And yes, the side that 911, 912 and 913 serves without the E is atorcious. 900, 901 and 911 are a few, with 911 as the worst.
SLBP at least is at the end of the housing estates, so residents can bypass boon lay int on certain services eg. 99 185 502 536 537. not bad la....Originally posted by service_238:Same for Boon Lay. ALL buses terminate at Boon Lay Interchange/slbp. Exception is 99 though.
St. 81 is also not that good, especially at Riverside Sec. But now it got its 1st and only bendy TIB1188T with origianl S-shift perm TIB1139K.Originally posted by SBS9889U:911 can be horrible, especially when bendies only occur sometimes! Not only does some of the residents have only 1 service to rely on, the bus can be so crowded when it reaches certain stops like Woodlands St 83 that you will have to wait for the next 911 to come!
182 used to start from Jurong East Int, ending at Tuas Terminal, however it got shortened to Boon Lay Int.Originally posted by toll123:Tuas is also another area with poor bus connections with only bus services to Boon Lay Int (192, 193, 182 and 254) but that one no choice too ulu already.......
Quite trueOriginally posted by TIB1049L:St. 81 is also not that good, especially at Riverside Sec. But now it got its 1st and only bendy TIB1188T with origianl S-shift perm TIB1139K.
And when its raining, the frequency becomes 20mins per bus and each bus would be clogged up with students both from Riverside and Evergreen![]()
You want NAC VO2x or MK2 to go Orchard?Originally posted by 105090:the only thing is that all jurong industrial estate services ends at boon lay
^5. No thanks to NEL and MBT's 1999 gaffe.Originally posted by patdog112:same as yewtee area
....Originally posted by iveco:^5. No thanks to NEL and MBT's 1999 gaffe.