A rather easy question: In which year was SPH appointed as the CEO of SMRT?
I dunno what's with S'pore's fascination with abbreviations....it's getting on my nerves.
Originally posted by chikopek:1) Name the Svc in which before the 'infestion' of K230UB, have only non-refurbished Striders and refurbished DM3500 fleets.
2) Which one of the 4 mentioned ex LO2x perm from 157 was from BRBP? SBS7189U SBS6968U SBS7159G & SBS7136Y
3) Which one of the 4 mentioned ex LO2x perm from 143 was from JRBP? SBS7175J SBS7163T SBS3560G SBS3562B
4) During 1996 Svc 157 Swap berths with which svc in the old Boon Lay Interchange?
5) Which one of the 4 mentioned LO2x was a perm for Svc 51 before the Svc turns fully aircon in 1998? SBS3571A SBS6986S SBS7190P SBS6990D
6) Which one of the 4 mentioned Lo2x was a perm for Svc 197 before the Svc turns fully aircon in 1998? SBS7123J SBS6985U SBS3558P SBS6965C
1) Is it wan too tree?
Originally posted by SBS2695H:A rather easy question: In which year was SPH appointed as the CEO of SMRT?
1. Which SMRT bus model would have 3 perms in one shot?
Hint: crossover not counted?
2. which 3 SMRT bus model does not have perm on feeders?
Eg: Mb0405 have perm buses on feeders while Vo2X does not.
Originally posted by lemon1974:2) - SBS7159G from BRBP
3) SBS7163T from JRBP
4) swap with 192.
5) SBS3571A?
6) SBS7123J?
All except question 5 are correct.
Originally posted by jayh272416:
1) Is it wan too tree?
Yes.
Previously 123 had 7 striders (SBS1937S, SBS1942B, SBS1946R, SBS1948K, SBS2596K, SBS2612Y and SBS2640R) of which none of them are refurbished buses. And both the DM3500s (SBS2690X & SBS2748P) are reburbished buses.
Travel Trivia
This would be useful for those who travel often as well as those who dont.
1. From Boon Lay Interchange to King Albert Park, is 154 157 or 174 faster? If you miss 174, which service would you take and why? Time range is just before PM Peak.
2. How much time will you save if you take the following route(s) from Bedok Int/MRT to Toa Payoh Swim Pool during PM Peak?
i) 26 direct
ii) 28 direct
iii) 60/87 to Kaki Bukit Prison Ctr change 59
iv) 25/854 to Jln Eunos change 59
Determine the order of which route is the fastest to the slowest, and the time difference between each option. How much time will you incur if you chose S5 (change bus at Trellis Towers) over S59 for (iii) and (iv) ?
3. At 0650h, if you miss 985 at Trellis Towers, would taking 151 or 154 to the King Albert Park area be faster? How about at 0830hrs? How many minutes faster for each case?
4. You are at Old Airport Rd FC bus stop and you are taking a bus to HarbourFront. If you miss S30 during AM Peak, is it faster to take S10? How about during off peak hours?
5. How much time will you save if you choose 36 over 196 at the Parkway Parade bus stop and alighting at One Raffles Link/Esplanade during the weekend? How about during weekday off peak?
6. At 1700hrs a S105 and a S106 (in this order) approach the SP bus stop. In what circumstances would the S105 be the front bus when it arrives at Gleneagles Hospital?
All schedules are based on Weekday Peak unless otherwise stated.
Have fun ![]()
Originally posted by service_238:Travel Trivia
2. How much time will you save if you take the following route(s) from Bedok Int/MRT to Toa Payoh Swim Pool during PM Peak?
i) 26 direct
ii) 28 direct
Determine the order of which route is the fastest to the slowest, and the time difference between each option. How much time will you incur if you chose S5 (change bus at Trellis Towers) over S59 for (iii) and (iv) ?
Fastest to slowest order:
26 Direct
60/87 to Kaki Bukit Prison Ctr change 59
25/854 to Jln Eunos change 59
28 Direct.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
Fastest to slowest order:26 Direct
60/87 to Kaki Bukit Prison Ctr change 59
25/854 to Jln Eunos change 59
28 Direct.
wrong
1. From Boon Lay Interchange to King Albert Park, is 154 157 or 174 faster? If you miss 174, which service would you take and why? Time range is just before PM Peak.
i) 26 direct
ii) 28 direct
Determine the order of which route is the fastest to the slowest, and the time difference between each option. How much time will you incur if you chose S5 (change bus at Trellis Towers) over S59 for (iii) and (iv) ?3. At 0650h, if you miss 985 at Trellis Towers, would taking 151 or 154 to the King Albert Park area be faster? How about at 0830hrs? How many minutes faster for each case?
4. You are at Old Airport Rd FC bus stop and you are taking a bus to HarbourFront. If you miss S30 during AM Peak, is it faster to take S10? How about during off peak hours?
5. How much time will you save if you choose 36 over 196 at the Parkway Parade bus stop and alighting at One Raffles Link/Esplanade during the weekend? How about during weekday off peak?
6. At 1700hrs a S105 and a S106 (in this order) approach the SP bus stop. In what circumstances would the S105 be the front bus when it arrives at Gleneagles Hospital?
Have fun
1) - 174 is the fastest from BoonLay INt to KAP. If i miss 174, 154 would be faster although the route is longer than 157.
2) - 25/854 > 59 would be faster.
3) - 151 would be faster. Btw, 985 does not arrive at 0650hrs :) .
i may be wrong though.. lols
Originally posted by SBS594D:1. Which SMRT bus model would have 3 perms in one shot?
Hint: crossover not counted?
wonder who can understand this question at all. never learn from mistake at all.
Originally posted by lemon1974:
wonder who can understand this question at all. never learn from mistake at all.
my favourite line kicks in. just let him be.
its like a thirsty donkey. you can carry it to the river but you cannot force him to drink up the water. and the donkey just dies of thirst. its clear he doesnt learn and he doesnt want to learn. he is still a small and ignorant little boy.
do comtemplate at his attempts to attract attention in other forums and his hostile attitude towards people who attempt to educate him. but what i dislike the most is his abysmal ignorance when he screws up or when people instill something to him.
i) 26 direct
ii) 28 direct
Determine the order of which route is the fastest to the slowest, and the time difference between each option. How much time will you incur if you chose S5 (change bus at Trellis Towers) over S59 for (iii) and (iv) ?3. At 0650h, if you miss 985 at Trellis Towers, would taking 151 or 154 to the King Albert Park area be faster? How about at 0830hrs? How many minutes faster for each case?
Have fun
Q1) 174 fastest, if miss 174 then take 157.
Q2) 25/854 change 59 fastest
60/87 change 59 2nd fastest
26 direct
28 direct
If you take Sv5, it will be slower by about 5 minutes (Incl time for crossing the long overhead bridge).
Q3) At 0650 (Or around 0645), if you miss 985 and take the one that comes later, it may be faster to wait for the next 985 (school days especially if theres rain) and faster to take 151/154 during school holidays (Can be faster by around 5 mins) due to jams along Whitley Rd/Bt Timah Road that occurs if you take the 0650 151 at that stop during school days.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:my favourite line kicks in. just let him be.
its like a thirsty donkey. you can carry it to the river but you cannot force him to drink up the water. and the donkey just dies of thirst. its clear he doesnt learn and he doesnt want to learn. he is still a small and ignorant little boy.
do comtemplate at his attempts to attract attention in other forums and his hostile attitude towards people who attempt to educate him. but what i dislike the most is his abysmal ignorance when he screws up or when people instill something to him.
Next time, don't bother to reply at all. Its always this...
SBS594D sets a question
lemon1974: Never set question properly.
SBS9888Y: Just let him be.
Can't you all just stop this?
To lemon and 98Y: as if u are smart like that. Repost quesion with some edited!
1. which 3 SMRT bus model dont perm on feeders?
Example: Mb0405 have perm buses on feeders while Vo2X does not.
2. Name 2 ads that SBS778R that it have in 2007?
Example: SBS88Z has a "Nike" and a "comdons" ad in 2007.
Originally posted by SBS594D:To lemon and 98Y: as if u are smart like that. Repost quesion with some edited!
1. Which SMRT bus model would have 3 perms currenly?
Example: SBS988Y (BNDEP 282/284/285)
2. which 3 SMRT bus model does not have perm on feeders?
Example: Mb0405 have perm buses on feeders while Vo2X does not.
3. Name 2 ads that SBS778R that it have in 2007?
Example: SBS88Z has a "Nike" and a "comdons" ad in 2007.
How to have 3 perm currently using just 1 bus, example must be clearer, and frankly speaking, your qns sucks.
I am ignoring your questions from now onwards
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:How to have 3 perm currently using just 1 bus, example must be clearer, and frankly speaking, your qns sucks.
I am ignoring your questions from now onwards
Ok then since i checked with someone else, ignore ques 1 then. but then how come Bukit Batok DAf got perm on 3 B.B feeders accoridng to wiki leh? Maybe ques 2 and 3 SHOULD Be understandable
Originally posted by SBS594D:
Ok then since i checked with someone else, ignore ques 1 then. but then how come Bukit Batok DAf got perm on 3 B.B feeders accoridng to wiki leh? Maybe ques 2 and 3 SHOULD Be understandable
btw, SMRT did not have BBDEP, clarify
Answer if you want to, or just glance through what i thought of a bus knowledge paper should be, sorry for the long post...sorry
Section A
Short Answer
Answer all questions
(30 marks)
1. Fill in the missing routes (2 marks)
Service 196 : ________________ to _______________
Service 238 : ________________ to _______________
Service 401 : ________________ to _______________
Service 980 : ________________ to _______________
2. (a) Name the terminal which is called a terminal but no bus terminate at it except after midnight. (1 mark)
SBS _______________
6. (a) Fill in the blanks according to bus services. (2 marks)
The biggest interchange: _____________________
The smallest interchange: ____________________
The biggest terminal: _____________________
The smallest terminal: ____________________
6. (b) Name the bus services that ply Jalan Toa Payoh. (1 mark)
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
8. (a) Name all SMRT bus services (3 marks)
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
8. (b) Fill in the blanks (1 mark)
CSS : _________________________
TIBS : _________________________
EDS: __________________________
8. (c) Which berth did Service 854 previously occupied in Bedok. (1 mark)
Expressway route: ________________
8. (e) State the two hospitals which causalities will sent to following the Admiralty road west accident. (2 marks)
(20 marks)
The Two Bus Companies- SBS and SMRT
BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Read it carefully, it will help you in answering the questions
SBS Transit owns 75% of the scheduled bus market share in Singapore with 217 bus services and has a total fleet of more than 2,700 buses. 91% of our buses are equipped with air-condition. Types of bus services provided include trunk services, feeder services, Express services, Townlink services, Nite Owl services, Jurong industrial services as well as special bus services like Chinatown Direct, Fast Forward and Parks.
There is no better way to uncover Singapore's hidden charms than by taking a ride on an SMRT bus. Whether you are headed for a tourist attraction or a little-known corner of the island, we will take you there. With a fleet of 800 buses plying 74 routes, you are sure to discover something new about Singapore on your journey with us.
Source A: A K230UD of SBS Transit
(Cannot link...sad)
Source B: A SMRT Bendy bus
cannot link...sad
Source C: A view on SMRT
I must say at least SMRT is more environmentally-conscious than SBST. SBS never emphasized on the advantage of taking public transport but SMRT luckily did launch a 'Save-the-earth' campaign to have people take public transport.
Source D: Another view on SMRT
A campaign like this might make SMRT seem more environmentally conscious. Whether it is effective or not is another thing you might want to think about. However, the behind the scenes initiatives may tilt the picture in SBST flavour. For example, SBST might carry more passengers for the same amount of carbon emitted.
Study Source A
9. What does this source tells you about SBS? (3 marks)
Study Sources A and B
10. How similar is sources A and B (5 marks)
Study Source C
11. What does this source tells you about SMRT? (3 marks)
Study Sources C and D
12. How similar is sources C and D? (6 marks)
Study all sources
13. What did they tells you about bus transport in Singapore? (4 marks)
Section C
Structured Essay Questions
Answer the questions in the writing paper provided
(35 marks)
SBS
14. ‘SBS is a good bus company’, how far do you agree with this statement? (10 marks)
SMRT
15. ‘The CEO of SMRT is the one that makes SMRT not as comparably good as SBS’, how far do you agree with the statement? (6 marks)
16. State the development of SMRT (8 marks)
EITHER
17. State all the milestones of public transport in Singapore in terms of bus. (11 marks)
OR
17. (a) EZ link card is a success, justify your stand with this statement with reasons (5 marks)
17. (b) Is the WAB services successful, justify your stand with this statement with reasons (6 marks)
Section D
Free Writing
Answer the questions in the writing paper provided
(15 marks)
Choose one topic and write an essay of about 250 words about it.
10 marks for content and 5 marks for language and organization.
Indicate the question you are writing on the top left hand corner of the answer script
18. Yishun Bus Interchange
19. SMRT
20. Ways to improve bus frequency.
--END OF PAPER--
The photos and comments maybe some of yours, so i now beg for your understanding.
omg... really like O-level paper =D
Originally posted by azharjj:omg... really like O-level paper =D
I think of bus knowledge as a o level subject...nevermind lah...after discussion at other threads in this forum.....take off my idea liao
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:I think of bus knowledge as a o level subject...nevermind lah...after discussion at other threads in this forum.....take off my idea liao
more like doing history paper
no one will be doing this paper.
Originally posted by Simple_boi:no one will be doing this paper.
yar. ppl will juz dao this ridiculous paper