Originally posted by nenepokey:yar. ppl will juz dao this ridiculous paper
Test in school is already a headache, fancy creating this paper for a hobby. =x
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Answer if you want to, or just glance through what i thought of a bus knowledge paper should be, sorry for the long post...sorry
Section A
Short Answer
Answer all questions
(30 marks)
1. Fill in the missing routes (2 marks)
Service 196 : ________________ to _______________
Service 238 : ________________ to _______________
Service 401 : ________________ to _______________
Service 980 : ________________ to _______________
2. (a) Name the terminal which is called a terminal but no bus terminate at it except after midnight. (1 mark)
SBS _______________
6. (a) Fill in the blanks according to bus services. (2 marks)
The biggest interchange: _____________________
The smallest interchange: ____________________
The biggest terminal: _____________________
The smallest terminal: ____________________
6. (b) Name the bus services that ply Jalan Toa Payoh. (1 mark)
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
8. (a) Name all SMRT bus services (3 marks)
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
8. (b) Fill in the blanks (1 mark)
CSS : _________________________
TIBS : _________________________
EDS: __________________________
8. (c) Which berth did Service 854 previously occupied in Bedok. (1 mark)
Expressway route: ________________
8. (e) State the two hospitals which causalities will sent to following the Admiralty road west accident. (2 marks)
(20 marks)
The Two Bus Companies- SBS and SMRT
BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Read it carefully, it will help you in answering the questions
SBS Transit owns 75% of the scheduled bus market share in Singapore with 217 bus services and has a total fleet of more than 2,700 buses. 91% of our buses are equipped with air-condition. Types of bus services provided include trunk services, feeder services, Express services, Townlink services, Nite Owl services, Jurong industrial services as well as special bus services like Chinatown Direct, Fast Forward and Parks.
There is no better way to uncover Singapore's hidden charms than by taking a ride on an SMRT bus. Whether you are headed for a tourist attraction or a little-known corner of the island, we will take you there. With a fleet of 800 buses plying 74 routes, you are sure to discover something new about Singapore on your journey with us.
Source A: A K230UD of SBS Transit
<!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shapetype id="_x0000_t75" coordsize="21600,21600" o:spt="75" o:preferrelative="t" path="m@4@5l@4@11@9@11@9@5xe" filled="f" stroked="f"> <v:stroke joinstyle="miter" /> <v:formulas> <v:f eqn="if lineDrawn pixelLineWidth 0" /> <v:f eqn="sum @0 1 0" /> <v:f eqn="sum 0 0 @1" /> <v:f eqn="prod @2 1 2" /> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelWidth" /> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelHeight" /> <v:f eqn="sum @0 0 1" /> <v:f eqn="prod @6 1 2" /> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelWidth" /> <v:f eqn="sum @8 21600 0" /> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelHeight" /> <v:f eqn="sum @10 21600 0" /> </v:formulas> <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect" /> <o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t" /> </v:shapetype><v:shape id="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" style="width:246pt; height:184.8pt" mce_style="width:246pt; height:184.8pt"> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:\Users\HOMEPC~1\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.png" mce_src="/C:\Users\HOMEPC~1\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.png" o:title="" /> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->
(Cannot link...sad)
Source B: A SMRT Bendy bus
<!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shape id="_x0000_i1026" type="#_x0000_t75" style="width:252pt;height:154.2pt" mce_style="width:252pt;height:154.2pt"> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:\Users\HOMEPC~1\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image003.png" mce_src="/C:\Users\HOMEPC~1\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image003.png" o:title="" /> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->
cannot link...sad
Source C: A view on SMRT
I must say at least SMRT is more environmentally-conscious than SBST. SBS never emphasized on the advantage of taking public transport but SMRT luckily did launch a 'Save-the-earth' campaign to have people take public transport.
Source D: Another view on SMRT
A campaign like this might make SMRT seem more environmentally conscious. Whether it is effective or not is another thing you might want to think about. However, the behind the scenes initiatives may tilt the picture in SBST flavour. For example, SBST might carry more passengers for the same amount of carbon emitted.
Study Source A
9. What does this source tells you about SBS? (3 marks)
Study Sources A and B
10. How similar is sources A and B (5 marks)
Study Source C
11. What does this source tells you about SMRT? (3 marks)
Study Sources C and D
12. How similar is sources C and D? (6 marks)
Study all sources
13. What did they tells you about bus transport in Singapore? (4 marks)
Section C
Structured Essay Questions
Answer the questions in the writing paper provided
(35 marks)
SBS
14. ‘SBS is a good bus company’, how far do you agree with this statement? (10 marks)
SMRT
15. ‘The CEO of SMRT is the one that makes SMRT not as comparably good as SBS’, how far do you agree with the statement? (6 marks)
16. State the development of SMRT (8 marks)
EITHER
17. State all the milestones of public transport in Singapore in terms of bus. (11 marks)
OR
17. (a) EZ link card is a success, justify your stand with this statement with reasons (5 marks)
17. (b) Is the WAB services successful, justify your stand with this statement with reasons (6 marks)
Section D
Free Writing
(15 marks)
Choose one topic and write an essay of about 250 words about it.
10 marks for content and 5 marks for language and organization.
Indicate the question you are writing on the top left hand corner of the answer script
18. Yishun Bus Interchange
19. SMRT
20. Ways to improve bus frequency.
--END OF PAPER--
The photos and comments maybe some of yours, so i now beg for your understanding.
Just how much time did you have to create this?? This should take at least 1hr fastest.
Just to clarify, i did this paper just for fun.....nothing to be headache for,
btw, i spend a hour plus to made the paper, dun want to post practical part
I believe you should just go back and study your A levels
yawnzzz
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Just to clarify, i did this paper just for fun.....nothing to be headache for,
you too free?
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Answer if you want to, or just glance through what i thought of a bus knowledge paper should be, sorry for the long post...sorry
Section A
Short Answer
Answer all questions
(30 marks)
1. Fill in the missing routes (2 marks)
Service 196 : _______Bedok_________ to ____Clementi___________
Service 238 : ____Toa Payoh____________ to ______Toa Payoh Lor 8 (loop)________
Service 401 : _______Bedok_________ to _______East Coast Park (loop)________
Service 980 : ______SemBaWang__________ to _______Geylang Lor 1________
2. (a) Name the terminal which is called a terminal but no bus terminate at it except after midnight. (1 mark)
______________________________donno________________________________
2. (b) Name the service which terminates at that location (1 mark)
________________________________donno______________________________
3. (a) Define WAB (2 marks)
__________________________Wheelchair Accessible Bus____________________________________
3. (b) Name all the WAB services in Singapore (SBS Transit) (3 marks)
________2 7 12 14 51 72 76 123 143 174 (is that all?)_______________________________________________________
3. (c) Name the two WAB services which do not have BT9L (1 mark)
____can think of oni 1. 123. __________________________________________________________
4. Fill in the missing bus stop code (1 mark)
Victoria School : ________B02A Siglap Rd._____________
5. Name the two perm Volvo Mark IV – DM 3500 at BNDEP (2 marks)
SBS2811P _______________
SBS2754X _______________
6. (a) Fill in the blanks according to bus services. (2 marks)
The biggest interchange: ___________Bedok__________
The smallest interchange: _________Sembawang___________
The biggest terminal: _________dunch noes____________
The smallest terminal: _________Sims Place___________
6. (b) Name the bus services that ply Jalan Toa Payoh. (1 mark)
__________5 8 26 31 90 142 151 154 857 966 985 and 59 (express)____________________________________________________
6. (c) Name the largest bus service in terms of bus fleet. (1 mark)
______________________170________________________________________
7. Name all the Volvo Olympians in Singapore in terms of registration plate. (4 marks)
__________________Go fly kite ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
8. (a) Name all SMRT bus services (3 marks)
____________________61 67 75 77 argh i dun care ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
8. (b) Fill in the blanks (1 mark)
CSS : _________City Shuttle Service________________
TIBS : ____Trans-Island Bus Services_____________________
EDS: ___________Electronic Display System_______________
8. (c) Which berth did Service 854 previously occupied in Bedok. (1 mark)
_____________dunno i not smrt fan___________________
8. (d) Name the longest service in Singapore (2 marks)
In term of fare stage: _______thirty_______
In term of bus stop: _______fifty one________
Expressway route: ________if u mean express, five zero six________
8. (e) State the two hospitals which causalities will sent to following the Admiralty road west accident. (2 marks)
_________________Alexandra and TTSH? ____________________________________________
Section B
Source- based Questions
Answer all questions in the writing paper provided
(20 marks)
The Two Bus Companies- SBS and SMRT
BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Read it carefully, it will help you in answering the questions
SBS Transit owns 75% of the scheduled bus market share in Singapore with 217 bus services and has a total fleet of more than 2,700 buses. 91% of our buses are equipped with air-condition. Types of bus services provided include trunk services, feeder services, Express services, Townlink services, Nite Owl services, Jurong industrial services as well as special bus services like Chinatown Direct, Fast Forward and Parks.
There is no better way to uncover Singapore's hidden charms than by taking a ride on an SMRT bus. Whether you are headed for a tourist attraction or a little-known corner of the island, we will take you there. With a fleet of 800 buses plying 74 routes, you are sure to discover something new about Singapore on your journey with us.
Source A: A K230UD of SBS Transit
<!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shapetype id="_x0000_t75" coordsize="21600,21600" o:spt="75" o:preferrelative="t" path="m@4@5l@4@11@9@11@9@5xe" filled="f" stroked="f"> <v:stroke joinstyle="miter" /> <v:formulas> <v:f eqn="if lineDrawn pixelLineWidth 0" /> <v:f eqn="sum @0 1 0" /> <v:f eqn="sum 0 0 @1" /> <v:f eqn="prod @2 1 2" /> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelWidth" /> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelHeight" /> <v:f eqn="sum @0 0 1" /> <v:f eqn="prod @6 1 2" /> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelWidth" /> <v:f eqn="sum @8 21600 0" /> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelHeight" /> <v:f eqn="sum @10 21600 0" /> </v:formulas> <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect" /> <o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t" /> </v:shapetype><v:shape id="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" style="width:246pt; height:184.8pt" mce_style="width:246pt; height:184.8pt"> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:\Users\HOMEPC~1\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.png" mce_src="/C:\Users\HOMEPC~1\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.png" o:title="" /> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->
(Cannot link...sad)
Source B: A SMRT Bendy bus
<!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shape id="_x0000_i1026" type="#_x0000_t75" style="width:252pt;height:154.2pt" mce_style="width:252pt;height:154.2pt"> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:\Users\HOMEPC~1\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image003.png" mce_src="/C:\Users\HOMEPC~1\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image003.png" o:title="" /> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->
cannot link...sad
Source C: A view on SMRT
I must say at least SMRT is more environmentally-conscious than SBST. SBS never emphasized on the advantage of taking public transport but SMRT luckily did launch a 'Save-the-earth' campaign to have people take public transport.
Source D: Another view on SMRT
A campaign like this might make SMRT seem more environmentally conscious. Whether it is effective or not is another thing you might want to think about. However, the behind the scenes initiatives may tilt the picture in SBST flavour. For example, SBST might carry more passengers for the same amount of carbon emitted.
Study Source A
9. What does this source tells you about SBS? (3 marks)
Cant see image
Study Sources A and B
10. How similar is sources A and B (5 marks)
CANT SEE IMAGE
Study Source C
11. What does this source tells you about SMRT? (3 marks)
SMRT focuses on campaigns on saving the environment
Study Sources C and D
12. How similar is sources C and D? (6 marks)
Very similar. They talk about envorionment.
Study all sources
13. What did they tells you about bus transport in Singapore? (4 marks)
It rocks
Section C
Structured Essay Questions
(35 marks)
SBS
14. ‘SBS is a good bus company’, how far do you agree with this statement? (10 marks)
100%. SBS has good routes like 105 and 66. Also they purchase good buses like the Merc O405 and the DM3500.
SMRT
15. ‘The CEO of SMRT is the one that makes SMRT not as comparably good as SBS’, how far do you agree with the statement? (6 marks)
Agree. For example, that certain someone suddenly changed the rego to SMB1H, instead of TIB1258A.
16. State the development of SMRT (8 marks)
Go fly kite.
EITHER
17. State all the milestones of public transport in Singapore in terms of bus. (11 marks)
OR
17. (a) EZ link card is a success, justify your stand with this statement with reasons (5 marks)
I agree, it has made it faster to get on/off the buses and cuts down stopping time at bus stops.
17. (b) Is the WAB services successful, justify your stand with this statement with reasons (6 marks)
DISAGREE. I always see buses without WAB even though its a B9TL on a WAB approved route.
Section D
Free Writing
(15 marks)
Choose one topic and write an essay of about 250 words about it.
10 marks for content and 5 marks for language and organization.
Indicate the question you are writing on the top left hand corner of the answer script
18. Yishun Bus Interchange
19. SMRT
20. Ways to improve bus frequency.
Go fly kite.
--END OF PAPER--
The photos and comments maybe some of yours, so i now beg for your understanding.
Prove someone wrong i do it
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:btw, SMRT did not have BBDEP, clarify
SMRT has a BBDEP in their roster. Overnight parking at Bukit Batok Int.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Just to clarify, i did this paper just for fun.....nothing to be headache for,
lol...interesting questions a ppl to answer wen dey r bored...
can try attempting sum qns 2 prove ur bus knowledge...lol
Some questions about the history of Yishun INT:
1) Name any TIBS/SMRT service under Yishun Route Group that did jump-bus in the past.
2) In which year did AMDEP take away 1 A/P shift from 812?
3) Which berth did 811E occupy before being shifted to the Passenger Service Centre? Why so?
4) Which berth did Express 520 occupy in the past?
5) Why was Feeder 800's boarding berth shifted to 856/859's berth, when it originally was together with 804/806?
6) Which service used the 39/85's berth in the past?
7) State one reason why 855's buses do not like to park at the end-on berths allocated to them.
8) What was so special about Express 520 when it still existed, compared to other trunks that also headed towards town, like 851-855? Give your answer in terms of the route it takes.
Answers will be revealed on Sunday.
Originally posted by Oceane:Some questions about the history of Yishun INT:
1) Name any SMRT service under Yishun Route Group that did jump-bus in the past.
3) Which berth did 811E occupy before being shifted to the Passenger Service Centre? Why so?
5) Why was Feeder 800's boarding berth shifted to 856/859's berth, when it originally was together with 804/806?
7) State one reason why 855's buses do not like to park at the end-on berths allocated to them.
8) What was so special about Express 520 when it still existed, compared to other trunks that also headed towards town, like 851-855? Give your answer in terms of the route it takes.Answers will be revealed on Sunday.
Let me try, memory rusty liao ![]()
3. Berth A2 and A3, the end-on berths could not accomodate artics to park, therefore it was moved to a seldom used alighting saw-tooth berth at the end of the interchange. Also, another reason was due to the high frequency of 811, and frequent reversing at that berth causes a bottleneck of traffic into the interchange. Btw, as far as i remember, 811E rarely existed during those times unless changing shifts, Only after the artics was introduced into 811 did they started to have the current deployment (1 811E, 1 811) for the former 805 route.
4. Not too sure but i think its B7, now replaced with 854E.
5. 3 High capacity feeders services near the exit of the interchange = JAM, also, during the time 800's berth was together with 804/806, most of the time it will board at the end of the sawtooth berths to allow 804/806 to come in (nearer towards the public phones).
6. 854
7. Walk to scan cards very far.
8. 520 will make one big loop around yishun before continuing back on Ave 2 at khatib. The other trunks simply start their journey directly on Ave 2.
Originally posted by Scania:SMRT has a BBDEP in their roster. Overnight parking at Bukit Batok Int.
ok lo, but is it bbdep or just bbbp
1) Name any SMRT service under Yishun Route Group that did jump-bus in the past.
8) What was so special about Express 520 when it still existed, compared to other trunks that also headed towards town, like 851-855? Give your answer in terms of the route it takes.Answers will be revealed on Sunday.
3. I suspect is that it is nearer to the exit of the interchange and 811e sl just need to make a loop round sawtooth parking instead of moving all the way to sawtooth berth and back.
7. too far, in fact they always park at the end on near the toilet cum canteen.
Originally posted by jayh272416:Prove someone wrong i do it
Thank you for trying, all correct except
2a. Lim Chu Kang
2.b 975
6a. It is boon lay thanks to the JIS
7 and 8 i admit i lame
8c. 16 current berth, they swap berth with 608 that time due to bendies as bedok end on cannot take in bendies as it is designed for 12 foot buses unlike Harbourfront ones.
8d. longest farestage: 858 (85 fare starges if i am not wrong.)
Source based
Cannot link image....argh..............
The two sources is from part one in this forum of the SBS buy 500 buses from scannias, btw, the answers can get 2 marks each
13. damm agree...dunnow why some pple say SG buses is not good as compared to HK, i agree that they are excellent...but we are running on a different system to theirs
14. 1 mark
15. 1 mark...but i agree that the SMB plate is not good....siao one...wtf would pple know wtf is it writting, tib 1258 a is much better
17a. 1 mark...but ezlink card also make sbs n smrt make more $$$$$ as it cut down underpaying rate
17.b 2 marks...yah lo...always got wab bus on non wab route...cannot take in piw somemore...waste$$$
section d is just to make it sound more like a humans paper
Originally posted by service_238:I believe you should just go back and study your A levels
i sec sch one
Originally posted by service_238:4. You are at Old Airport Rd FC bus stop and you are taking a bus to HarbourFront. If you miss S30 during AM Peak, is it faster to take S10? How about during off peak hours?
All schedules are based on Weekday Peak unless otherwise stated.
Have fun
ok took sv10 before during off-peak...one bus stop before Old Airport FC ![]()
sv10 will reach harbourfront around 10mins behind a sv30, assuming both sv10 and sv30 were at Old Airport Rd at the same time.
and during the PM peak from what i remembered, there's always slow-traffic at Fort Rd entrance to ECP.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:i sec sch one
then go and study your O levels.
Any takers for my Travel Trivia for the other questions?![]()
Originally posted by XiaoTaro:Let me try, memory rusty liao
3. Berth A2 and A3, the end-on berths could not accomodate artics to park, therefore it was moved to a seldom used alighting saw-tooth berth at the end of the interchange. Also, another reason was due to the high frequency of 811, and frequent reversing at that berth causes a bottleneck of traffic into the interchange. Btw, as far as i remember, 811E rarely existed during those times unless changing shifts, Only after the artics was introduced into 811 did they started to have the current deployment (1 811E, 1 811) for the former 805 route.
4. Not too sure but i think its B7, now replaced with 854E.
5. 3 High capacity feeders services near the exit of the interchange = JAM, also, during the time 800's berth was together with 804/806, most of the time it will board at the end of the sawtooth berths to allow 804/806 to come in (nearer towards the public phones).
6. 854
7. Walk to scan cards very far.
8. 520 will make one big loop around yishun before continuing back on Ave 2 at khatib. The other trunks simply start their journey directly on Ave 2.
3. Correct. Though got other reasons. xD
4. Wrong.
5. Correct.
6. Correct.
7. Correct.
8. Somewhat correct.
Anyone wanna try 1 or 2? xD
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:3. I suspect is that it is nearer to the exit of the interchange and 811e sl just need to make a loop round sawtooth parking instead of moving all the way to sawtooth berth and back.
7. too far, in fact they always park at the end on near the toilet cum canteen.
3. Wrong.
7. Correct.
let me see...
3) most probably the few berths before current 857's berth, which are the berths that some 853/855 buses are parked. not really sure of reason though...
4) 520 occupied the current 812E berth area. i can still remember.
5) 804 and 806 load is always very high, plus the 2 buses usually bunch together. therefore, imo, 800 will also have to wait very long for the other 2 bendy svcs to turn out of the berth before it can take its load, and 804/806 take quite a long time to be loaded.
6) 854? before it got bendies and shifted to its current sawtooth berth.
7) lazy to walk. some 853 BCs also do the same.
8) It makes a round in the Yishun New Town, including Yishun Ring Road, my old house before shifting to Woodlands, before turning out into Yishun Ave 2 at Khatib and continuing its journey towards the city. also, it enters SLE at Lentor at is the only service that goes from SLE to CTE.
1. Give 4 reasons what is special about Service 151?
Hint: 1 of them is the place it terminate last time and 3 of them is about buses it uses.
2. Which SBST bus Service currenly has it buses FULL Voith gearbox.
Hint: All SD one and same model one plus the demund it very VERY high one!
8) Express 520 used to serve Yishun Central, Yishun Ring Road etc... before reaching reaching Yishun Ave 2 and uses expressway to reach town, in AM peak it ends at Outram Park MRT station but starts from New Bridge Rd Ter in evening peak.
Originally posted by nenepokey:let me see...
3) most probably the few berths before current 857's berth, which are the berths that some 853/855 buses are parked. not really sure of reason though...
4) 520 occupied the current 812E berth area. i can still remember.
5) 804 and 806 load is always very high, plus the 2 buses usually bunch together. therefore, imo, 800 will also have to wait very long for the other 2 bendy svcs to turn out of the berth before it can take its load, and 804/806 take quite a long time to be loaded.
6) 854? before it got bendies and shifted to its current sawtooth berth.
7) lazy to walk. some 853 BCs also do the same.
8) It makes a round in the Yishun New Town, including Yishun Ring Road, my old house before shifting to Woodlands, before turning out into Yishun Ave 2 at Khatib and continuing its journey towards the city. also, it enters SLE at Lentor at is the only service that goes from SLE to CTE.
3. Wrong.
4. Correct... but your phrasing a bit awkward.
5. Agree.
6. Correct.
7. Correct.
8. Correct.
Q1 and Q2? Anyone... xD
Originally posted by SBS9889U:8) Express 520 used to serve Yishun Central, Yishun Ring Road etc... before reaching reaching Yishun Ave 2 and uses expressway to reach town, in AM peak it ends at Outram Park MRT station but starts from New Bridge Rd Ter in evening peak.
Ya OK. Correct. Don't need anymore answers for Q8. Haha.
I sort of look to 520 as the Premium service of the past... Hehehe. :)
Originally posted by SBS594D:1. Give 4 reasons what is special about Service 151?
Hint: 1 of them is the place it terminate last time and 3 of them is about buses it uses.
2. Which SBST bus Service currenly has it buses FULL Voith gearbox.
Hint: All SD one and same model one plus the demund it very VERY high one!
151 used to terminate at Hougang Sth (but i duno wads that special)
151 used to have alot of mk2s but now its alot of k230ubs
151 has mk4s
151 has Nokia Music Mobile