Ahem... Count me in.Originally posted by TIB1049L:Misconception was caused by the then TIBS buying it with the Fuji Body
And they are as old as me![]()
yeah...this reminds me...cite another example then....if a sbs merc turn in from becoolen st to penang rd(YMCA bus stop there) i can safely identify it as 139.... for redhill estate...where there are two svcs 63,139 if i saw a oncoming strider it's comfirm to be 63 liao....and if u happened to be at redhill mrt bus stop upon sighting a dennis trident there....most likely it's 64 and if u sighted a NAC bus there comfirm to be 32 already...how interesting it is...Originally posted by tanjun:It really depends on the individual, his likes and hobbies.
For me, although I do identify different types of buses, I am not really into the name and type of buses and gearboxes that they are using. Like for example, at a bus stop near Dieppe Barracks with 167, 169, 171 and 980, if one identifies a bus coming from a distance and it is a merc, there is a high chance that either 169 or 171 is coming. If it is a bendy, it is high chance that the bus will be 169. This gives me or everyone with an interest of spotting buses an advantage.
Besides, the sounds of the buses are unique. Even with buses of the same brand and type, the engines sound may be different due to external factors.
I am more into bus routes. There are so many ways to get to different places in Singapore and I can say Singapore is not so bad in terms of bus networks although there are definitely areas to improve on. I like to read Transitlink Bus Guides because it is a pocket sized book, with colourful labels and the details are clear. Besides, different bus services have different demands as can be seen by the dds and bendys deployed on selective services. It is rather interesting to identify the hotspots that create the demand.
mine's a bit different..Originally posted by ngjy22:In the past, I'm also like this, never c Dennis Dart bef, saw it once then "Wah! New bus!", at first I thought MK3![]()
Not exactly like that misconception as you said, but something like that la. there was a time when i called up transitlink and the officer said that NEL is run by SMRT!Originally posted by TIB1049L:3. This one is the most common; SBST = SBS and TIBS = SMRT
- No explanations needed
Have you heard any of such misconceptions? If yes, share with us!![]()
Yeah! They don't believe that the SBST CAC Mercs are actually converted! But for SMRT ELBO, Mercs, some Nissans, very obvious...Originally posted by 201911:LOL! the other time I told my friend the 0405 was bought in 1990, he don't believe, say the bus looks reasonably new. then the CAC DM 0405 he couldn't tell the bus used to be NAC. and oh yes, he mentioned AC very shiok. (the bus is SL 52, but i forgot rego.) seems like SBST refurbishment of 0405 quite good.
Yes... Even the newspaper last time think SMRT bus in red/white livery is SBST bus...Originally posted by patdog112:SBS - red white
TIB - yellow orange![]()
true.. especially bendy buses.. BC always like to choing them.Originally posted by 201911:this one more like stereotyping:
SBST buses are slow and old, SMRT buses are newer and like to chiong, and very dirty
I used to identify buses by their advertisements too. But I feel that buses with full-body adverts seems to be getting lesser. Anyone feels the same too? Also, nowadays adverts tend to stick up out of the bus body. I dont really like this design.Originally posted by kengkia:yeah...this reminds me...cite another example then....if a sbs merc turn in from becoolen st to penang rd(YMCA bus stop there) i can safely identify it as 139.... for redhill estate...where there are two svcs 63,139 if i saw a oncoming strider it's comfirm to be 63 liao....and if u happened to be at redhill mrt bus stop upon sighting a dennis trident there....most likely it's 64 and if u sighted a NAC bus there comfirm to be 32 already...how interesting it is...![]()
to continue on this abit...last time i take 58 to work in ubi before i have changed route since, most of the time SBS882Y has been taking me most of the time and is in the follow me shampoo ad full body with a chio bu in it...Originally posted by tvcnq:I used to identify buses by their advertisements too. But I feel that buses with full-body adverts seems to be getting lesser. Anyone feels the same too? Also, nowadays adverts tend to stick up out of the bus body. I dont really like this design.
just like how I know its TIB1049L when I see the Ban Leong Pawnshop ad. because it was the only habit with the ad. Now kena removed liaoOriginally posted by kengkia:to continue on this abit...last time i take 58 to work in ubi before i have changed route since, most of the time SBS882Y has been taking me most of the time and is in the follow me shampoo ad full body with a chio bu in it..., now the full body ad changed to chang beer already...
....also when i am taking 139 home sometimes...i would always kana the lemsip ad full body ad...then i know that i am taking 3815Y...followed by the panadol ad where the mouth mask protrude out(3D ad)....
these few days i have been taking 189R home as well...see till sian already...