If that's the case, I would expect Service 190 to have a 1 minute frequency in future in time to come....Originally posted by carbikebus:I've heard that both SBST & SMRT Buses will purchase 95% SDs in future,So we will see less DDs & Bendies.
Look at it this way.Originally posted by SBS3688Y:that will DISCOURAGE (not encourage!) more people to take public transport!
our authorities always like to paint a beautiful picture about encouraging people take public transport or ease overcrowding blah blah blah. And they don't practice what they preach! I rather they keep their mouth shut! Fancy hiding inside their luxurous cars then talking crap in front of the press!
these bargers must be siao! tell people to abandon their cars and then squeeze themselves like sardines and stand all the way on buses to their destinations. Why don't they try out the public transport like anyone else first to see whether its good enough?
In contrast, HK got overwhelming number of double-deckers and much frequent trains.
Bus bunching will occur since the frequency for traffic lights is already more than one minute. As of now, I already see some 190 bunching up with 190A at Bt Panjang at around 7.30am.Originally posted by TIB1062Y:If that's the case, I would expect Service 190 to have a 1 minute frequency in future in time to come....
just wait and see. anyway there's not much choice for the operators. someone in another forum once said that K230UB is the first and only Euro 4 bus available in Singapore, dunno true or not. hopefully it's not true (not now, anyway).Originally posted by nenepokey:mmm...new buses. wad buses could it be? Scania? Merc? or Volvo?
If you dun improve the public tpt to make it attractive, would ppl give up driving?Originally posted by Zilchster:Look at it this way.
They encourage more ppl to use the public transport means less cars on the road, which would mean less jam, and it would be for whose benefit? Theirs? Maybe.
Hmm i thot Volvo already has a B9L ? Which is also Euro4 . Hmm Maybe it has not been launched here i guess.Originally posted by 201911:just wait and see. anyway there's not much choice for the operators. someone in another forum once said that K230UB is the first and only Euro 4 bus available in Singapore, dunno true or not. hopefully it's not true (not now, anyway).
The rear engine position is awkward and 4 seats at the rear the most.Unless they design LRT U shape style.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Hmm i thot Volvo already has a B9L ? Which is also Euro4 . Hmm Maybe it has not been launched here i guess.
Yeah im aware of that . I saw the brochure of it and i realized that the bus exhaust is located near the roof.Originally posted by carbikebus:The rear engine position is awkward and 4 seats at the rear the most.Unless they design LRT U shape style.
Eh I believe the exhuast is there not because of the engine position. many Sydney O.305s/O.405s have roof exhaust.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Yeah im aware of that . I saw the brochure of it and i realized that the bus exhaust is located near the roof.Think the awkward position is due to Volvo's effort in making the bus to be fully low floor like the Citaro. But however , the upright engine might make it awkward.
Theres a difference between "low-floor" and "low entry" . Both buses can be WAB . The difference is that for low floor buses , from the front of the bus all the way to the back , there are no steps . The B9TL is a low entry bus , as there are steps just after the rear exit. The Citaro and B9L is low floor.Originally posted by nenepokey:yar lor. can see volvo tried their best in making the chassis to b able to fit the low-floor thingy. coz nowadays all buses going low floor
But the thing is that Vertically placed engine (Low-Floor Buses) are not popular with operators around the world. This could be seen from that the fact that Manufacturers like Volvo came out with B10L B7L B9L while Enviro came up with Enviro200 had proved to be a failure. Nobody wants to buy them. Enviro 200 could be said as the worst as till date, production for that model stopped. There is only 1 unit of E200 being produced and it is a Demo for one of the London Bus company (If im wasnt wrong..). AD was forced to incorporate the design of E200 into the chassis of Dennis Dart and came out with the E200D which proved to be much more popular.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Theres a difference between "low-floor" and "low entry" . Both buses can be WAB . The difference is that for low floor buses , from the front of the bus all the way to the back , there are no steps . The B9TL is a low entry bus , as there are steps just after the rear exit. The Citaro and B9L is low floor.