Why dun have a 242A too? Boon Lay Int --> JW St 91--> Boon Lay Int?Originally posted by ^tamago^:nice........
need meh?Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Why dun have a 242A too? Boon Lay Int --> JW St 91--> Boon Lay Int?
Spotted a 242 LO3xs with upp deck 1/2 filled & low deck got ppl stand between entrance/exit(die die don't want to move in), rear got lots of spaces & some ppl don't board(cos not seats) during PM Peak...Originally posted by ^tamago^:need meh?
i also realised 243's queue very long during peak hours and fills up quickly, but all that you need is one more bus can liao. same should apply for 242.
a limited-stops point-to-point service is not feasible for feeder services like this when there are ppl who need to alight along the way.
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:I knew it SBST would introuduce this Shortworking service. Anyway, I think it is good because it'll help the people who is studing at NTU...
Starting from 1 October 2007
Boon Lay Int -> Nanyang Dr* -> Boon Lay Int
* Calls at 9 Bus Stops along Nanyang Dr
* Express along Jurong West St 63/Pioneer Rd Nth
* Operates on Sch Term Wkdays AM/PM Peak.
Spotted SBST Staff put up Poster at Bus Stops along Service 179 route during lunchtime...![]()
[b]E-PRESS RELEASE WILL BE POSTED LATER
Solution to solve 'ultra-long' Q at Boon Lay Int/NTU Bus Stops during AM/PM Peak???[/b]
I toking about implementing Svc 242A in the AM peak onli..Originally posted by brotherchen1982:Spotted a 242 LO3xs with upp deck 1/2 filled & low deck got ppl stand between entrance/exit(die die don't want to move in), rear got lots of spaces & some ppl don't board(cos not seats) during PM Peak...
Got ADD gd enough & he still want 242A...![]()
For me, i thinktheOriginally posted by ^tamago^:need meh?
i also realised 243's queue very long during peak hours and fills up quickly, but all that you need is one more bus can liao. same should apply for 242.
a limited-stops point-to-point service is not feasible for feeder services like this when there are ppl who need to alight along the way.
I dun think it would help much.. Cos the problem is the jam along Pionner Rd nth.. 2 Weeks ago, I was there was a terrible jam there that make the journey from pioneer rd nth to BNL for about 30mins!!Originally posted by bus555:I knew it SBST would introuduce this Shortworking service. Anyway, I think it is good because it'll help the people who is studing at NTU...
B'cos of AN ACCIDENT further down the road...Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I dun think it would help much.. Cos the problem is the jam along Pionner Rd nth.. 2 Weeks ago, I was there was a terrible jam there that make the journey from pioneer rd nth to BNL for about 30mins!!
It like every morning there would be a minor jam there..Originally posted by brotherchen1982:B'cos of AN ACCIDENT further down the road...
Btw, it's EXPRESS along Pioneer Rd Nth...
Causes of MINOR JAMOriginally posted by chickenlittle2:It like every morning there would be a minor jam there..
More like the opp of 163A.Originally posted by choww:Is it somehow like the 502A and 518A?
That's like BNL - NTU ONLYOriginally posted by brotherchen1982:2nd shortworking trip cater for University Students this year...
96B : Clementi IntCommonwealth Ave West(Clementi Station)
179A :
Boon Lay IntNanyang Dr*(Loop) during AM Peak
Nanyang Dr*Boon Lay Int during PM Peak
*Calls at 9 Bus Stops along Nanyang Dr :
Hall 1(27281),
Opp Hall 6(27291),
Hall 2(27311),
Library 1(27211),
Sch Of CSE(27221),
School Of Comm Studies(27231),
Hall 7(27241),
Innovation Centre(27251),
Hall 4(27261)
Erm.. dun need to write like "Fark off"Originally posted by brotherchen1982:Causes of MINOR JAMHeavy Vehicles moving in/out of Pioneer Rd Nth & Industrial areas nearby
Causes of HEAVY JAMAccident/Vehicle Breakdown!
FYI, I walk pass Pioneer Rd Nth EVERY MORNING.![]()
Let me give some suggestions to alleviate the problem for 179 during peak hrs.Originally posted by tanjun:In my opinion, I don't see any purpose of having a 179A cos for 179, most of the people that utilise this service go from Boon Lay to NTU which is almost the whole journey of the original 179. The buses will still have to go back to Boon Lay int from NTU be it 179A or 179 to transport more students to the uni during morning peak hrs.
In another case, for example, 147A and 147, I suppose for 147, most of the people who are taking 147 from Hougang and Serangoon alight at CBD area such as Jln Besar, Little India, Bencoolen St and Chinatown and Clarke Quay. Thus, for 147A, after it terminates at Chinatown, it can go back to Hougang int to transport commuters during the morning peak hrs. Hence, the supply can cope with the demand of the service and costs are reduced to the minimum.
Just a thought.
I agree that boarding time really waste a lot of time and cause buses to be late. Like what stooper says, during AM peak some of the buses are still on Svc 242.. When they come back and join in later, the long queue problem is solved..Originally posted by tanjun:Let me give some suggestions to alleviate the problem for 179 during peak hrs.
Set up 2 separate berths for 179 or SBST can use the bus stop just outside Boon Lay bus interchange (if they are authorised to use it) as an alternating boarding/alighting point for 179 during peak hrs. (Adopt 170 blue method from Kranji MRT Station to Johor)
The above method is to ensure that even with high freq bus services such as 179, less time is wasted for commuters to board the buses and deal with the problem of fully packed buses.
Next, deploy more buses on 179.