Originally posted by alleggerita:Just ytd, I saw 2 K230UB with faulty desto. Seems like these kind of electronic destos are forever prone to problems.
The Scania K230 EDSes are especially bad. EDS of Trident, VSO, MK4 not so bad. Wonder if it's of branding issue.
On side note, many of the SMRT EDSes are going from bad to worse. TIB 1246 J's EDS is like some matrix display.
8134 on 151A
Originally posted by off_service:The Scania K230 EDSes are especially bad. EDS of Trident, VSO, MK4 not so bad. Wonder if it's of branding issue.
On side note, many of the SMRT EDSes are going from bad to worse. TIB 1246 J's EDS is like some matrix display.
In what way do you think SBST's EDS are bad on Scania K230UB buses?
Originally posted by I miss old annoucements:
In what way do you think SBST's EDS are bad on Scania K230UB buses?
The dead "pixels" or LED bulbs happened just within weeks or months in services. Many buses are affected. And comparing the clarity of these units with SMRT's orange EDSes, I would say SMRT's would be much more clearer.
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:
This link goes back to the main page of this forum
Originally posted by off_service:The Scania K230 EDSes are especially bad. EDS of Trident, VSO, MK4 not so bad. Wonder if it's of branding issue.
Speaking of the devil,
"Difficult to see numbers on new buses
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=17575
Brotherchen: is this the one you were talking about?
P.S: I dont know why I put the link about that but when I click, it goes to stomp justin page ![]()
Link repaired ![]()
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:
One of the comments said this,
"The useful bus stop number (eg. B01, B02 etc) is reduced in size and missing on some bus stops, replaced by a 5 or 6 digit code which is not so useful to the public. Even the useful Bnumbers are not explained to the public after spending much money to implement it."
I also didn't know the usefulness of the B numbers.
What do they actually mean?
Originally posted by stooper:One of the comments said this,
"The useful bus stop number (eg. B01, B02 etc) is reduced in size and missing on some bus stops, replaced by a 5 or 6 digit code which is not so useful to the public. Even the useful Bnumbers are not explained to the public after spending much money to implement it."
Should be more for identification of bus stop along a stretch of road. I remembered seeing 975's next stop display showing "B06 Lim Chu Kang Road".
SBS 8135 T on 151 29S (PM)
Originally posted by stooper:One of the comments said this,
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
an alternative method of identifying bus stops. if u're travelling on the even-numbered side, the number shld decrease as you move along the road. the reverse is true for the odd-numbered side on the opposite direction.
OT: Eh you talk very boolean-ish leh.. ![]()
Originally posted by off_service:OT: Eh you talk very boolean-ish leh..
A bit disappointed with the new batch of Scanias.
The only changes made to the bus were the higher front and rear bumper and the addition of one seat behind the driver's cabin...other things are left unchanged.
There are also safety stickers on the windows above the 4 seats in the front part of the bus. While hgdep's style of fitting cameras on its Scanias can be seen on the new batch of Scanias.
Also, 8137M does not have any rego plate inside yet.
SBS8139H to SBS8147J registered today !!!
Originally posted by azharjj:SBS8139H to SBS8147J registered today !!!
seems like they are very in need of buses. at this rate there's definitely a new service to get the K230s every month
plus a lot of them goes into HGDEP. due to all the missing MKIIs...toking abt that, feel very sad leh..anyway 8135 shud b perm on 151 liao...
How come still no Scanias in Sengkang? ![]()
The mistake for sbstransit is to have electronic sign board on the buses. I think normal painted sign will do to cut cost. some more normal sign board display is clearer. I think the new buses should have provide more sit on the bus then standing space. many people pack in the centre of the new bus cos the bus floor is too low for them to move to the back of the bus.
by the way how many handdicap take public buses often? i wonder? if there are many then government should provide special transport service for them at a discount price, for example mpv taxi or van service at a discount rate or special coe car price for those handdicap people who can drive a car or they can share a car. car licence plate must be indicated (like o p c car plate) to allow them to park at handdicap car slot.
Originally posted by wsy1234:The mistake for sbstransit is to have electronic sign board on the buses. I think normal painted sign will do to cut cost. some more normal sign board display is clearer. I think the new buses should have provide more sit on the bus then standing space. many people pack in the centre of the new bus cos the bus floor is too low for them to move to the back of the bus.
by the way how many handdicap take public buses often? i wonder? if there are many then government should provide special transport service for them at a discount price, for example mpv taxi or van service at a discount rate or special coe car price for those handdicap people who can drive a car or they can share a car. car licence plate must be indicated (like o p c car plate) to allow them to park at handdicap car slot.
ppl kpkb seat cramp, so make seat wider but at the same time since bus length is fixed, ends up lesser seats... now ppl kpkb too few seats... wat do ppl want exactly?
Originally posted by Scania:A bit disappointed with the new batch of Scanias.
The only changes made to the bus were the higher front and rear bumper and the addition of one seat behind the driver's cabin...other things are left unchanged.
There are also safety stickers on the windows above the 4 seats in the front part of the bus. While hgdep's style of fitting cameras on its Scanias can be seen on the new batch of Scanias.
Also, 8137M does not have any rego plate inside yet.
Originally posted by nenepokey:plus a lot of them goes into HGDEP. due to all the missing MKIIs...toking abt that, feel very sad leh..anyway 8135 shud b perm on 151 liao...
I wonder how BNDEP is going to deal with the shortage of buses when they start to deregister those 100+++ Scania N113 CRBs starting June this year
AMDEP can throw more Mk IV's over to BNDEP. :lol:
Originally posted by wsy1234:The mistake for sbstransit is to have electronic sign board on the buses. I think normal painted sign will do to cut cost. some more normal sign board display is clearer. I think the new buses should have provide more sit on the bus then standing space. many people pack in the centre of the new bus cos the bus floor is too low for them to move to the back of the bus.
Being Asians, most of the drivers are not particularly tall. They might have trouble changing the destos.
Granted we have B10BLE that use plastic destos, but I think most of them are more or less permanent on certain services except for some crossovers.