Mitsubishi was very economical and popular among private bus operators until Euro IV requirements kicked in.Originally posted by farky:are japanese buses cheaper? then those private bus drivers buy their own buses or rent them?
by the way, hope to see korea-made buses in singapore
honestly, this is less than i expected. i estimated it to be in the high 500k range, given the returns it can reap.Originally posted by ^tamago^:A SBST Scania K230UB with body is about $350k. Volvo B9TL is about $400k~$450k.
Add COE for a private bus, and also expect to pay more for road tax.
Volvo has the D7E and D12E engines which do not need additives to become Euro 4, with additives, they meet Euro 5 standards.Originally posted by nenepokey:Scania consider quite cheap loh...cos of it's natural Euro4 capability, unlike Volvo, nid additive then can become Euro4. the additive oso nid $$$ leh...nothing is free in this world...
by the way mitsubishi euro4 will not be in sg ...they will introduce euro 5Originally posted by ^tamago^:Mitsubishi was very economical and popular among private bus operators until Euro IV requirements kicked in.
It's either you buy them, or the driver is part of the company that owns it.
Whoa.......so exe......Originally posted by ^tamago^:A SBST Scania K230UB with body is about $350k. Volvo B9TL is about $400k~$450k.
Add COE for a private bus, and also expect to pay more for road tax.
When they bought them 10 years ago, they cost around $300k.Originally posted by MingFreeman:Whoa.......so exe......
How about double decker buses like leyland and volvo?
Isn't that because Dennis was trying to get rid of it's Lances and SMRT (then TIBS) took them all for a cheaper price?Originally posted by ^tamago^:When they bought them 10 years ago, they cost around $300k.
Now a B9TL is about $400k.
It is actually quite value-for-money already. You can't pay any lesser. The cheapest 12m bus is the 1998 UMW-Dennis Lance at about $160k per bus.
How about the Mercedes Benz O405 (SBST & SMRT) ?Originally posted by ^tamago^:When they bought them 10 years ago, they cost around $300k.
It is actually quite value-for-money already. You can't pay any lesser. The cheapest 12m bus is the 1998 UMW-Dennis Lance at about $160k per bus.
About $220k. But the prices are no longer realistic today due to inflation.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:How about the Mercedes Benz O405 (SBST & SMRT) ?![]()
I see . I guess the Citaros cost around near to 500K ?Originally posted by ^tamago^:About $220k. But the prices are no longer realistic today due to inflation.
No wonder la.. Cheap price has cheap qualities.. 90% of the time when i take a dennis lance (esp malaysian bodied) will be damn warm lo.. Air con like for show only.. The remaining 10% of the time is when its raining then its cold..Originally posted by ^tamago^:When they bought them 10 years ago, they cost around $300k.
Some of them are fixed.. so cooler.. But.. there are always exceptionsOriginally posted by manjieass:No wonder la.. Cheap price has cheap qualities.. 90% of the time when i take a dennis lance (esp malaysian bodied) will be damn warm lo.. Air con like for show only.. The remaining 10% of the time is when its raining then its cold..
many people think UMW dennis lance is older than 0405 (SMRT) bcos the bodywork & interior colour scheme makes it look dull and more important, also bcos the bus age prematurely and the suspension gone case/ aircon not working etc. and when the bus chiong will vibrate like siao...Originally posted by manjieass:No wonder la.. Cheap price has cheap qualities.. 90% of the time when i take a dennis lance (esp malaysian bodied) will be damn warm lo.. Air con like for show only.. The remaining 10% of the time is when its raining then its cold..