I don't see a need for such hostile reply. I am taking train everyday and I meant what I've said. You can try lunch time at any North bound train station of Woodlands extension. Every train would be a good 8 or 9 minutes.Originally posted by Oceane:Do you really need me to go dig up my posts from the Trains forums and shoot back at you?
Do call me up if you need.![]()
You are right. The timing on SMRT's LCD displays showing 5 mins means 5 mins, 9 mins means 9 mins.Originally posted by ^tamago^:Trains actually rarely get delayed during off-peak hours. Bring a digital clock in and monitor the times. If not it cannot meet the 96% departure accuracy requirement. So there is really no excuse for 9-minute frequencies.
And no, I also don't buy the faulty timings thing. The people who saw 9 minutes most likely had to endure 9 minutes.
Yeah lah, Marbok Tan CB one. He should have been dropped when he lost to CST in 1984.Originally posted by Oceane:In fact, the merger wouldn't have happened if not SBST won the NEL contract. SMRT would still be monopolising the MRT system and TIBS and Singapore Bus Services would still stand as it is. Former white + red and yellow + orange liveries, anyone?![]()
Every train?Originally posted by off_service:I don't see a need for such hostile reply. I am taking train everyday and I meant what I've said. You can try lunch time at any North bound train station of Woodlands extension. Every train would be a good 8 or 9 minutes.
You can take my words for it or ignore it. Also, I can tell you straight in the face I won't be bothered and am not interested to call you.
I don't know what is the problem with you and the minister. But Get Over It! It's getting to be an eyesore. If you have any issues with any minister, please take it directly to him. Please do not use as a springboard to launch any tiride of political criticism. Your comments are totally irrelevant with the topic.Originally posted by iveco:Yeah lah, Marbok Tan CB one. He should have been dropped when he lost to CST in 1984.
His recent comment about allocating funds for opposition ward upgrading is simply unacceptable. This guy is too error-prone to be in the Cabinet.
Sorry, with regards to the information about 18 trains running, I apologise for my mistake. It's 19. Relevant parts have been edited.Originally posted by Oceane:Every train?
Sorry. I take the train more than you do, during lunch time it's the same old 7 minutes. Unless SMRT decided to increase passenger waiting time, which it does not need to, it's still 7 minutes.
There are 18 trains running on the NSL at any time during off-peak. 18. The entire trip of NSL (including turnover time at terminus) is 61 minutes x 2 + 2 minutes x 2 = 128 minutes. Divide that by 7 and you get a number slightly more than 18. So if what you say is true, 8 minutes per train, 128 divided by 7 gives me 16. Are you trying to tell me 2 trains just disappeared from the NSL?
It's about the same concept as bus bunching. If the train ahead is earlier than schedule the next train definitely would show 8 or 9 minutes. Then it's the responsiblity of the train that is infront to slow down at a particular station to match with the 7 minute frequency. Likewise, if a train is late, you would see that the next train info shows 5 or 6 minutes? Then the reverse applies.
So, never never assume that you saw a train as 8 minutes = every train is 8 minutes. Mind you, I do train spotting and the number is fixed at 18 everyday during off-peak on the NSL. So your story isn't true after all, because 2 trains just don't disappear from the line for no reason. Because if it is true, can I also say that I waited 30 minutes for a bus = the frequency of every bus is 30 minutes? Next please.
Originally posted by Oceane:
TRNs for Weekday Off-peaks on NSL
Starting from the smallest TRN...
Well... like I said, it's never hard to please Singaporeans. Even if you lower the waiting time by 1 or 2 minutes, after a while they will request for even lower frequencies. This is what I call (SGF can't type Chinese) DE CHUN JIN CHI.Originally posted by hiphop2009:i guess those pple who "face" SMRT buses are already getting fed up and hence anything connecting with SMRT then they will just shoot
off peak hour no need a fast freq, this part i agree very much.
during the morning rush hour i think SMRT has tried its best. i once saw 3 trains arriving within one minute of each other. not gd meh?
There's always a difference in between theory and reality. Especially with school holidays now in place, you can never know.Originally posted by Oceane:Every train?
Sorry. I take the train more than you do, during lunch time it's the same old 7 minutes. Unless SMRT decided to increase passenger waiting time, which it does not need to, it's still 7 minutes.
There are 19 (Not 18, read below for my apology) trains running on the NSL at any time during off-peak. 19. The entire trip of NSL (including turnover time at terminus) is 61 minutes x 2 + 2 minutes x 2 = 128 minutes. Divide that by 7 and you get a number that is MORE than 18. Close to 18.5. So if what you say is true, 8 minutes per train, 128 divided by 7 gives me 16. Are you trying to tell me 3 trains just disappeared from the NSL?
It's about the same concept as bus bunching. If the train ahead is earlier than schedule the next train definitely would show 8 or 9 minutes. Then it's the responsiblity of the train that is infront to slow down at a particular station to match with the 7 minute frequency. Likewise, if a train is late, you would see that the next train info shows 5 or 6 minutes? Then the reverse applies.
So, never never assume that you saw a train as 8 minutes = every train is 8 minutes. Mind you, I do train spotting and the number is fixed at 19 everyday during off-peak on the NSL. So your story isn't true after all, because 3 trains just don't disappear from the line for no reason. Because if it is true, can I also say that I waited 30 minutes for a bus = the frequency of every bus is 30 minutes? Next please.
I think we are paying enough for a better service. Train frequencies are one thing, comfort is another.Originally posted by Oceane:Well... like I said, it's never hard to please Singaporeans. Even if you lower the waiting time by 1 or 2 minutes, after a while they will request for even lower frequencies. This is what I call (SGF can't type Chinese) DE CHUN JIN CHI.
I guess most people who take trains here actually want empty trains so that they can get a seat. Can... just that, pay more fares for more trains, more electricity and more maintainence. If they are willing to do that I'm sure SMRT would be more than happy to introduce more trains into service.
Originally posted by off_service:So you are not ready to give this up, are you?
There's always a difference in between theory and reality. Especially with school holidays now in place, you can never know.
Train or bus companies have the authority to tweak their frequencies to optimize resources (or which they claim). Unless you are telling me you [b]ARE the dispatcher or you COUNT the number of trains in services daily, don't assume.
I'm just relating what I experienced during my daily commute. Yes, I won't deny that SMRT Trains have reasonably good frequencies during peak, but I also won't deny there are horrendous frequencies during off peaks.
Oh yes, you can be taking more trains than me, if you are above 25 or 30 years old.[/b]
You are the first person who claims to know everything. I hand it to you.Originally posted by Oceane:What can I not know? I've been doing train spotting for months already, every day I meet with the same number of trains. I don't assume. I do research and conduct my daily checks.
Yes SMRT has the authority to take trains away from service; they do so during peak hour.Since they already promised 7-minute frequencies, they need to do the maths to supplement the correct number of trains. Unless you're telling me they fail maths.