Can provided no/faulty speed limiter.I even on board one batch 1 VO that can run up to 95 during off service.Sometimes by hearing and notice that no vibration during 60km thats mean the bus can go beyond that.Actually any buses can run.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:wat about LO3x?
Took SBS2607 on 3N just now , BC kept chionging along straight roads.Originally posted by carbikebus:Can provided no/faulty speed limiter.I even on board one batch 1 VO that can run up to 95 during off service.Sometimes by hearing and notice that no vibration during 60km thats mean the bus can go beyond that.Actually any buses can run.
Some tips to see public buses chiong like crazy
SMRT Buses
NiteRiders & Worker Transport
SBST Buses
Niteowl(Little chance except few sv) & Employee Buses
some scanias i remb do have good pickup, but they belong to the minority in my opinion. better reserved for townlink?Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Took SBS2607 on 3N just now , BC kept chionging along straight roads.Speed was around 70-80km/h at expressway i think .
Then i alight at Bukit Panjang , the BC gave me a thumbs up with a smiley face.![]()
once TIB661A chiong abt 100km/h on a downhill bending slope along Woodlands Road. engine was roaring lyk mad, and i wonder if the tachometer went into the red zone...Originally posted by sir_peanuts:some scanias i remb do have good pickup, but they belong to the minority in my opinion. better reserved for townlink?
Wat about better pickup speed or horsepower?Originally posted by carbikebus:Can provided no/faulty speed limiter.I even on board one batch 1 VO that can run up to 95 during off service.Sometimes by hearing and notice that no vibration during 60km thats mean the bus can go beyond that.Actually any buses can run.
Pick up speed depends on engine torque . Max speed depends on engine horsepower.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Wat about better pickup speed or horsepower?
I agree that the new Scania K230UB tends to vibrate too much for a new bus..Originally posted by alleggerita:\
The new Scania K230UB seems to be quite accelerative..I would say on par with the O405! Maybe because it's still new and it's turbocharged while the O405 is naturally-aspirated..but one thing though, the K230UB's 5-cylinder in-line diesel engine vibrates quite a lot for a new bus..all the interior fittings like the grabpoles and chairs were rattling away whenever the bus accelerates..
Added: As for double-decks, I firmly think that the B9TL has the best acceleration thanks to it's powerful engine and the kick-ass ZF 6-speed gearbox..
There was once I was on SBS7455B on svc. 80..the BC chiong-ed after the red light turned green, and it managed to accelerate at the same pace with the other cars around it! Which shows that it's acceleration can match other saloon cars..superb..![]()
But all of you here should understand one thing here..Vehicles tend to be more powerful at night..Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I agree that the new Scania K230UB tends to vibrate too much for a new bus..
Maybe u can try LO3x on Svc 174 or Svc 97 in the night and you would know how power they are.. Svc 174 travelling along Bukit Timah Rd at night and Svc 97 along AYE at night.. Wow..
Indeed. I would also understand that all your science, physics and chemistry teachers would be so ashamed of having you as a student upon reading this.Originally posted by alleggerita:But all of you here should understand one thing here..Vehicles tend to be more powerful at night..
Reason is simple..when night falls, air becomes cooler..and as we all know from science lessons, cold air sinks..so when the air become cooler, more air sinks to the ground level..
And we also know internal combustion engines (regardless of petrol or diesel) need air to combust the fuel..and the more air, the better (hence the invention of turbocharger/supercharger)..
So when vehicles travel at night, more cool air goes into the engine..and when more air goes into the engine, it creates a natural kind of turbocharger/supercharger effect..and plus the fact the air is cooler at night, it's even better for diesel engine..a natural "intercooler"!!!
Added: And that's possibly the reason why all of you find buses at night to be more powerful..![]()
Then please have a look at chickenlittle2's post again..he was saying how powerful the LO3x are at night and not how much shorter is the travelling time..And hence I replied to his idea of the buses being more powerful at night..Originally posted by TIB1186Z:Indeed. I would also understand that all your science, physics and chemistry teachers would be so ashamed of having you as a student upon reading this.
A few Kelvins difference in temperature at night would have negligible effect on your painstakingly constructed explanation of a combustion engine.
Its just the fact that roads are emptier at night and scheduled public buses have shorter run times, necessating it to cover the same distance in a shorter time hence greater average speed.
Errm.. sorry to disturb but I suggest u to take in the night because the traffic in the night are smoother without jam and also lesser passengers along the stops.. I understand ur facts but I dun think it would affect alot.. The greatest different would be BC turning off the lights, air con and TV mobile..Originally posted by alleggerita:Then please have a look at chickenlittle2's post again..he was saying how powerful the LO3x are at night and not how much shorter is the travelling time..And hence I replied to his idea of the buses being more powerful at night..
Edit: Typo
Ok..then next time say buses have a shorter travelling time at night..you say LO3x more power at night, I thought you literally mean the bus feels more powerful at night..Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Errm.. sorry to disturb but I suggest u to take in the night because the traffic in the night are smoother without jam and also lesser passengers along the stops.. I understand ur facts but I dun think it would affect alot.. The greatest different would be BC turning off the lights, air con and TV mobile..
Ya agreed with you dude,But some buses are just powerful no matter of the AC or loads.Its the authority thats make the buses slowerOriginally posted by alleggerita:But all of you here should understand one thing here..Vehicles tend to be more powerful at night..
Reason is simple..when night falls, air becomes cooler..and as we all know from science lessons, cold air sinks..so when the air become cooler, more air sinks to the ground level..
And we also know internal combustion engines (regardless of petrol or diesel) need air to combust the fuel..and the more air, the better (hence the invention of turbocharger/supercharger)..
So when vehicles travel at night, more cool air goes into the engine..and when more air goes into the engine, it creates a natural kind of turbocharger/supercharger effect..and plus the fact the air is cooler at night, it's even better for diesel engine..a natural "intercooler"!!!
Added: And that's possibly the reason why all of you find buses at night to be more powerful..![]()
how abt LO3x on 168 on the e'way? even more shiok! can overtake carsOriginally posted by chickenlittle2:I agree that the new Scania K230UB tends to vibrate too much for a new bus..
Maybe u can try LO3x on Svc 174 or Svc 97 in the night and you would know how power they are.. Svc 174 travelling along Bukit Timah Rd at night and Svc 97 along AYE at night.. Wow..
but for LO rite, if u wan to turn off the aircon, u must tun off the engine lor. turn off engine liao how to run?Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Errm.. sorry to disturb but I suggest u to take in the night because the traffic in the night are smoother without jam and also lesser passengers along the stops.. I understand ur facts but I dun think it would affect alot.. The greatest different would be BC turning off the lights, air con and TV mobile..
Try 9199 , that bus can chiong !Originally posted by nenepokey:how abt LO3x on 168 on the e'way? even more shiok! can overtake cars
Wow! 'My' LO3X is very powerful!Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Try 9199 , that bus can chiong !