Still I haven't seen anything that picked-up as fast as a NAC 74 WA MKII. That was a one-off incident, but still a very shocking experience.Originally posted by Oceane:ZF gearboxes are tuned to give a high acceleration. Tibs was smart to place ZF gearboxes on Dennis Lance, making it a good chiongster on the roads.
In the past when I often took 852, it always overtook other buses that HAVE ZF gearboxes (O405, Scania Striders) on Lentor Ave.
I agree... MKIIs also have very powerful accelerations. Sadly they are all going soon...Originally posted by SBS3625D:Still I haven't seen anything that picked-up as fast as a NAC 74 WA MKII. That was a one-off incident, but still a very shocking experience.
That bus just opened its guns and hit 60km/h just upon leaving the bus-stop.![]()
Having drive both buses b4 i would say Lance has the advantage over MKII in term of acceleration due to its low profile tyresOriginally posted by SBS3625D:Still I haven't seen anything that picked-up as fast as a NAC 74 WA MKII. That was a one-off incident, but still a very shocking experience.
That bus just opened its guns and hit 60km/h just upon leaving the bus-stop.![]()
I wouldn't deny that.Originally posted by carbikebus:Having drive both buses b4 i would say Lance has the advantage over MKII in term of acceleration due to its low profile tyres
The Lance already very noisy leh.Originally posted by SBS3625D:I wouldn't deny that.
The lance is already quite fast before it's turbo-charger opens up.
Personally I think that the Lance's pick-up speed can be improved further by getting the Lance to lock-up at 1st gear instead.
I only scared more black smoke come out.Originally posted by Oceane:The Lance already very noisy leh.![]()
To lock it's first gear would mean the sound produced very high-pitched (even higher than flooring a MKII) and it would also not be beneficial to the engine as it has to run only on 1st gear.
I only scared engine cannot tahan and have more breakdown.Originally posted by SBS3625D:I only scared more black smoke come out.
There was once TIB1012S got thrashed while on 171. The driver floored the accelerator until the gearbox locks up at first gear.Originally posted by SBS3625D:I wouldn't deny that.
The lance is already quite fast before it's turbo-charger opens up.
Personally I think that the Lance's pick-up speed can be improved further by getting the Lance to lock-up at 1st gear instead.
You don't have to floor the pedal to get the ZF to lock at 1st. Some MKIV BCs get theirs to do it by applying minimal pressure.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:There was once TIB1012S got thrashed while on 171. The driver floored the accelerator until the gearbox locks up at first gear.![]()
IT sounds "Whaaaaaaaaaaa.....aaaaaaaaaaa.....eooooooowwwwww...""![]()
SBST old bus makes no difference in max or min pressure on the acc pedal.Bus pick up mostly lock like shitOriginally posted by SBS3625D:You don't have to floor the pedal to get the ZF to lock at 1st. Some MKIV BCs get theirs to do it by applying minimal pressure.
Really meh??Originally posted by DM3500:while DM3500s have pretty crappy low-speed acceleration (bloody turbo lag) once they hit 30+kmh, the power is phenomenal
what's more, the suspension is quite stable for high speeds, unlike the O405 that bobs around like a sampan in choppy waters
MkIII engine is the same as the Mk2s, so ZF MkIII should be the same as a MkII.Originally posted by SBS3625D:Really meh??
I find that among all the B10Ms, without over-ride the MKIV DM3500 is actually one of the fastest in acceleration. Turbo-lag is actually barely noticeable like the other B10Ms.
With over-ride of course the ZF buses win, except maybe the ZF MKIIIs.
Not exactly.Originally posted by Scania:MkIII engine is the same as the Mk2s, so ZF MkIII should be the same as a MkII.
2811P is one of the fastest on 162. do take note however, that 162 BCs tend to overtake buses.Originally posted by Volvo MK4:for MKII's, try SBS1818C
it was on 27 the other day, and could really speed.
along the buangkok mrt there.. it went scarily fast.. LOL.
as for DM3500's. those with the yellow seats feel like they tightened the speed limiter thing.. cos it isnt as fast as the red seat ones
try SBS2811P (in hope it hasent got the yellow seat treatment yet) on 162.
it out accelerated one of those scania hippo bus at a stoplight..
sitting in those sideway seats was hell
You sure? 162 DM3500s have one of the best acceleration. Buses like 2802R (current AM SP) 2808A 2811P & 2812L (current AM 54) all like chionging.Originally posted by Volvo MK4:for MKII's, try SBS1818C
it was on 27 the other day, and could really speed.
along the buangkok mrt there.. it went scarily fast.. LOL.
as for DM3500's. those with the yellow seats feel like they tightened the speed limiter thing.. cos it isnt as fast as the red seat ones
try SBS2811P (in hope it hasent got the yellow seat treatment yet) on 162.
it out accelerated one of those scania hippo bus at a stoplight..
sitting in those sideway seats was hell
Perspective mah.Originally posted by Oceane:You sure? 162 DM3500s have one of the best acceleration. Buses like 2802R (current AM SP) 2808A 2811P & 2812L (current AM 54) all like chionging.
Even when got occasional O405 cameos they don't go as fast.
I use to take 162 everyday, and everyday the my fixed bus would be 2802R (Always the same)... sometimes got O405 cameo on it's timeslot also not that fast.
I ever took 2754X once only.![]()
Originally posted by SBS3625D:Perspective mah.![]()
Yep... x2 agree.Originally posted by carbikebus:Buses like B10Ms are built for highway uses.Acceleration are damm poor compared to Merc or any other low profile citybuses.The ones with good acceleration are 1 out of 10 which the engine has done some modification.Even my ex 850P acceleration are far lagging than any other merc.Top speed yes its a speed demon on expressways.I've ever whacked it @ 95kmh @ TPE.But in SG pick up speed is essential than top speed