Try taking Lances on a warm day and you'll know.Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Partly the reason. Dennis Lances hardly match up to the O405's in terms of ride comfort. Lances are the lowest ranked buses in AMDEP other than the UD's. But it is more than that. Last time 852 had the best buses of their time (HT238's). The number of buses in 852 now is 10 or less..... and waiting time is sometimes horrible. And it is no secret that during the BPJ takeover, 852 was really planned to be withdrawn but later the decision was reversed.
TIB1163P can confirm AMDEP bcoz back then archive oso got news abt it xfer from AM to WLOriginally posted by Oceane:Just checked... there were initially 9 bendies deployed to 811. They are: 1198, 1220, 1221, 1223, 1237, 1238, 1239, 1240, 1241. 1163 was never perm 811. My apologies for confusing everyone.Just checked my records and confirmed that 1198 was perm 811 for only a brief period of time before it was perm 804. And I can confirm that 1163 was under AMDEP for a short while before it went WL; still remember my brother taking it on 812 to attend a pasar malam at Yishun Central. (I asked him what bus he took, he replied, "New new one. TIB 1163 P."
)
Nissan, if you sit on the right hand side (driver side), at the last 2 rows, got hot air coming from under the seat, blowing onto your legs!Originally posted by Oceane:Try taking Lances on a warm day and you'll know.![]()
Lances are another natural heater, maybe because the horsepower generated is very high. I remember accidentally putting my leg on the engine cover of a UK Lance, TIB 1003 T which went on 812 before (Rigid on 812 always full). Ouch. Hot sia.![]()
i would say 1017 and 1018 were once new new on 855. or at least in my ccase.Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:From what I personally observed:
TIB311K to TIB319P - Svc 167 (perm)
TIB337L to TIB351U - Svc 854 (perm)
TIB353P to TIB361R - Svc 852 (perm)
Nissans TIB362M to TIB377X (except TIB369U, which started as SP) - Svc 854 (perm)
TIB380K to TIB389L - Old svc 950 (perm)
TIB562C - Svc 854 (non perm)
TIB614L to TIB624H - Svc 171 (perm)
TIB725A - Svc 805 (non perm)
TIB754R to TIB756K - Svc 812 (perm)
TIB784D - Svc 804 (perm)
TIB833X to TIB848D (Except TIB838H) - Svc 851 (perm) (mentioned)
TIB838H - Svc 171 (publicised but non perm) (mentioned)
TIB849B - Either Svc 851 or Svc 812 (non perm)
TIB850X, TIB851T, TIB852R, TIB854K - Svc 851 (perm)
TIB973A, TIB974Y - Svc 67 (perm)
TIB975U, TIB976S - Svc 67 (non perm) (disputed/debated)
TIB977P, TIB978L - Svc 67 (perm)
TIB995L, TIB996J - Svc 854 (perm)
TIB1002X - Svc 854 (non perm)
TIB1017D, TIB1018B - Svc 853 (perm for a while before moving to 851)
TIB1025E - Svc 190 (perm for a while)
TIB1257C - Svc 852?? (non perm)
Some other firsts:
Svc 167 was first TIBS service to have aircon buses, followed by svc 850 and then svc 852. However there had only 2 AC buses. First FAC TIBS service was the old 950, followed by 951 and 952. First PAC service (at least for Yishun) was Svc 854, followed by Svc 851. However Svc 851 was the first service in Yishun to receive perm bendies (171 only had TIB838H for a small while). Svc 854 received bendies only after Svc 851 did. First FAC service in Yishun was service 855. The rest of the non-FAC TIB services (by now all PAC) gradually and quietly transited to FAC status after the last of NAC TIBS buses were either scrapped or converted to CAC.
Statements above open to debate and/or corrections.
I only remember 0849 was perm 812 for a long time before it got transferred to WLDEP.Originally posted by ZYX2005:i would say 1017 and 1018 were once new new on 855. or at least in my ccase.
this uh
977 and 978 new new on 67 i not so sure bout that.
i can confirm 849 to 854 all were new to 851
ZYX
i have 425 on 952 new new here?!Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Wow really an old thread...
Hmm back then I stated that both 425 and 426 served on 854... today I only remember 426 on 854, not sure about 425. I suppose memories back then are much fresher.
TIB1201M started off with service 980 when Tibs gave service 980 a bendy perm in Dec 2001Originally posted by Oceane:Just checked... there were initially 9 bendies deployed to 811. They are: 1198, 1220, 1221, 1223, 1237, 1238, 1239, 1240, 1241. 1163 was never perm 811. My apologies for confusing everyone.Just checked my records and confirmed that 1198 was perm 811 for only a brief period of time before it was perm 804. And I can confirm that 1163 was under AMDEP for a short while before it went WL; still remember my brother taking it on 812 to attend a pasar malam at Yishun Central. (I asked him what bus he took, he replied, "New new one. TIB 1163 P."
)
And I shall repeat again... 1220, 1237, 1238 and 1241 all left 811 after 1205 came in. All other slots were replaced by rigids.
It's interesting to note that 2 bendies, 1174 and 1201 were initially given to 980, but soon 1174 was given to 804, while 1201 was given to 851. It was only later that TIB 1201 M was given to 806.
If I am not mistaken, I think TIB425R-TIB427K were also perm on the old service 952.Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Wow really an old thread...
Hmm back then I stated that both 425 and 426 served on 854... today I only remember 426 on 854, not sure about 425. I suppose memories back then are much fresher.
Yup...service 851 was indeed one of the Tibs bus services in Yishun where brand new buses were first introduced (except for the fact that service 854 was the first PAC whereas service 855 was the first FAC).Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:From what I personally observed:
Some other firsts:
Svc 167 was first TIBS service to have aircon buses, followed by svc 850 and then svc 852. However there had only 2 AC buses. First FAC TIBS service was the old 950, followed by 951 and 952. First PAC service (at least for Yishun) was Svc 854, followed by Svc 851. However Svc 851 was the first service in Yishun to receive perm bendies (171 only had TIB838H for a small while). Svc 854 received bendies only after Svc 851 did. First FAC service in Yishun was service 855. The rest of the non-FAC TIB services (by now all PAC) gradually and quietly transited to FAC status after the last of NAC TIBS buses were either scrapped or converted to CAC.
Statements above open to debate and/or corrections.
yeah....Originally posted by TIB1049L:You could blame 950 and WLDEP for svc. 178. Although they are short of buses they could make frequent cameos of Scania on 178. The feeders are so blessed (except for 911, polluted with JB merz) with loads of bendies.
and one thing. The pic in page 101 in Dennis Chan's handbook showing the Merz OF1417 (Hawke Body, rego SBS1518T) is when the bus was new? If it is can confirm perm 90 de
Me too, simply luved 2 take long distance joyrides on those brand new Mercedes aircon buses on sv 167/855 when convert partially aircon in 1995, especially those brand new smells on board the new buses. Furthermore side EDS displayed "Welcome Abroad, Trans-Island, Green Bus". And always skipped those creppy old non air-con Nissan buses on sv 167Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:I dun take 811 or go near its route often... but yep I dont remember it being perm on other routes too. Perhaps except for 859, but that is because 859 sucked quite a few collective Habits from 811.
Yep 4 years on, buses are 4 years older. I remember joyriding on the U31RCN's on 854 with my mate when they were first launched close to 15 years ago, taking 154 from Ngee Ann Poly after lectures to Eunos and waiting for one to bring us back to Yishun. And skipping the NAC HT238's in betweenNow the RCN's are almost on the verge of being scrapped... how time flies. 5 more years from now and the first TIBS O405's are going to be due for scrap too.
I deliberately went to Yishun to board TIB 892 A.Originally posted by TIB1018B:Service 859 also had a bendy on trial (TIB892A) in Dec 1999. Subsequently when the Habits came in during 2000, services 800, 806, 812, 851, 854, 856 and 859 started to have perm Habits.
ok imagine how shock i am when i see UD with voiths? i din know that. any other TIBS buses long gone with voiths?Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Other firsts as I can think of them (going a bit off topic?):
First full body ad TIBS bus - TIB300S (Singapore Crocodilarium), immediately after the authorities relaxed the rules, saying that even non-double deck buses can have full body ads.
PH1529D, PH1530Z - Svc 825 (first TIBS minibuses also)
TIB335S, TIB336P - First voith gearboxed TIBS buses
CSS267L, CSS268J, CSS269G - CSS Svc 8
ok i din know 508 and 509 were nw to 167. i had them under 82 all this while.Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Yah, 496K to 509H was first perm on 167. Then many or all kena pulled away to Svc 82/860/864/865, replaced by Scania Striders. A downgrade really.
i've got 770 and 771 both on 803. new new?Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Service 803:
First Perms -
TIB45D
TIB46B
Later joined by TIB42L (from svc 802).
Later RK176 perm replacements included TIB37C, TIB39Y and TIB41P. TIB45D and TIB46B went on to other trunk services.
37, 39, 41 and 42 could only serve in Yishun feeder services because they lacked the ticket printing machine. It is only after they acquired the Sanyo S-Light farecard system could these buses do trunk services. And even then, they rarely ventured out from service 803, if at all.
37 later did service 805 together with TIB34K and TIB36E. I can't remember if 34 and 36 had the ticket printing machine. Maybe they lacked the machine as well.
Svc 803's first non-RK176 perms (after a long and agonising wait) -
TIB325X
TIB326T
TIB327R
Svc 803's first O405 (NAC) perms -
TIB725A
TIB726Y
TIB727U
Svc 803's last perms (NAC) before merging with Svc 802:
TIB754R
TIB755M
TIB756K
715 never did 10.Originally posted by tintinspartan:TIB1175E: First Perm on 913, then shipped out to KJDEP
TIB1024H: First Perm on 187 and then moved to 913 (WLDEP)
TIB1067: First Perm on 913 (Still perm today)
TIB1069: First Perm on 913 (Still perm today)
SBS9849: First Perm on 168
SBS9848: First Perm on 168
SBS9847: First Perm on 168
SBS9846: First Perm on 168
SBS9845: First Perm on 161
SBS9844: First Perm on 161
SBS9843: First Perm on 161
SBS9842: First Perm on 161
TIB1248: First Perm on 178
TIB1249: First Perm on 178
TIB1250: First Perm on 178
TIB1251: Frist Perm on 178
TIB1252: First Perm on 178
TIB1253: First Perm on 178
TIB1254: First Perm on 187
SBS715Y: First Perm on 10
Originally posted by vivienlee:Hi all,
Since we had a thread of 1st bus deployment, I oso interested on the Trans-Island svcs of which were converted to PAC n which bus models were 1st used upon conversion. Also adding on those SBSTIBS handover in 1995, which buses were used.
Eg .
Sv 75handover to Tibs in 1995, used NAC Nissan SCN + new Mercedes buses
Sv 167converted to PAC in July 1995, used new Mercedes buses
Sv 182converted to PAC in Nov 1995, used Hispano DAFs + CAC Nissan SCNs
Any more??
yeah well as reflected in my list .Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:Volvo MK2 first deployments.
SBS1696L to SBS1730X:
SV 174
SBS1731T to SBS1740S:
SV 84 (HG-WTC)
SBS1741P to SBS1760J:
SV 9
SBS1761G:
SV 84 (HG-WTC)
SBS1762D:
SV 9
SBS1763B & SBS1764Z:
SV 84 (HG-WTC)
SBS1765X & SBS1766T:
SV 9
SBS1767R to SBS1770E:
SV 390
SBS1771C to SBS1780B:
SV 90 (Old)
SBS1781Z to SBS1784R:
SV 390
SBS1785M to SBS1790Y:
SV 83 (Old)
SBS1791U to SBS1794L:
SV 390
SBS1795J to SBS1800C:
SV 83 (Old)
SBS1801A to SBS1810Z:
SV 189
SBS1811X:
SV 84 (HG-WTC)
SBS1812T to SBS1817E:
SV 83 (Old)
SBS1818C to SBS1829X:
SV 82 (PGL-SHENTON WAY)
SBS1830R:
SV 9
SBS1831M to SBS1840L:
SV 190
SBS1841J & SBS1842G:
SV 82
SBS1843D to SBS1850H:
SV 62
SBS1851E to SBS1857P:
SV 190
SBS1858L to SBS1860D:
SV 105
SBS1861B to SBS1869E:
SV 33
SBS1870A:
SV 9
SBS1871Y to SBS1880X:
SV 105
SBS1881T to SBS1884K:
SV 33
SBS1885H to SBS1888A:
SV 9
SBS1889Y & SBS1890S:
SV 390
SBS1891P to SBS1895D:
SV 75
that is mighty correct i ConcurOriginally posted by Oceane:Just found something.
The reason why TIB 1019 Z, TIB 1020 T, TIB 1021 R, TIB 1022 M and TIB 1023 K were registered around the same time as the ZF bendies (more precisely, those after 1100) was because these 5 regos were originally planned for 5 more UK Lances but Tibs decided to register them as private-plated buses, this leaving these 5 gaps. These gaps were only closed when Tibs registered the bendies after 1100.
ah yes an intruiging oneOriginally posted by vivienlee:Sv 169 when convert PAC in 1995 got TIB451P-TIB456B, TIB536D-TIB539X. New Scanias were on sv 169 too - TIB640K-TIB645Y, TIB839E-TIB842U.
Sv 167 when convert PAC got TIB496K-TIB510C. After which TIB798P, TIB799L, TIB808U-TIB810L, TIB821E-TIB822C also went in sv 167.
Sv 855 got TIB575R-TIB582U when convert PAC.
Sv 163 when handover to Tibs got TIB651D-TIB656R, TIB670Z.
Still remember the WA DAFs on sv 160 when introduced in 1996, always enjoyed riding on such buses along Upp Thomson during those days - TIB692K, TIB693H etc. In 1998 DAFs were withdrawn n replaced by Scanias instead.![]()
I think its taken from your list -_-Originally posted by ZYX2005:yeah well as reflected in my list .
Originally posted by service_238:I think its taken from your list -_-
Originally posted by Oceane:![]()