Not only that, Eastern District areas contain more elderly (like those around Geylang to Bedok) as well as Toa Payoh. Western District mostly for the working class. Like Tuas Industrial Park. The main difference is that the working class don't tend to be so kiasu; got bus they take. Eastern side people like very kiasu, sit bus must sit good one. Got any minor problem straight-away complain.Originally posted by Scania:Cos of the simple logic that if a bus serves more populated areas, it will get seen more, not surpising for Central, North Eastern and Eastern buses to be "featured" in STOMP more often than Western buses cos almost 2/3s population live East of the central water catchment area, and difference is that the 3 depots (amdep, hgdep and bndep) in the East serves many similar regions, and they only have a few services to the west.
You say people prejudiced against slbp, I must tell you, its not prejudice, but by observation, if slbp can do its job well, why should I or anyone else have any prejudice against it?
Bus serves more populated areas? MRT are the preferred choice nowadays. Western sides had more factories, schools and etc. There are more people going to the West Everyday. I dun think the people taking buses would be less but even more. Look at Boon Lay interchange for example. More students plus working adults why would have less complain?Originally posted by Scania:Cos of the simple logic that if a bus serves more populated areas, it will get seen more, not surpising for Central, North Eastern and Eastern buses to be "featured" in STOMP more often than Western buses cos almost 2/3s population live East of the central water catchment area, and difference is that the 3 depots (amdep, hgdep and bndep) in the East serves many similar regions, and they only have a few services to the west.
You say people prejudiced against slbp, I must tell you, its not prejudice, but by observation, if slbp can do its job well, why should I or anyone else have any prejudice against it?
Originally posted by Oceane:Are you talking the opposite? You mean working adults dun complain but those people who complain are those youngsters? Working adults complain immediately when the bus arrive 10 mins later on their usual schedule.
Not only that, Eastern District areas contain more elderly (like those around Geylang to Bedok) as well as Toa Payoh. Western District mostly for the working class. Like Tuas Industrial Park. The main difference is that the [b]working class don't tend to be so kiasu; got bus they take. Eastern side people like very kiasu, sit bus must sit good one. Got any minor problem straight-away complain.[/b]
Western side more schools my foot.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Bus serves more populated areas? MRT are the preferred choice nowadays. Western sides had more factories, schools and etc. There are more people going to the West Everyday. I dun think the people taking buses would be less but even more. Look at Boon Lay interchange for example. More students plus working adults why would have less complain?
If we are talking about SBST district. Some people would know that actually HG belongs to the West District.
It is always the same people talking about the same things. I dun think most of the people here stay in the west. It is obvious that more people would speak well of it own district.
In conclusion, BBDEP & SLBP are doing up their bus but for them technical parts are more important than refurbishing. Refurbishing can take time to do so.
Originally posted by Scania:How many Uni in the west? How many poly in the west? How many prestige schools in the west? Calcuate urself lor. MRT are preferred nowadays! Take to the west and change to bus service?
[b]Western side more schools my foot.
Make up your mind, MRT or bus preferred? First you say MRT preferred, then you say more people taking bus.
Although hgdep belongs to West district, it still operates like before the whole restructuring started, with training facilities and buses from both it self and amdep. Also, it still regularly exchanges buses with amdep and bndep. And the maintenance is not like the shoddy maintenance found in the west, but more like the better maintenance found in the east.
Even those non-cosmetic maintenance, besides cost efficency, I must say that slbp seem to be at the bottom, bbdep seems to be doing a better job.[/b]
So? prestige school doesn't mean more students, In fact many take car one. The fact that the East has 2/3s of the population means that they have to rely on mainly buses from the Eastern depots. Note, I dint say better maintenace found in just the East district, but in the Eastern depots (amdep, hgdep and bndep).Originally posted by chickenlittle2:How many Uni in the west? How many poly in the west? How many prestige schools in the west? Calcuate urself lor. MRT are preferred nowadays! Take to the west and change to bus service?
I think u cannot compare the exchange of buses like that. Like that HGDEP also transfer buses to BBDEP or vice-versa wat. The SLBP OOC controls HGDEP buses leh.
Better Maintenance found in the East District? AMDEP is good in refurish the interior but not really good for the technical parts like I mentioned earlier. BNDEP I think dun need to say much ba. The interior are ok but I saw how their B9TL exterior makes me quite sad and technical wise is OMG one.
I don't agree with you saying LO3X is better maintained under slbp. I don't side amdep but their buses are generally well maintained and performs better. SBS9199C is one of the good LOs under amdep. S197 LOs not very good, and another one I took 9080K wasn't up to my satisfaction when running on ECP.Originally posted by Oceane:I don't really want to join in this argument but there is something I wish to point out:
Generally, IMO, SLBP is better off maintaining their LO3x. AMDEP is outperforming in maintaining O405. SLBP O405s (In particular, Sv 52 buses) have irritating squeaky doors which means it lacks oiling. In contrast, AMDEP O405s have smooth doors that don't squeak. This is just talking from my experience of taking 52 everyday.
I know that slbp also does the refurbishing job, no doubt.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Like I say the refurbish and maintainance job are now carrying on SLBP mercz. SLBP had refurbish quite a no of new aircon ducts for their LO3x. Seats cover are replaced. Steering wheels wise, some buses had been improved!
Nowadays the maintainance are quite standard, this depot do wat another would also do it the same.
East district leader better than West district? Did you know one of ur fav depot is under West District ?
I was trying to satisfy chickenlittle2 for once...Originally posted by sbs&tibs:I don't agree with you saying LO3X is better maintained under slbp. I don't side amdep but their buses are generally well maintained and performs better. SBS9199C is one of the good LOs under amdep. S197 LOs not very good, and another one I took 9080K wasn't up to my satisfaction when running on ECP.![]()
So it seems no one can be anti-AMDEP and only can be anti-SLBP?Originally posted by sbs&tibs:Are you against amdep buses and maintenance? Many buses such as the LOs and Mercz, and also inludes bndep and hgdep buses still go to amdep for maintenance or even refurbish, I've seen SBS9012H (ex-SL 143) SBS9819Y (BN SP) and SBS546T (ex-HG 100) parking inside amdep with my own eyes, and there's also some others spotted inside (can't see rego).
I don't think it's the matter of anti-depot. Each depot has its own specialities, but when someone uses SLBP as a defensive line and shoots at AMDEP or BRBP with just in particular, 2 models of buses which both depots have and then starts talking without real proof.Originally posted by stooper:So it seems no one can be anti-AMDEP and only can be anti-SLBP?
I've seen many times BBDEP MK3s and Darts in SLBP too.
Like I said in earlier posts, SLBP is taking in step by step. Now they are repainting many of the LO3x. Next up for repainting might be the O405s.Originally posted by Oceane:Like I said, if want argue start from cleaniness. Then we shall see which is more efficient.Though I don't agree that SLBP is slacking, but there are certain ways in which it has to improve. One way is repainting of O405s and another is cleaniness.
It is more of maintainance than anti-this or anti-thatOriginally posted by stooper:So it seems no one can be anti-AMDEP and only can be anti-SLBP?
I've seen many times BBDEP MK3s and Darts in SLBP too.
BBDEP is a bit better off than SLBP in terms of exterior look and cleaniness I think. Anyway if you ask me, this is my order of depots in terms of cleaniness:Originally posted by stooper:Like I said in earlier posts, SLBP is taking in step by step. Now they are repainting many of the LO3x. Next up for repainting might be the O405s.
IMHO, BB has much worse cleanliness. Especially you sit on the upper deck. The A/C equipment mounted on the floor at the 2nd last row of the upper deck is full of dust on almost every bus I sit.
Originally posted by Scania:Hello hello.. I said not only prestige schools but only see how many Uni & Polys in the West? Only one poly is along the MRT track but most of them required them to change over to another bus(In the West) after taking train. That means that everyday there would be people coming from the North/South and even the East to the west side. So the West side is like a gathering place everyday. Besides that, include the Working adults in Tuas.
[b]So? prestige school doesn't mean more students, In fact many take car one. The fact that the East has 2/3s of the population means that they have to rely on mainly buses from the Eastern depots. Note, I dint say better maintenace found in just the East district, but in the Eastern depots (amdep, hgdep and bndep).
Technical parts wise, amdep is better than slbp. So what slbp OCC handles hgdep, we talking maintenance here, you talking operations...really you need to direct Chicken law clause no. 5 "Come straight to the point, be straightfoward" or something like that (only you would know) to yourself. I can say, at least bndep and bbdep maintains their buses better than slbp, I must say, after being served by TIBS and the Eastern depots and bbdep for so long, I'm a little bit unused to slbp's cost-efficient maintenance.[/b]
Originally posted by Oceane:U nv take LO3x enough lor.. U can take SLBP LO3x like SBS 9105Z on svc 97 or SBS 9131Y on svc 179 or SBS 9038J on Svc 174 or SBS 9072J on Svc 154. Listen to the deep roaring of LO3x, then u know who is good.
I was trying to satisfy chickenlittle2 for once...![]()
OK anyway, we all know the difference between SLBP and AM/BR. I heard alot of BRBP LO3x chiong very well. 9007Z is one of them.
[b]Ayam, if you want to compare AM/BR and SLBP, the first thing you should do is talk about cleaniness. I believe it's very clear which has a clearer stand in terms of cleaniness. Just see how luxurious 0410B is living now after it got transferred.[/b]
Had a great laughter when I see this. U should put SLBP as the hopeless depot lor. Like that right, SLBP should close down but dunno why it is still the No1.Originally posted by Oceane:BBDEP is a bit better off than SLBP in terms of exterior look and cleaniness I think. Anyway if you ask me, this is my order of depots in terms of cleaniness:
(Worst performing to Best performing)
SLBP
BBDEP
BNDEP
ARBP
HGDEP
AMDEP
BRBP
If you say poly, East side also got 2, also same situation, one near MRT, one need transfer bus. Or maybe you forget that there is Nanyang Poly and Temasek Poly in the East.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Hello hello.. I said not only prestige schools but only see how many Uni & Polys in the West? Only one poly is along the MRT track but most of them required them to change over to another bus(In the West) after taking train. That means that everyday there would be people coming from the North/South and even the East to the west side. So the West side is like a gathering place everyday. Besides that, include the Working adults in Tuas.
Like I say lor.. If you are talking about HGDEP, it is still the fact that it is under the West District. Stop thinking of it being the East district/depot.
AMDEP had better technical parts? My foot. You would see so many buses having the suspension problem going around Singapore mostly from AMDEP. AMDEP is good in refurbish interior job but technical parts need to buck up. Just few days ago, one of my fav bus SBS3834S also gotta the same problem regarding the suspension problem. I am speaking about the OOC because indirectly SLBP become the boss for the West district. BNDEP better BBDEP? BBDEP wheels come off quite often or BNDEP? SLBP refurbish part of the bus that are needed not the whole bus. The flooring is not cheap ok.
Wa lau eh. 2 poly Vs 2poly + 2 Uni + so many prestige Sec, High Sch + Industrial parks. U calculate urself lor.Originally posted by Scania:If you say poly, East side also got 2, also same situation, one near MRT, one need transfer bus. Or maybe you forget that there is Nanyang Poly and Temasek Poly in the East.
Flooring not cheap I know, but every depot does reflooring, never take before bbdep and bndep Mk2s and Mk3s with new flooring meh? Or never went so East such that you don't see them?
The difference between hgdep, amdep and slbp is that hgdep's and amdep's maintenance are much better than slbp's. slbp Merc and LO3x interior and exterior any how patch using metal, worst still look at 9038J and 9058B.....instead of getting proper fronts....got a metal interior for the front. As I said, you just need to hear between an amdep Merc and a slbp Merc, the usual amdep Merc would sound better than a usual slbp Merc, without tank sounds and cranking sounds. As if slbp don't have suspension problems, Merc, Mk4 DM3500 also see before suspension problems, just that you dint see before, every depot has suspension problems, hgdep, bbdep, bndep also got their fair share of suspension problems, or maybe never travel around, depend on buses going to Boon Lay and those featured on stomp.
What happened to your lau?Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Wa lau eh.
I beg to differ. Some friends on my thought the refurbished Gen 1 trains were new. He is from TKSS.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I found that Singaporean are like that, for us new bus means good and clean bus. Those buses they seen for so many years, regardless how you refurbish they still think that it is old.
No offence, but I feel that I need to highligh your points.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:1. Wa lau eh. 2 poly Vs 2poly + 2 Uni + so many prestige Sec, High Sch + Industrial parks. U calculate urself lor.
2. Replace flooring a small parts and not waste money doing the whole bus when other parts are ok. Like I say SLBP are doing a whole refurbish like AMDEP for their mercz but still progressing. Some that are done like SBS 282D, SBS 190K, SBS 101T. Btw, SBS are not gaining profits leh, so they gotta cut cost. Refurbish so many times would cost a lor of money.
3. Regarding the flooring for the 2 buses above. If I am nt wrong, SBS 9038J had done a reflooring. LO3x are under refurbish ma. The metal pieces are just temporary. As if u nv see BRBP LO3x have this before, I seen it quite a few times.
4. Compare the no of time SLBP having such suspension problem and more importantly they are rectified immediately.
5. I found that Singaporean are like that, for us new bus means good and clean bus. Those buses they seen for so many years, regardless how you refurbish they still think that it is old.