Originally posted by bus555:One bus added to morning fleet for service 190 route. Not enough, says STOMPer
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=16074
Bus crashes into traffic light at Lentor Ave
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=16064
A Mb0405 Hispano...
"Bus driver saw me flagging, sped past me and waited... for one second!"
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=16055
Notice something about the Stomper post? ''The bus service number was 855 and the licence plate was 1503H.'' Huh? is there a TIb1503H meh?
And all are from SMRT lol...
wa...their camera so lousy, then their eyes oso got problem one hor?
Originally posted by sbst_no_162:Topless man blocks bus at Upper Paya Lebar
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=16053
what's the rego ? is it 7385 [HG 51] ?
Originally posted by nenepokey:the tallest BC in 961(WLDEP side). once got around 3 buses at the bus bay, after the passengers alighted, he just turned out of the queue and drive off. my friend, anyway...he told me that he always speeds as fast as he can so as to avoid jams around Bt Timah/Farrer area. coz if jam, he will b late.
Not really agree with what the BC does. Firstly, BC speeds, not only is he putting his life at risk, it includes that of passengers... should innocent passengers be dragged into accidents just because BC wants to be on time?
Secondly, no matter how late he is, BC still must pick up passengers. Unless he contacts OCC and OCC allows him to go into Alighting only mode.
Well... maybe he is just one of the black sheep in SMRT community...
Just to share my experience, there was once I was taking SBS 373A from Bishan to school. 2 things I noticed...
1) BC speeds very fast, keeps almost missing stops (E-brake)
2) This happened when I was about to alight. I pressed the alighting button one street before but the BC may have overlooked it or what... was about to continue to speed past my stop when he realised I and another passenger wanted to alight. Applied E-brake, many passengers almost fell.
Sometimes I really wonder if Service 52 BCs have very tight schedules... because every bus I take the BC is bound to chiong (very fast).
Well... like I said, this BC I encounter is probably just a black sheep.
Originally posted by Oceane:Just to share my experience, there was once I was taking SBS 373A from Bishan to school. 2 things I noticed...
2) This happened when I was about to alight. I pressed the alighting button one street before but the BC may have overlooked it or what... was about to continue to speed past my stop when he realised I and another passenger wanted to alight. Applied E-brake, many passengers almost fell.Sometimes I really wonder if Service 52 BCs have very tight schedules... because every bus I take the BC is bound to chiong (very fast).
Schedule tight lor.. Imagine the jam at PIE turning into Lornie Rd. Sometimes Svc 157 even catch up at Lornie Rd.
Originally posted by Oceane:Just to share my experience, there was once I was taking SBS 373A from Bishan to school. 2 things I noticed...
2) This happened when I was about to alight. I pressed the alighting button one street before but the BC may have overlooked it or what... was about to continue to speed past my stop when he realised I and another passenger wanted to alight. Applied E-brake, many passengers almost fell.Sometimes I really wonder if Service 52 BCs have very tight schedules... because every bus I take the BC is bound to chiong (very fast).
That's true. The schedule of svc 52 is tight..During the morning hours bout 7.20am, there are no svc 52 buses in the parking bay..
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Either TIB1139K (187) or TIB1213D (172/180) burnt inside BNL Int today. NEA Ad.
its TIB1063U on 187 (WL 960)
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:its TIB1063U on 187 (WL 960)
Posted on STOMP:
Bus at Boon Lay interchange catches fire
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=16412
Good luck to another ZF Bendy...
Join the Voith Gang! Never burn, never say die...
I would say that this may be another case of bus captains not monitoring the water levels or not checking their buses properly all together... It may also be a design problem with certain batches, but not to forget that actually all bendies do suffer from problems such as 'thirsty' (consuming water tanks everyday to cool the engine) or fuel line leak (happened to 1224Y twice last year), in which the second one would demand a immediate return to the depot. I would say that it was observance that saved the buses that had the problem.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:its TIB1063U on 187 (WL 960)
What interests me most is that Shin Min Daily News reported that 1063U had just completed its round of SERVICE 172 and was going to park at the lots. Service 172 is KJDEP controlled leh...
@tamago: Yeah, 1224Y got hit 110 degrees for the dial with the cog (same as SGF's) and that I guess is for the gearbox. Water temperature can hit 90 degrees, but once it reaches 100 the bus will no longer move. But the occurance of fire seems to be isolated to ZF Bendies so far. I would consider the bus captain (name not release for privacy) of service 189 who is perm 1224Y professional and responsible as he does a walk around check everytime after he tapped his card at the office. For example, arrive into Interchange, off load passengers, drive to parking, get off and tap card, come back and walk round the bus once, especially stopping at the engine compartment area. Once I saw him opening the cover and closing again. This is what responsibility is I believe.
@Oceane: Yeah the reports must be quite mixed up. We cannot be sure of the service but that parking slot can be used by all SMRT services.
New Paper: "A bus at Boon Lay Interchange caught fire yesterday morning. Its driver was apparently unaware till a fellow driver had horned, reported Shin Min Daily News. A stall owner at the interchange said the bus had dropped off its passengers and was heading to the parking bay. A series of explosions followed, before fire spouted from the rear engine. The fire was later put out by Civil Defence officers. No one was hurt."
There can be just so many places in an engine which can explode...
Originally posted by Oceane:What interests me most is that Shin Min Daily News reported that 1063U had just completed its round of SERVICE 172 and was going to park at the lots. Service 172 is KJDEP controlled leh...
Bus on fire at Boon Lay Interchange
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=16439
Originally posted by QX179R:Bus on fire at Boon Lay Interchange
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=16439
Quoted from STOMP:
SBS1909Z on 107, tyre/tire burst~

tire burst. lol.. i havent seen this stuff in a loooooooong while now. not since SBS212G on 159 last time had a flat when it was almost reaching sengkang int.. hehe.
so how was it? got loud explosion nots? cos the tire looks ripped at some part..
from wad i understand from one of a smrt service controller, ya e bus tat caught fire was TIB 1063U of 187. e driver claimed that no warning buzzer or light on the dashboard to alert him of e blaze.
Originally posted by Y_Shun:SBS1909Z on 107, tyre/tire burst~
Tire sidewall failure. Usually due to unnoticed cuts/cracks to sidewall of tire.
Originally posted by -beehoon:from wad i understand from one of a smrt service controller, ya e bus tat caught fire was TIB 1063U of 187. e driver claimed that no warning buzzer or light on the dashboard to alert him of e blaze.
That is most likely because of the fact that it is a ZF...
Voith bendies have a 'Fire' light and a test switch for the circuit for discharge of gases/suppresive, ZF I guess the function is not avaliable...
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:
That is most likely because of the fact that it is a ZF...
Voith bendies have a 'Fire' light and a test switch for the circuit for discharge of gases/suppresive, ZF I guess the function is not avaliable...
Can't say that actually. There are so many buses with ZF gearboxes, but why must Habits catch fire? And. Theres also the MK2 and 2nd Batch Habits that have yet to catch fire.
Even if the bus is a Voith, a BC who doesnt checks water levels will still catch fire. There are also cases of Voith-ed buses catching fire in SG. Examples are Scania N113CRBs.
SBS9243H [BN 197] broke down at bus-stop before CTE flyover towards Jurong East. SBST tow truck was seen at 0740 hrs.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Can't say that actually. There are so many buses with ZF gearboxes, but why must Habits catch fire? And. Theres also the MK2 and 2nd Batch Habits that have yet to catch fire.
Even if the bus is a Voith, a BC who doesnt checks water levels will still catch fire. There are also cases of Voith-ed buses catching fire in SG. Examples are Scania N113CRBs.
Here we have to go in to the fact that there are some batch 1 ZF Habits which does not have intercoolers like some suggested. I have not seen the engine personally so there is no proof whether which has intercooler or not.
But even with intercooler it does not mean the engine would not catch fire also, and once again, the CRBs are to proof also...