Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Take
SBS 3904Z in Svc 185, when the bus accelerates it has the whistle sound. Does it mean it is on with voith gearbox?
To me the sound is like 'eeeeeeeeeeeee *change gear* eeeeeeeeeeeee' loh...Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Take
SBS 3904Z in Svc 185, when the bus accelerates it has the whistle sound. Does it mean it is on with voith gearbox?
Originally posted by MS:Because from what I read, many are not even sure what are you talking about.
which includes you.. hahaOriginally posted by chickenlittle2:Agree..
So wat is the cos of the whistle? is it because of the gearbox?Originally posted by SBS8043A:hey ayam...u tink only voith whistle huh? didnt u notice whistling sound tend 2 occur on sl mercz n other buses under sl? sigh...
I nv say any spec about the gearbox leh.Originally posted by 566117:which includes you.. haha![]()
Tiptronic systems is old old technology to the ZF transmission.Originally posted by ceecookie:ZF still haven't integrated Porsche's Tiptronic® into their bus transmissions![]()
Flamebait.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Take
Not flame bait la.. I am just asking qns whether it is on voith gearbox.. But today I take like dun hav the sound liao.Originally posted by ^tamago^:Flamebait.![]()
You think any buses that whistles is Voith equipped?Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Not flame bait la.. I am just asking qns whether it is on voith gearbox.. But today I take like dun hav the sound liao.
one very good example of a ZF whistle: TIB642E. unfortunately tio accident. dunno will lay-up or not...Originally posted by SBS8043A:hey ayam...u tink only voith whistle huh? didnt u notice whistling sound tend 2 occur on sl mercz n other buses under sl? sigh...
Almost all of the ARBP Sv5 Striders.. (except SBS1916C & SBS2595M)Originally posted by nenepokey:one very good example of a ZF whistle: TIB642E. unfortunately tio accident. dunno will lay-up or not...
Thst's why I ask that guy whether all buses that whistle are on ZF gearbox.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:You think any buses that whistles is Voith equipped?Wake up your mind .
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Thst's why I ask that guy whether all buses that whistle are on ZF gearbox.
First of all, SLBP O405s don't have Voith gearboxes. Either W3E or ZF. Voith gearbox buses exists in only AM/BR buses.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Thst's why I ask that guy whether all buses that whistle are on ZF gearbox.
agree. not all whistles r Voith whistles.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:You think any buses that whistles is Voith equipped?Wake up your mind .
I've taken a Scania that has police sirens sound . At first i thot a police car is following us.Originally posted by ZYX2005:topic; I love ZF cat calls
yes sir. i love Zf ccatcalls.
however in Singapore only one bus model produce this unique sound.
the Scannia k230UB. this translates to me liking the k230Ubs.
the cat call will only happen once the bus manages to shift all the way to 6.
i'm not to sure how k230Ub shifts bitbut da it will do the following (in my opinion)
dot dot dot
- the first time i heard it i thought got stray kitten on bus.
note: some scanias do not display the above charcteristic because
1) : Radiator too loud.
2) the ZF whistle is obscuring the background engine noise. like 8080. i am so weak i cant detect any gear shifts at this point aas the whsitle pitches differently from engine pitch.
3) the Zf whistle turns into a police car siren wailing and u get distracted by the police siren noise and ignore the rest of sounds. (SBS8067)
hope u guys enjoy catcalls and Zf6speed gearboxes like i do
ZYX
I just merely ask qns wat..Originally posted by ^tamago^:![]()
off-topic again.ppl merely commented that "voith got nice whistle". u must be so wise that nobody understands u.
i really dunno wat u've been doing being a member for the past 2 yrs.
Finally we got one kind soul here who give a good explanation.Originally posted by ZYX2005:agree. not all whistles r Voith whistles.
BUT
u can identify voith whistle. sit more voith bus and hear the whistle pitching. then can match with other bus. aalso voith whsitle only happens once bus engage retarder sequence.
voith whhsitle generay will only happen if bus is ravelling real fast and the driver jam brakes or slow down from speed of over 45km/h. steady sllowing down do not produce voith whsitles most of the time.
ZYX
SBS 484M is the only SLBP bus with the ZF gearbox.Originally posted by Oceane:First of all, SLBP O405s don't have Voith gearboxes. Either W3E or ZF. Voith gearbox buses exists in only AM/BR buses.![]()
Voith don't "eeeee" all the way actually . Only when stopping . Or idling .Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Finally we got one kind soul here who give a good explanation.
Btw, that day I took SBS 3904Z on svc 185 the "eeee" sound come like that.. When the bus accelerates, the engine goes "eeeeee" all the way until it stop.