unless the system adopts a rule that it is not considered a transfer if consecutive trips are made using the same bus service.Originally posted by stituss:Just a comment. The new fare system is distance-based, not displacement-based. As such, I would think if you start from A, then go to B, and come back to A again, you'll be charged the fare equivalent to the distance of A->B->A, i.e. 2x the distance between A and B, not nil fare as what was suggested.
sv190 route is a nice moneytree service..Originally posted by sbs&tibs:I like the idea of route bidding, London style. But I prefer HK style, where 2 companies run the same service, which I call it direct competition, but there aren't many cross territory routes, that's the sian thing. If S190 receives such as treatment from both SBST and SMRT, shiok. Lolx.
SBS1710D (Best MKII award winner)
Individual offices if they have operations?Originally posted by simnatic:I know that. Im not asking who will own the interchange. I'm merely asking how will the operations be like in the future when there would be many operators everywhere.
Originally posted by azharjj:Why the ministry did not want to consider in merging SMRT buses & SBST together instead of opening up new players ????
Maybe TransitLink could be reorganised such that they take over all the public transport resources then farm them out.Originally posted by SBS8043A:merge = no competition = boring...
fair means u pay nothing. nothing in life i free. but apparently with the displacement fare system, that may happen.Originally posted by XiaoTaro:I dont see a reason why a passenger can be charged 0.00. and definitely that contradicts with ur point of fairness. How can it be fair when a passenger utilizes the public transport system without paying a cent? Instead, he will be either charged the minimum fare, or the system will be smart enough to distinguish that he is traveling to and fro once between his home and the place to buy stuff and in this case, 2 times the minimum fare.
I believe LTA is modeling the system to work such that a passenger do not get penalized for making multiple transfers between his origin and destination (and between bus / MRT), and this is the only target audience which will really see the benefit in this system. aka distance based fares.
Originally posted by iveco:Maybe TransitLink could be reorganised such that they take over all the public transport resources then farm them out.
In future:
All trains operate under TL livery, but come under SMRT Corp.
All buses operate under TL livery, but are split between SBS and Tibs depending on sector.
No point letting ComfortDelgro bus enter the market, its still an enlarged monopoly of ComfortDelgroOriginally posted by carbikebus:09 SMRT Buses will merge with SBS Transit,Another 1 or 2 player will be the renowned private operator conditioned they must adapt to th EZ link systems.I really hope ComfortDelgro bus,Westpoint or Woodlands Tpt join the party with SBST holds the majority routesSMRT they can jollywell concentrate on rail
I think they're doing well on Chartered SvsOriginally posted by Scania:No point letting ComfortDelgro bus enter the market, its still an enlarged monopoly of ComfortDelgro.
Then explain why OTC allowed Tibs to be formed in 1982.Originally posted by ZYX2005:In terms of market basics, i wun support a merger. monopolies tend to be very single minded to profits and dun care bout the consumers . although controlled by LTA, a one bus company with over 95 percent routes in Singapore will simply outbid the little small bus companies for bus routes and everything will be dictaorship-ish
however having said the above, if LTA has much more power than i think they do, they can churn out a success story with just one bus operator. One has to see the exmaple of Sydney's STA. the first customer contact point is their super cool bus website with all bbus information u need. evven searching Sydney buses tickets will bbring u to hat website for all ur bus travelling needs.
however can the small island support competition? we have seen in the past that competition led to much chaos. As a result mergers were made. this i refer to the 1970s and then again in 1973 when SBS was formed out of the many mergers. if LTA can control the competition and yet no cause duplication in services, maybe we have success.
but again current state is two big bus co. can a new start up challenge these two and apply for suitable routes to induce a competitive environment? i thinking the past history really says competition might not work. Unless u reduce SBS into smaller pieces and make some 6 or 7 operators...and have LTA fully control the companys.
one thing good though, bus company under government have shown many success stories. hope we head for that model. be it competitive or just one company.
ZYX
I won't trust a transport operator's website which asks me to walk over Sydney habour out of no where without any bridge, or one that brings me onto a loop when I want to go somewhere nearby.Originally posted by ZYX2005:however having said the above, if LTA has much more power than i think they do, they can churn out a success story with just one bus operator. One has to see the exmaple of Sydney's STA. the first customer contact point is their super cool bus website with all bbus information u need. evven searching Sydney buses tickets will bbring u to hat website for all ur bus travelling needs.
ZYX