Originally posted by SBS2695H:
It may feel a little wasteful to use K230 on feeder, but I think K230 should be on feeder, because they have an extreme lack of seats, and if K230 are on longhaul, you will need to stand for a long journey.
Conclusion, SBS wasted the 500million at K230, think so...
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:Conclusion, SBS wasted the 500million at K230, think so...
They should have bought DDs instead. And Volgren please.
It may feel a little wasteful to use K230 on feeder, but I think K230 should be on feeder, because they have an extreme lack of seats, and if K230 are on longhaul, you will need to stand for a long journey.
Ya ya we all know what you mean.
There are only so many feeders in Singapore. How many buses in total? About 100 only. And other high demand feeders like 242 and 222 require DDs.
The rest have to go to trunk services.
And mind you, the K230s are not placed on trunks services just to reduce the number of seats. The main factor with the deployments are:
1) Possibility of PIW boarding
2) Crushload factor (high load)
2nd factor is not so much applicable although there might be some cases whereby a service gets K230s due to its high load. 410 could be a possible one if AMDEP refuses to put DDs.
So please, stop with all your nonsense on "I only want K230s on feeders". Are you all the respective depot starters?
jus let him be. he cannot accept change. let him live in history where people use cavemen tools.
for me i'm already pretty well adapted to the K230UB already and have accepted it as part of their life. same for new announcements. i wonder why SOMEBODY cant. even though GEMILANG lets jus say its less liked by the bus fans but for i'm pretty okay with it. get USED to it. what do you expect SBST to do when its already purchased. convert the backrests to seats? likewise for new announcements its there le. whine all you like its staying. and some of the singapore bus fans only know VOLGREN. theres more to bodyworks than jus VOLGREN.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:jus let him be. he cannot accept change. let him live in history where people use cavemen tools.
for me i'm already pretty well adapted to the K230UB already and have accepted it as part of their life. same for new announcements. i wonder why SOMEBODY cant. even though GEMILANG lets jus say its less liked by the bus fans but for i'm pretty okay with it. get USED to it. what do you expect SBST to do when its already purchased. convert the backrests to seats? likewise for new announcements its there le. whine all you like its staying. and some of the singapore bus fans only know VOLGREN. theres more to bodyworks than jus VOLGREN.
I like the new Scanias. Vibrations have gone down alot, and they really can chiong. Esp 52. xD
An 'extreme lack of seats' is not a good justification for K230s to be used only on feeders. K230s can be used on trunk services whereby there are short sectors of high demand and since most people are only taking the bus for a short distance, they wouldn't mind standing. Let me cite a few examples.
1) Service 3 - During the evening peak from Tampines to Punggol, the short sectors of high demand (full to the door a lot of the time) are:
a) Tampines Interchange to Pasir Ris St 21 (people would stand for 20 mins at most, but usually less)
b) Pasir Ris Central to Pasir Ris St 71 (people would stand for 10 mins at most)
2) Service 6 - The high demand is from Pasir Ris Interchange to Loyang Industrial Estate during the morning peak and in the opposite direction during the evening peak. It's a fairly short journey whereby having K230s would be suitable and certainly beneficial to both parties, namely SBST and the commuters.
Other good examples would include Service 17 (Pasir Ris Interchange - Pasir Ris Dr 1 and Bedok Interchange to Bedok North Ave 4), Services 18, 37, 38, 69 etc.
Dun let your personal dislike of K230s cloud your judgement. Some longhaul services would benefit from having K230s deployed, like the examples cited above. Instances of people complaining about not being able to board the bus during peak hours would most likely be reduced.
Originally posted by SBS 9613Z:An 'extreme lack of seats' is not a good justification for K230s to be used only on feeders. K230s can be used on trunk services whereby there are short sectors of high demand and since most people are only taking the bus for a short distance, they wouldn't mind standing. Let me cite a few examples.
1) Service 3 - During the evening peak from Tampines to Punggol, the short sectors of high demand (full to the door a lot of the time) are:
a) Tampines Interchange to Pasir Ris St 21 (people would stand for 20 mins at most, but usually less)
b) Pasir Ris Central to Pasir Ris St 71 (people would stand for 10 mins at most)
2) Service 6 - The high demand is from Pasir Ris Interchange to Loyang Industrial Estate during the morning peak and in the opposite direction during the evening peak. It's a fairly short journey whereby having K230s would be suitable and certainly beneficial to both parties, namely SBST and the commuters.
Other good examples would include Service 17 (Pasir Ris Interchange - Pasir Ris Dr 1 and Bedok Interchange to Bedok North Ave 4), Services 18, 37, 38, 69 etc.
Dun let your personal dislike of K230s cloud your judgement. Some longhaul services would benefit from having K230s deployed, like the examples cited above. Instances of people complaining about not being able to board the bus during peak hours would most likely be reduced.
I am not saying that they should be purely feeder or what. Actually I would suggest deploying them on only peak hours for certain services. However, I did mention before that I don't mind K230s on sv like 6, 18, 69, 38. Anyway, I am not the only one who dislikes K230. jayh also tells me that he does not like K230s.
Originally posted by Oceane:
I like the new Scanias. Vibrations have gone down alot, and they really can chiong. Esp 52. xD
after the one year warranty, you can see all the K230UBs starting to chiong. do they have speed limiter? cuz when i take 151 K230UBs, they always go between 60-65km/h along PIE.
Originally posted by nenepokey:after the one year warranty, you can see all the K230UBs starting to chiong. do they have speed limiter? cuz when i take 151 K230UBs, they always go between 60-65km/h along PIE.
Should be. All new buses are required to have speed limiter.
Today took 8448R on 52. BC kept chionging and zamm brake when reaching turns/junctions. Alot of passengers almost fell. xD
Glad that you guys had wake up ![]()
But seriously, why do you guys say that the older Scanias vibrate a lot? They're not that bad, compared to some others. A few Lances and 980D are worse than the Scanias.
I LOVE the K230s. A good change from the VO's I take on 165. I always wish that I get to take the 165 Scanias. Or 9670H ![]()
Should be. All new buses are required to have speed limiter.Today took 8448R on 52. BC kept chionging and zamm brake when reaching turns/junctions. Alot of passengers almost fell. xD
There's something I don't get.
Why is the B9TL's 2nd overdrive so tight compared to that of the K230UB?
Ok, actually K230 is still not so bad lah, is just seat problem...u know i do not like to stand.
Can we stop discussing K230 here...sorry for starting it...

Spot the edits
Answers will be revealed tmr night.
(My office blocked sgforums, cannot reply during day time
)
Originally posted by my@jas:
Spot the edits
Answers will be revealed tmr night.
(My office blocked sgforums, cannot reply during day time
)
1. The on top the 222 on the side desto no Townlink lol
2. I not sure if the T plate is counted cause I dont think 222 is like other Townlink svcs like eg 291?
Only can spot these 2. the rest I dunno :)
Originally posted by bus555:1. The on top the 222 on the side desto no Townlink lol
2. I not sure if the T plate is counted cause I dont think 222 is like other Townlink svcs like eg 291?
Only can spot these 2. the rest I dunno :)
The lane markings are horizontal to the road instead of parallel with it. xD
I think not edited leh
Those are the stop line for the vehicles at the junctions and those of the pedestrian crossings ![]()
Still got quite a number of edits ![]()
Those are the stop line for the vehicles at the junctions and those of the pedestrian crossingsStill got quite a number of edits
One of the side mirror is missing? Haha.
Those are the stop line for the vehicles at the junctions and those of the pedestrian crossingsStill got quite a number of edits
There are some not so sure... though it looks highly possible:
1) TV mobile
2) Front door handles
3) Rear axle: Rim guards
There are some not so sure... though it looks highly possible:1) TV mobile
2) Front door handles
Erm since when this bus got TV mobile. Only SBS9830M & SBS9888Y lol
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:One of the side mirror is missing? Haha.
Not really, good try though ![]()
Same as the umbrella, it's there originally ![]()
There are some not so sure... though it looks highly possible:1) TV mobile
2) Front door handles
I didn't edit the front door handles and the wheels ![]()
Originally posted by my@jas:I didn't edit the front door handles and the wheels
The Love OF Music.
Think there should be 4 front facing walkman. the black colour one gone?