Boss will ask you why you never wake up earlier or ask you take cab or something. Some are simply that unreasonable and won't let you be late for work because the public transport messed up.Originally posted by New Creation:Quite frankly, Singaporeans surely do not know how to take it easy. They are so kiasu and so kia-see.
Common, the realization should be this: the train is screwed up, it will be reported in the news (Your bosses will know you are not lying) and yesh it will not be your fault when you explain to your boss as you come in late.
So, why is there still the freaking mad rush and stampede to get to their workplace? They know they will be late eventually and that they will still be excused by their bosses.
Take your time and enjoy one of the rare mornings when you can really take your time to stroll into the office.
Hmm.. i don't think we can fault the media when the media was reporting from THIS:Originally posted by ZYX2005:Also on the other hand the media could be at fault for repoting that the incident was a mechanical fault and not a clear industrial accident. and in the way they saboh SMRT. both english n chiense dailies reported unknown causes.
For now i guess we could either beleive the media or stete the opinion that its an accident like i did
wow , would like to know more about this .. any pics ?Originally posted by ZYX2005:in 1990 or so SBS loaned its OF mercs to SMRT eer sorrie trans island to run on service SS1 and 169 as trans Island that time short of bus to run MRT shuttle bus service SS1.
the SBS bus were repainted into trans island livery.
ZYX
SBS rego but in TIBS liveryOriginally posted by SBS BUSES LOVER:wow , would like to know more about this .. any pics ?
what were the regos ?
I'm actually quite upset that many people feedbacked to SMRT that bus drivers did not know the route to get from station to station. It makes me wonder if they have the common sense to think before sending letters to ST Forum.Originally posted by off_service:I feel SMRT is apparently not capable of handling such disruption during peak hours. The disruption started even before the system starts operating. Yet when peak hour starts, there's still chaos all over the East/West Line. What pissed me off the most is that while they tried their best (but failed) to relief the bottleneck in the East, they had totally forgotten the West side which is operating with trains bursting 100% with loads. The wait to be able to board a train is definitely over 15 minutes.
My one question is from the Dhoby Ghaut incident and this incident, how well is SMRT and its staffs prepared to put their contingency plans in place during disruption, if there's any?
This doesn't show evidence that there's a shortage of buses. Long queues were formed because of the sudden rise in bus commuters (due to train services being down), I believe that the frequency of the buses were still as usual.Originally posted by sErviCe17rOx:The entire crisis was handles badly, both by SMRT and SBST.
On the Pasir Ris side, there wasn't any personnel or signs placed at the Pasir Ris Int to inform commuters of the train service disruption and people were like walking to the MRT station then they realised what's happening and they had to walk back to the bus interchange or the shuttle bus pick-up point.
SBST was stupid enough to loan some buses from its perm fleet and this resulted in some sort of shortage of buses in the morning. Queues were snaking all around Pasir Ris Int and nothing was done about it. All the Pasir Ris RMs were walking around looking all high and important but nothing came out of their mouths. Not even a word of apology for the delays or information on what's going on. S15 and S12 had the longest queues of all but the buses were nowhere to be seen (evident of a shortage) but the RMs had no flexibility of deploying buses from other services to cover up for that period of time. WTF???
And reconsider on having Ms Saw as the CEOOriginally posted by SBS1984E:This shows the importance of having bus services that duplicate MRT lines.
I hope LTA will conduct an inquiry on this incident and proper measures to be done. Hope this would cause SMRT's net profit to fall for the next FYOriginally posted by Vigelic:Hmm.. i don't think we can fault the media when the media was reporting from THIS:
http://www.smrt.com.sg/news/2008/press_release_%20train_service_delay_on_21_Jan08.pdf
Official SMRT document. Seriously, you read their press release twice..
"The disruption was caused by the breakdown of a
maintenance works train which was carrying out works between Tampines and
Simei (westbound) MRT stations. There were some damages to the maintenance
works train and we are investigating the cause."
1) according to their statement, ONE maintenance train broke down and there was some damages TO that train.
inference: train ownself break down, ghost came and applied damages to the train -.-
i think they are covering an accident.. or else they will write "The breakdown train suffered some damages" or "The breakdown train was damaged" instead of writing "there were some damages to the train"
even then, the photographic evidence is clear that it was no ordinary breakdown..
In every train disruption except Exercise NorthStar V, SBST plucks buses from perm fleet and deploy them on the MRT Shuttle. There was once a train disruption between Outram Park and Dhoby Ghaut once (or many times already), SBST plucked buses from NBR services to run on the shuttles just in case you dont know.Originally posted by sErviCe17rOx:The entire crisis was handles badly, both by SMRT and SBST.
On the Pasir Ris side, there wasn't any personnel or signs placed at the Pasir Ris Int to inform commuters of the train service disruption and people were like walking to the MRT station then they realised what's happening and they had to walk back to the bus interchange or the shuttle bus pick-up point.
SBST was stupid enough to loan some buses from its perm fleet and this resulted in some sort of shortage of buses in the morning. Queues were snaking all around Pasir Ris Int and nothing was done about it. All the Pasir Ris RMs were walking around looking all high and important but nothing came out of their mouths. Not even a word of apology for the delays or information on what's going on. S15 and S12 had the longest queues of all but the buses were nowhere to be seen (evident of a shortage) but the RMs had no flexibility of deploying buses from other services to cover up for that period of time. WTF???
Wonder if you know this... SBST have hgdep drivers trained for MRT Shuttle should they encounter a train disruption in the NE sector.. but to date... seems like most of the disruptions is the HarbourFront - Little India sectorOriginally posted by Oceane:I'm actually quite upset that many people feedbacked to SMRT that bus drivers did not know the route to get from station to station. It makes me wonder if they have the common sense to think before sending letters to ST Forum.
Most of us here know that the East mainly belongs to SBST control and not so of SMRT. In the midst of the disruption, I must say SMRT has actually done a satisfactory enough job by sending down buses on time, however so the drivers did not know the route.
I think not many have the real sense to actually appreciate the efforts of the SMRT drivers that had to rush to the east to help with passenger volumes while they were trying very hard to recognise the roads of the unfamiliar east. I definitely would salute them for their hard work.
I think it's not a problem if anyone disagrees with me; I won't be upset or whatever. I'm just pointing out my opinions. If anyone agrees with me, I congratulate you for being able to differentiate right from wrongs.
They plucked buses from perm services to run on the MRT shuttle. They used zero DDs because the DDs are able to cope/tahan the loads on the perm service.Originally posted by n4l:SBST would have most probably used its spare buses from the depots, or buses that were going off service after peak hours.
When tomorrow never comes........Originally posted by gorby107:And reconsider on having Ms Saw as the CEO![]()
Wa so long you postOriginally posted by service_238:When tomorrow never comes........
Next time hope SBST don't help SMRT. Then SMRT GG. Pluck out buses from their own fleet to operate shuttle. Then their regular services become 50min frequency.Originally posted by service_238:In every train disruption except Exercise NorthStar V, SBST plucks buses from perm fleet and deploy them on the MRT Shuttle. There was once a train disruption between Outram Park and Dhoby Ghaut once (or many times already), SBST plucked buses from NBR services to run on the shuttles just in case you dont know.
Why S15 and S12 have the longest queues is because S15 goes to Tampines and Eunos while S12 goes to Simei and Tanah Merah. the SBST RMs have no choice but to do all these. They are already trying their best. Be fortunate that they helped out SMRT otherwise things would get a million times worse that morning.
The one thing i like about SBST is that they are able to pluck out buses from perm fleet and alter frequency by 1-2min and the loads wouldnt differ that greatly. SMRTB... no comments
LOLOriginally posted by stooper:Next time hope SBST don't help SMRT. Then SMRT GG. Pluck out buses from their own fleet to operate shuttle. Then their regular services become 50min frequency.![]()
Bus Arriving: 50minOriginally posted by stooper:Next time hope SBST don't help SMRT. Then SMRT GG. Pluck out buses from their own fleet to operate shuttle. Then their regular services become 50min frequency.![]()
how about other services..? sg ppl really cannot handle emergency cases ... 15 12 all crowd how about 21? people can surly take 21 to go kallang or novena for MRT...Originally posted by sErviCe17rOx:The entire crisis was handles badly, both by SMRT and SBST.
Very bad of youOriginally posted by service_238:I hope LTA will conduct an inquiry on this incident and proper measures to be done. Hope this would cause SMRT's net profit to fall for the next FY
I'm talking about train frequency.. How come your reply become bus?Originally posted by Oceane:I'm actually quite upset that many people feedbacked to SMRT that bus drivers did not know the route to get from station to station. It makes me wonder if they have the common sense to think before sending letters to ST Forum.
Most of us here know that the East mainly belongs to SBST control and not so of SMRT. In the midst of the disruption, I must say SMRT has actually done a satisfactory enough job by sending down buses on time, however so the drivers did not know the route.
I think not many have the real sense to actually appreciate the efforts of the SMRT drivers that had to rush to the east to help with passenger volumes while they were trying very hard to recognise the roads of the unfamiliar east. I definitely would salute them for their hard work.
I think it's not a problem if anyone disagrees with me; I won't be upset or whatever. I'm just pointing out my opinions. If anyone agrees with me, I congratulate you for being able to differentiate right from wrongs.
Its not the first time SMRT encountered a train disruption during the morning peak. The first in recent history was Friday 7th October 1997 when a mx train derailed near Toa Payoh Station. Stations between Bishan and Newton were closed.Originally posted by carbikebus:Very bad of you
That one not as serious at the one that just happened,that one only slight delay? Not reported in the news. Cannot imagine how many bus needed if it happen the same thing and the time taken.Originally posted by service_238:In a seperate incident a section between Toa Payoh and Newton was closed for goodness knows what reason.
Another incident which happened more recently was Boon Lay - Jurong East.
Yah lah, in HK, even the super minor incidents, like recently, one of the East Rail trains failed and had to be taken off service at the next station was also reported.Originally posted by TIB1224Y:There is always cover up in Sg things...
Early reports of SQ006 accident on radio was 'a Boeing 747 ran off the runway into the grass at Taipei International, no one was injured'
In the end, was it so?
Ask ourselves, we are just poor citizens in the wrath of the big parents...