agreed. but then flag raising is 7.20 am liddat.. so juz run through the stations until 7.20 then do the direct to tanah merah for office workers from 7.20 onwards lor -.- ask the rest who are not going to tanah merah to take public transport.. or the buses can go to tanah merah, everyone get down, ask who wants to go the other 2 stations.. if nobody then dun nid go..Originally posted by sBs_boy:I guess many people would agree with u that this could be the best option available to clear the load fast. Do then again, do think about it, we can never assume that everyone is heading towards the city. There may be some people who are heading towards Tampines or Simei. This is so especially when it is a school day where many pf the students are relying on the EWL to get to neighbouring towns for school.
Actually I agree that the shuttles should majority be plying straight to Tanah Merah, running alongside "local" shuttles between the 3 stations.Originally posted by sBs_boy:I guess many people would agree with u that this could be the best option available to clear the load fast. Do then again, do think about it, we can never assume that everyone is heading towards the city. There may be some people who are heading towards Tampines or Simei. This is so especially when it is a school day where many pf the students are relying on the EWL to get to neighbouring towns for school.
There was 1 in 1999 also. 3227 derailed off the track just off AMK Station and service was disrupted till afternoon (the train derailed when it was off service heading back to Bishan after morning peak) when a crane came to re-rail it.Originally posted by service_238:Its not the first time SMRT encountered a train disruption during the morning peak. The first in recent history was Friday 7th October 1997 when a mx train derailed near Toa Payoh Station. Stations between Bishan and Newton were closed.
In a seperate incident a section between Toa Payoh and Newton was closed for goodness knows what reason.
Another incident which happened more recently was Boon Lay - Jurong East.
With so many incidents havent they learnt their lesson? No
Wasn't it already mentioned by 7am that the fault was due to a maintanence train? Well, that seems to be what I remember. Anyway the real cause IS maintanence train accident, tammy has a pile of photos of the damaged train.Originally posted by sBs_boy:Yes.. It was good for them to provide 40 buses for the shuttles instead of ZERO (During the DBG Fire last yr). But 1 thing that SMRT had failed badly is the fact that they tried to cover up on what is happening. I guess, its obvious that they are always using the same old excuse for the media or the people of Singapore. 1 good example where we could see SBST doing better is the incident last year that happened at Outram. By night time, we all know what was the real cause of the train disruption. Unlike this time. I think SMRT had owe us a very good explanation.
Originally posted by service_238:he should have just stayed in SAF instead.
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:You think Singaporeans will listen? They only know how to crap rubbish about this and that.
[b]Disruptions: SMRT explains
Even as SMRT sought to explain in detail MondayÂ’s seven-hour train disruption, commuters encountered a minor glitch late last night. Train services on the North-South line were delayed when a defective train was forced to offload passengers at Raffles MRT Station at about 11.10pm.
It then proceeded slowly to Newton station, in turn causing following trains to slowdown. SMRT said there was no halt to service and trains were back up to speed within
30 minutes.
In a statement yesterday, the train operator said Monday’s disruption between Pasir Ris and Tanah Merah MRT stations was caused by an accident between a locomotive and a maintenance vehicle. It said recovery of the vehicle – known as a railgrinding vehicle – was slow as officers did not want to damage the tracks.
It added that more than 400 staff were activated as early as 4.40am to assist commuters and resume service. It deployed 70 buses because this was the maximum number possible without disrupting regular services islandwide, to ferry passengers from Pasir Ris, Tampines and Simei stations to Tanah Merah. But the buses were slow in transferring these commuters because of heavy traffic on the roads.
Responding to grouses from the public that they were kept in the dark about the situation, SMRT said regular updates were sent to radio and television stations from as early as 5.10am, and subsequently at half- to one-hour intervals. These were in addition to SMRTÂ’s normal travel information channels.
SMRT said it recognises there is room for service improvement and would take all feedback into consideration when refining its plans.
- TODAY[/b]
If you refer back to all the newspaper acticles or simply just ask around of people who has been stuck in the middle of a train disruption, you will notice about that the offical press release is always Track Fault / train fault. Nothing else. Even during the small fire at DBG last year, if there wasnt ZB reporting on it, we will never know the reason on why there was train disruption in the middle of the evening peak hour. The reason given at that time was "Track Fault".Originally posted by Oceane:Wasn't it already mentioned by 7am that the fault was due to a maintanence train? Well, that seems to be what I remember. Anyway the real cause IS maintanence train accident, tammy has a pile of photos of the damaged train.
It happened on a Tuesday. The previous day that same week was the day 3693G did a stunt at the Toa Payoh Temp int.Originally posted by Oceane:There was 1 in 1999 also. 3227 derailed off the track just off AMK Station and service was disrupted till afternoon (the train derailed when it was off service heading back to Bishan after morning peak) when a crane came to re-rail it.
Boy, the crane not used at all. Dun anyhow say if you dun know head and tail.Originally posted by Oceane:There was 1 in 1999 also. 3227 derailed off the track just off AMK Station and service was disrupted till afternoon (the train derailed when it was off service heading back to Bishan after morning peak) when a crane came to re-rail it.
But you were the one who told me and Mr. Nova what... But yea you mentioned don't know who kaypoh go call crane.Originally posted by Manager433:Boy, the crane not used at all. Dun anyhow say if you dun know head and tail.