As bus-drivers very soon in Singapore .
ComfortDelGro Managing Director/Group CEO, Mr Kua Hong Pak said SBSTransit has massive difficulty in employing Malaysian drivers nowadays .
So expect to see a ChinaMan to drive sbs buses very soon ....
I saw an article on saturday ST , Business Page .
in loud loud loud voice.. *UNCLE! NI SHAO WU FEN!!*
-reserved-
will post the article tonight.
Actually some are on trial @ various depot alrdy,SMRT employ nearly 200 distributed among 3 depots.Thats their excuse to recruit cheap labour nothing else
oh no. i already cannot take it some chinese BCs are telling passengers to move to the rear in mandarin...
now in more fluent PRC mandarin!
Im scared of something , reckless driving! They ride bicycles already considered a hazard liao. Cnt imagine drive buses. ![]()
Woman maybe better , but man i dunno how.![]()
fucking hell. that's it, im getting my bike as soon as possible.
ComfortDelGro's profit down in absence of one-time gain
Revenue breaches $3b mark for first time as businesses abroad post hefty turnover
Straits Times, The (Singapore)
Money
February 16, 2008
Author: Christopher Tan, Senior Correspondent
FUELLED mainly by strong growth overseas, transport giant ComfortDelGro has turned in another sterling set of results.
For the year ended Dec 31, the group posted a revenue of $3.02 billion, up 8 per cent - and breaching the $3 billion mark for the first time. From that, it raked in an operating profit of $334.8 million, 9.6 per cent more than the year before.
Net earnings, however, dipped by 8.8 per cent to $223 million because of an exceptional gain it had in 2006. If not for that, net profit - driven by better performance in every business except diesel sale to cabbies in Singapore - would have risen by 10.1 per cent.
ComfortDelGro chief executive Kua Hong Pak warned, however, that this year might be tougher.
'The global economic outlook remains very uncertain,' he said. 'Inflationary pressures, in general, will leave us less leeway to contain costs.'
ComfortDelGro's overseas businesses contributed 47 per cent to group turnover from 45 per cent previously, with Australia posting the most remarkable growth. The share of operating profit from abroad grew from 42 per cent to 46 per cent.
Of all its expenses, staff cost again emerged as the single-biggest item. Last year, salaries and bonuses rose by 10.2 per cent to $950.7 million, mainly because of pay increments and additional routes secured. The group added another 730 people to its headcount of about 22,000.
Mr Kua said ComfortDelGro would strive for better efficiency to mitigate the rising cost of labour.
In comparison, energy and fuel costs were modest, even though these rose by 10.7 per cent to $216.9 million. Interestingly, the increase in diesel price accounted for only $1 million of the fatter bill, as the group had hedged successfully against such a rise. Instead, the bigger expenditure was on the back of growth in services.
It incurred higher insurance costs, which Mr Kua said was mainly on the back of higher premiums in China.
The group paid $66.6 million in benefits to cabbies, down from $80.6 million previously.
It enjoyed an $80.8 million net increase in cash flow. Cash and equivalents at the end of the year stood at $318.4 million from $237.6 million at the beginning of the year.
Directors are recommending a final dividend of 2.65 cents a share, from the previous payout of three cents, plus a special dividend of 1.5 cents.
SBS Transit cuts payouts
BUS operator SBS Transit, 75 per cent owned by ComfortDelGro, is cutting dividend payouts drastically because of higher capital expenditure going forward.
It has declared a final dividend of 3.25 cents, down from 6.5 cents for 2006.
Shareholders also had a 17-cent special dividend previously because of Section 44 tax credits, which have been expended.
ComfortDelGro group chief executive Kua Hong Pak said: 'We need to set aside a lot more to meet new quality of service standards.'
SBS Transit will have to buy at least another 100 buses to do this. It has started hiring drivers from China, as it is having difficulty recruiting drivers from Malaysia.
Its net profit for last year shrank by 10.9 per cent to $50 million on higher maintenance and depreciation costs.
Copyright, 2008, Singapore Press Holdings Limited
Originally posted by ^tamago^:ComfortDelGro's profit down in absence of one-time gain
Revenue breaches $3b mark for first time as businesses abroad post hefty turnoverSBS Transit will have to buy at least another 100 buses to do this. It has started hiring drivers from China, as it is having difficulty recruiting drivers from Malaysia.
Copyright, 2008, Singapore Press Holdings Limited
Gd job, at least u put where u adapted from. Btw, now they want to buy buses again. Is it 500 +100? haha, confirm buying B7RE liao..
MOD's note: You have no idea who you are dealing with. Worse still, you want to act like you call the shots here. Don't try to pick bones from the basket.
Originally posted by Mengna Lisha:wait they lost the way how?
Fixed route ma , will never be lost la .
What the China-man must do is - memory by hard ! Those routes .
One thing i not so sure ....
If one day , one Grandma goes up the bus .... pay by cash !
Asked : "Tee ar , ki ket sng kio gui lui ? " ( Go Sungei Road how much ?")
China-man : "Wo bu zhi dao ! "
if ever a senior asked those old chinese road names , this china-man sure kena teruk teruk from Sporeans !!
If SBS or SMRT is getting drivers from China, for the sake of the Malay, Indian and Eurasian community in SG as well as the tourists, the bus operators must ensure that the drivers can speak and understand ENGLISH. Many times I have come across China nationals working as shop assistants or behind the counter who would give a blank look when I inquired in English. Normally, but not always, an English speaking colleage would help out but for the case of the BC, who is going to help him? At the very least, the bus operators should send the BCs for basic English courses.
Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:If SBS or SMRT is getting drivers from China, for the sake of the Malay, Indian and Eurasian community in SG as well as the tourists, the bus operators must ensure that the drivers can speak and understand ENGLISH. Many times I have come across China nationals working as shop assistants or behind the counter who would give a blank look when I inquired in English. Normally, but not always, an English speaking colleage would help out but for the case of the BC, who is going to help him? At the very least, the bus operators should send the BCs for basic English courses.
I agree with this point of view , they seriously need to be send for basic english course. We don't mind if their english is a bit broken or whatsoever , but at least we can understand.
Yes. My 7-11 is also now staffed by Chinese nationals... even though you don't really need to overcome the language barrier to buy things, it's only frustrating when you want to enquire about some stuffs..... brrr...
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Btw, now they want to buy buses again. Is it 500 +100? haha, confirm buying B7RE liao..
how u noe B7RLE? they wanna hire cheap labor so turn to china bc, den now they bo lui liao, so mayb they buy king long bus den how? lol
Shit man,SIA also got many Chinaman.Some even dare to ji siao if they are already confirm staff.Got the cheeks to say their country is much better than SG
,Dun understand why SG die die like to hire more Chinaman than Indiaman who is more English speaking.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:
how u noe B7RLE? they wanna hire cheap labor so turn to china bc, den now they bo lui liao, so mayb they buy king long bus den how? lol
This is the idea of the management who want to save as much manpower cost at the expense of the low educated drivers.
Originally posted by carbikebus:This is the idea of the management who want to save as much manpower cost at the expense of the low educated drivers.
cut cost of the drivers, then save the money to buy more new buses...
i think very sg will soon be dominated by chinamen and they becoming PR or citizens and original sporeans been chucked to a corner; as what i've already seen happening in other industries such as construction sectors. i think indian nationals and bangladeshis will also soon be driving our public buses to fan off some criticisms of chinamen unable to speak english. we shall wait and see.
oh; to cut costs further, shall the top management and even the CEO be replaced with chinese nationals; since there are so many capable, hardworking and smart people out there in china too?
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:i think very sg will soon be dominated by chinamen and they becoming PR or citizens and original sporeans been chucked to a corner; as what i've already seen happening in other industries such as construction sectors. i think indian nationals and bangladeshis will also soon be driving our public buses to fan off some criticisms of chinamen unable to speak english. we shall wait and see.
oh; to cut costs further, shall the top management and even the CEO be replaced with chinese nationals; since there are so many capable, hardworking and smart people out there in china too?
why not?
foreign talent will help singapore much in such a competitve arena
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Gd job, at least u put where u adapted from. Btw, now they want to buy buses again. Is it 500 +100? haha, confirm buying B7RE liao..MOD'S NOTE: dunno dun act smart. u talk like i'm posting articles for the first time. text-based require copyright tag. cuttings no need.
Confirm buying B7RLE ?
Did they announced that they buying Volvos ?
Where are your sources from ?
Originally posted by sBs_boy:
Confirm buying B7RLE ?
Did they announced that they buying Volvos ?
Where are your sources from ?
oh no no, that was only my assumption but by this year you would know the result.
Aiyo ... Employ Chinese Pumpkins meant for Feeder Services , logic ???
Then move our so-called local kingpin bus-captains , to the more important route . More important longer buses .
Keep those pumpings within the village .
Drive those short distance services .
make them drive 284, 354!
even 11 also they cannot drive. what if people enquire.. let's say ang moh ask, "excuse moi mate, is this bus going to the kallang leisure park?"
then both have a gazing game looking at each other.