Originally posted by sinicker:make them drive 284, 354!
even 11 also they cannot drive. what if people enquire.. let's say ang moh ask, "excuse moi mate, is this bus going to the kallang leisure park?"
then both have a gazing game looking at each other.
why u ish see them no up
scaly these bus captains r university grads hor
a lot of uni grads frm china unemployed hor
hahaha.. everyday i see them in trains/buses everywhere i cannot tahan. can start a blog to post the weird things they do on a daily basis....
i've never discriminated foreign workers, filipinos, banglas, malaysians, indians, indonesians....
then there were PRCs.. haizx.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:why not?
foreign talent will help singapore much in such a competitve arena
Is it? I suggest you read a topic at Speaker's Corner.
It's not always true.
Would you want SBST employing Foreigners to come fill in the gaps ??
OR
You would rather they employ ONLY Singaporeans n Malaysians and risk the fact of having buses park inside the depot due to shortage of drivers ?
Think About It..
Originally posted by sinicker:make them drive 284, 354!
even 11 also they cannot drive. what if people enquire.. let's say ang moh ask, "excuse moi mate, is this bus going to the kallang leisure park?"
then both have a gazing game looking at each other.
all SBST BC need to be able to read, write and speak simple english dude.. is this so profound by a tourist? "is this bus going to escape theme park?" (service 354).. wad about the malays and indians??
Before anyone goes any further, i believe that all of us in here will be sensitive to what we are typing to prevent any unnecessary flame wars from going on.
Thank You.
No drivers, so SBS Transit turns to China
Originally posted by sBs_boy:Would you want SBST employing Foreigners to come fill in the gaps ??
OR
You would rather they employ ONLY Singaporeans n Malaysians and risk the fact of having buses park inside the depot due to shortage of drivers ?
Think About It..
Yeah... I agree. Do you want buses parking in the depot because there's a shortage of drivers? No right?
And dun pass too many sarcastic comments when you haven't actually experienced the PRC drivers for yourself. If you think you can be a better bus driver compared to them, then why dun you become one yourself?
but y singaporeans don wanna be BC .. drive bus malu meh ?
Its not much because of the 'malu' but more of the work pattern. You work 9 hours a day, 6 days a week on a rotating shift. Morning shift starts at 4:30 AM while those on night shift may end as late as 2:30 AM. Meal break is 30 mins and you get 10 mins break in between runs. Basic salary is $1200. In addition to the allowances and incentives, a BC could earn a gross salary of around $1650 - $2000 a month. Pretty neat, eh? However, there are many other work options available offering a similar pay package.
Yes,being an ex-SBST & SMRT drivers i feel the pain too.Imagine driving one big bus end up take home pay less than they've said....Singapore companies always uses the "Hard to get local workers" excuse.China cheaper mah pay them twice less than our pay.Our dear gahmen doent know that the cost of living in SG is ne of the top 10 high in the world?Well at least SIA bonuses average is around 3.5-6 mths.
Better than driving public buses IMO.If both SBST & SMRT serious of recruitng more locals then the basic pay should be revised to at least $1400
Originally posted by carbikebus:Yes,being an ex-SBST & SMRT drivers i feel the pain too.Imagine driving one big bus end up take home pay less than they've said....Singapore companies always uses the "Hard to get local workers" excuse.China cheaper mah pay them twice less than our pay.Our dear gahmen doent know that the cost of living in SG is ne of the top 10 high in the world?Well at least SIA bonuses average is around 3.5-6 mths.
Better than driving public buses IMO.If both SBST & SMRT serious of recruitng more locals then the basic pay should be revised to at least $1400
I agree the basic pay package for SBST and SMRT has to increase, but comparing to them to SIA. Goodness sake. You can't compare SBST (and I don't mean Comfort Delgro) to SIA. It's ludicruous. The intrinsics of business in operating an international airline is different from running a local bus company. It's like comparing apples to oranges.
And do you have actual evidence to support that the cost of living in Singapore is in the top 10 of the world? Because if you look at this report here http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0933749.html , Singapore is at no 14. So before you want to make a claim, pls either google or access some academic database to produce some hard facts before rattling off like a machine gun based on what you think. Perhaps you should get out yourself a bit out of Singapore to decide if Singapore is really that expensive after all.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:according to yesterday’s ST article, it quoted BCs salary ranged up to $3500 per month which i don’t believe!
Let's see....
say 1 month 30 days
23 Weekdays
7 Weekends with the 1st starting on a Wednesday
This bus driver drives a split shift DD that xover to another service, assume no OT. Scheduled 4 OFF days in this 30-day month
Say basic pay is $1400 (obviously not entry-grade level),
DD = $104
split shift = $208
Xover = $23 (only weekdays)
Total: $1735
Assuming working on ALL 4 OFF days, 11.5 hours shift, drives DD and no split break: $993.20
And after maxing out the OT on his 26 days: $262.60
Grand Total for this month: $2990.80
That's before CPF even ![]()
Originally posted by Zilchster:
I agree the basic pay package for SBST and SMRT has to increase, but comparing to them to SIA. Goodness sake. You can't compare SBST (and I don't mean Comfort Delgro) to SIA. It's ludicruous. The intrinsics of business in operating an international airline is different from running a local bus company. It's like comparing apples to oranges.And do you have actual evidence to support that the cost of living in Singapore is in the top 10 of the world? Because if you look at this report here http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0933749.html , Singapore is at no 14. So before you want to make a claim, pls either google or access some academic database to produce some hard facts before rattling off like a machine gun based on what you think. Perhaps you should get out yourself a bit out of Singapore to decide if Singapore is really that expensive after all.
14 or 10 makes no differences.For low income workers like us yes we feel the pinch unlike you.FYI i've already owned a house,a car and 1 bike @ Malaysia.Its a matter of time i will migrate.And pls i dun need your advice enough of all the ruckus last time drooper boy!Mind your own bussiness i dun need your reply here.You yourself is not an ex-bus driver afterall.FYI my basic pay @ SIA is much lower than i've got at SBST/SMRT excluding the allowances and benefits.
wat a shame they resort to use tis sort of rubbish excuse to increase their profit... they reali tink sg ppl all lowly educated...
Originally posted by BrUtUs:wat a shame they resort to use tis sort of rubbish excuse to increase their profit... they reali tink sg ppl all lowly educated...
MOM approved mah,Admin happily do all the work.The losing end is the driver lor.Nowadays 2.5k are far from reach with the 72 hours limit OT workhours.
Originally posted by service_238:Let's see....
say 1 month 30 days
23 Weekdays
7 Weekends with the 1st starting on a Wednesday
This bus driver drives a split shift DD that xover to another service, assume no OT. Scheduled 4 OFF days in this 30-day month
Say basic pay is $1400 (obviously not entry-grade level),
DD = $104
split shift = $208
Xover = $23 (only weekdays)
Total: $1735
Assuming working on ALL 4 OFF days, 11.5 hours shift, drives DD and no split break: $993.20
And after maxing out the OT on his 26 days: $262.60Grand Total for this month: $2990.80
That's before CPF even
I believe this was years ago.With the 72 hours limit for OT and they encourage at least 2 days off(SBST) think it was very tough for the driver to score that.The new salary scheme contain a lot of allowances slashing which many peoples wouldn't know...
Originally posted by Zilchster:
I agree the basic pay package for SBST and SMRT has to increase, but comparing to them to SIA. Goodness sake. You can't compare SBST (and I don't mean Comfort Delgro) to SIA. It's ludicruous. The intrinsics of business in operating an international airline is different from running a local bus company. It's like comparing apples to oranges.And do you have actual evidence to support that the cost of living in Singapore is in the top 10 of the world? Because if you look at this report here http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0933749.html , Singapore is at no 14. So before you want to make a claim, pls either google or access some academic database to produce some hard facts before rattling off like a machine gun based on what you think. Perhaps you should get out yourself a bit out of Singapore to decide if Singapore is really that expensive after all.
I'm sure carbikebus meant to say SATS, not SIA. Anyway, that is some interesting figures. If you noticed, SG's ranking jumped from 17th to 14th in just 1 year. And that was a year ago. Since then, GST has increased, fuel prices have increased, transport fares have increased and who knows what else have increased. Surely, SG would have jump up the rankings again and make it into the top 10 by now. So even if SG wasn't the most expensive city, we are certainly heading that way at a fast rate. Perhaps its just he SG desire to become No. 1 at everything. ![]()
PS: Did you google or access some academic database to find out how much the wages for non-managerial positions have increased?![]()
SIA has some interest in SATS. Perhaps you can compare an unit of a larger company e.g. SBST (Comfort Delgro) vs SATS (SIA) but SBST to SIA. Does he expect bus drivers to be paid like pilots? The fundamentals of the job is quite similar, but I believe there are more technicalities in piloting a plane than a bus. And we have premium paying passengers on SIA, how premium can SBST and SMRT buses get?
I agree that the income of Singaporeans has not risen proportionately in relation to inflation. That is why we are feeling the pinch. But for someone who has ever been to the U.K, Australia and some European countries, you realise the standard of living there is much more higher than in Singapore. And I don't think Singapore is heading towards the most expensive city as yet. Our inflation IIRC is the league of Australia or Taiwan. In fact we are not the only country that is suffering from inflation. Taiwan too is suffering from it, with pay rises not in level with the inflation.
And if you think you cannot take the price increases in Singapore, leave! For people who want to migrate, find a country that will take you. Maybe Australia, N.Z, U.S. or U.K if you have the relevant skills and education of course. No point saying I own a house, car or bike in Malaysia. What's there to be glorious about? You want to brag, brag that you own a house in Tokyo or London. Now that is something.
Originally posted by Zilchster:SIA has some interest in SATS. Perhaps you can compare an unit of a larger company e.g. SBST (Comfort Delgro) vs SATS (SIA) but SBST to SIA. Does he expect bus drivers to be paid like pilots? The fundamentals of the job is quite similar, but I believe there are more technicalities in piloting a plane than a bus. And we have premium paying passengers on SIA, how premium can SBST and SMRT buses get?
I agree that the income of Singaporeans has not risen proportionately in relation to inflation. That is why we are feeling the pinch. But for someone who has ever been to the U.K, Australia and some European countries, you realise the standard of living there is much more higher than in Singapore. And I don't think Singapore is heading towards the most expensive city as yet. Our inflation IIRC is the league of Australia or Taiwan. In fact we are not the only country that is suffering from inflation. Taiwan too is suffering from it, with pay rises not in level with the inflation.
And if you think you cannot take the price increases in Singapore, leave! For people who want to migrate, find a country that will take you. Maybe Australia, N.Z, U.S. or U.K if you have the relevant skills and education of course. No point saying I own a house, car or bike in Malaysia. What's there to be glorious about? You want to brag, brag that you own a house in Tokyo or London. Now that is something.
And who the heck are you to ask me to leave?I think you forgot to take your vitamin pills that's why you always biased towards me.You like to pick on me why?Cause i speak broken English?Or is because i'm just a low educated Malay man?Dun use your university style English to me,its not recognised.Just mind your bloody bussiness thats all.I really feel like slapping someone now God damm it!
"And if you think you cannot take the price increases in Singapore, leave! " ![]()
Wah! What is this? Anyhow tell people to leave. Very arrogant indeed. That last paragraph is absolutely unneccessary. ![]()
Do you understand that the employment of China bus drivers
will increase the income gap between the rich and the poor further?
Let's say Singapore is an economy of 100 citizens.
Say the economy is fully employed, all 100 citizens have jobs,
then one day 5 citizens decided to resign from their clerical positions
and 5 citizens decided to resign from their jobs as "bus captains".
The 5 bus drivers want to take up clerical positions, the 5 clerical
officers want to remain in clerical line (just not in their previous company),
nobody wants to go into bus driving they feel that the pay is too low.
The bus company decides to outsource to China because manpower is cheaper,
ends up employing 5 bus drivers from China.
Then the 5 clerical positions that was vacant will be competed by 10 citizens.
Each of the 10 try to price themselves lower than the other so they can
gain employment.
Ultimately, the lower income earners end up with lower pay.
Therefore increasing the income gap (Gini Coefficient) further.
Cause tintinspastan went to drive a KTM locomotive instead...