In other developed countries there would be Unions to fight for the rights of these workers,
else working conditions will never change for the better. Singaporeans don't want to work,
fine, I will get even cheaper labour from China or India.
In Singapore you get a Union run by government sitting idly by collecting money,
if workers decide to take things into their hands and initiate a strike, they will
be put behind bars.
Originally posted by Zilchster:SIA has some interest in SATS. Perhaps you can compare an unit of a larger company e.g. SBST (Comfort Delgro) vs SATS (SIA) but SBST to SIA. Does he expect bus drivers to be paid like pilots? The fundamentals of the job is quite similar, but I believe there are more technicalities in piloting a plane than a bus. And we have premium paying passengers on SIA, how premium can SBST and SMRT buses get?
I agree that the income of Singaporeans has not risen proportionately in relation to inflation. That is why we are feeling the pinch. But for someone who has ever been to the U.K, Australia and some European countries, you realise the standard of living there is much more higher than in Singapore. And I don't think Singapore is heading towards the most expensive city as yet. Our inflation IIRC is the league of Australia or Taiwan. In fact we are not the only country that is suffering from inflation. Taiwan too is suffering from it, with pay rises not in level with the inflation.
And if you think you cannot take the price increases in Singapore, leave! For people who want to migrate, find a country that will take you. Maybe Australia, N.Z, U.S. or U.K if you have the relevant skills and education of course. No point saying I own a house, car or bike in Malaysia. What's there to be glorious about? You want to brag, brag that you own a house in Tokyo or London. Now that is something.
So do you know the term for that?
While it is true that inflation rates on whole are low in S'pore, please look carefully at the figures. You need to use the consumer price index before you come back and tell us. True, inflation is calculated from the CPI, but use your brain before you tell me that we should not complain. Different groups of people have different demands. Inflation is calculated as a whole and should not be regarded as a sure-fire indicator.
As for the last paragraph, I'm sorry, but you've failed to impress me. I expected such lousy uncouth remarks to appear only from speaker's corner. So much for what you said earlier that made you look smart, though you don't fool us.
Good ma ... employ those China pumpkins ....
See .....
The company save $$$ on labour cost ...
The $$$ routed into better bigger buses , more buses means better frequency ...
Better frequency means u'll have more seats , not standing , not good ?
So no need take taxis ... no need take MRT and sqeeze like a tin of sardines .
When S'poreans complaint , they have to react to those demands , like no seats , bus come late etc .... how to overcome these issues ?
One way is to cut a certain resources which balance up the book as well ....
A win-win la ..... Commuters win , company win .
Good la , employ thise china-man to drive a bus , then those Singaporean bus drivers nowhere to go , and with the taxi business lucrative enough for a switch , they switch to become a cabby lor ...
Then Singapore cabbies will be All-Singaporean affair .
I didi know that SMRT had recruited china drivers earlier than SBST. Moreover, they recurited 100 of them.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I didi know that SMRT had recruited china drivers earlier than SBST. Moreover, they recurited 100 of them.
Nope,SBST plans and recruit 20 first..Futhermore SBST had PR Chinaman BCs that we didn't notice
I think Sg bus drivers should just go and drive taxis and boycott SBS or SMRT. Both also drive on road, also fetch pple here and there. But taxi drivers can take longer breaks if they wish. OTOT drive, spend less time earn less, spend more time possibly earn more. Sometimes, a fixed timing can actually make one more stressful (bus driver).
But then, it gives reason for taxi companies to increase cab rental fees... Then because of increased rental fees, the drivers earn less... So need to increase cab fares again.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Nope,SBST plans and recruit 20 first..Futhermore SBST had PR Chinaman BCs that we didn't notice
I encounted one on S100 4 years ago ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:I think Sg bus drivers should just go and drive taxis and boycott SBS or SMRT. Both also drive on road, also fetch pple here and there. But taxi drivers can take longer breaks if they wish. OTOT drive, spend less time earn less, spend more time possibly earn more. Sometimes, a fixed timing can actually make one more stressful (bus driver).
But then, it gives reason for taxi companies to increase cab rental fees... Then because of increased rental fees, the drivers earn less... So need to increase cab fares again.
Well some of the ex-SBST & SMRT Drivers i did know drive private buses,Taxis or other delivery vehicles.Boycott?How?Like that almost every sector must boycott.Even SATS also have Chinaman.
Globalisation lah.![]()
was at wldep today.. saw a bunch of china BCs doing orientation at the depot..about 30 to 40.. OMG!
i hope they shower before they work & drive the buses.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Nope,SBST plans and recruit 20 first..Futhermore SBST had PR Chinaman BCs that we didn't notice
I saw the frontline show that they say SMRT had recurited some of the china driver since last november and they are starting work earliest next month.
Originally posted by sinicker:i hope they shower before they work & drive the buses.
What makes you think they don't shower before they work? No generalisation please.
Well, we won't know how good/bad they are until they are out on the streets. I guess we'll have to wait and see.