if this event also cant organise properly..
den wad will happen during WOG2010 le..![]()
lucky never go...![]()
Originally posted by a-Lost-9uY:if this event also cant organise properly..
den wad will happen during WOG2010 le..
Trial run lor. ![]()
Originally posted by Isis:
Trial run lor.
yes. ![]()
like trial run for the faregates at mrt stations.. ![]()
i know smrt handling the shuttles. so i never go.. aaaah
if sbstransit another thing leow. they will fight for more parking lots, they will organise queues. they will send ppl to guide. they will end bus every 3 min and buses no speed.
and is all full double deck fleet if sbs do. and yah standing will be allowed on sbs bus.
ZYX
Why SBS Transit buses have the advertisment and was not deploy to serve in the Air show? Isn't it a waste that the buses haveing a better service and better crowd control. On the other hand, i remembered SBS Transit buses were being deployed for MRT Shuttle for the Tanah Merah - Pasir Ris train distruption.
Originally posted by sbst275:
do you know there was lots of tourist there? Uniquely Singapore!
Of course i know as i was operating an apron handling which was forced to stop cause of the show
But anyway you anti-SMRT so much that even a slight mistakes you make it big issue,for what you dont gain anything mah,they're ardy screw up
Dunno want to cry or laugh
Now it's living in CMB's shadow
One of the cause of CMB's demise from bus op was because they screwed up bus op on an ad hoc event at the Peak on Sv 15... End up police gotta settled the event by using Police buses to bring ppl down from the Peak.
Tat event was kinda big cos it's like a marketed to tourist as well
Originally posted by sbst275:Dunno want to cry or laugh
Now it's living in CMB's shadow
One of the cause of CMB's demise from bus op was because they screwed up bus op on an ad hoc event at the Peak on Sv 15... End up police gotta settled the event by using Police buses to bring ppl down from the Peak.
Tat event was kinda big cos it's like a marketed to tourist as well
what is CMB?
Originally posted by Vigelic:
what is CMB?
China Motor Bus
bravo... the complains made it to TNP, mypaper on Tues 26 Feb...
Originally posted by Kohxingxia 87:can u all don,t say my favourite bus leh
No one wants to, they were once my fav service provider too, the yellow livery one...
Now new name and new management but in the states of the 70s...
Like it? Not...
And yet again,this prove another chance for a deadly bomb attack![]()
Even gahmen cant do anything much,all kakilangs.the most another company take over also gahmen related!There's hell lots of admin & operation staffs who is ex-TIBS & SBS @ SATS & CIAS DNATA currently.
pardon me for being ignorant abt the shuttle buses for the airshow:
- Pasir Ris shuttle is free. from what i read from previous posts, Expo shuttle is chargeable; so what's the fare?
- i checked SMRT webpage but found no postings of the Pasir Ris and Expo shuttle services. i checked airshow 2008 official webpage www.singaporeairshow.com.sg/ but found instead "SBS Transit services operating from Expo MRT at $5.00 per trip" But it turned out to be SMRT Buses instead. Where on earth did visitors got to know the Pasir Ris route?
- Based on earlier post, SMRT did not allow standing onboard buses on day 1; which i think is ridiculuous, since its not a premium service (and even free!). Also, the seated capacity of bendies are far fewer than SBST DDs!
- i think the excessive queues for Pasir Ris shuttle can greatly shortened by imposing a similar fare as the Expo shuttle; to encourage more pax to be spreaded to Expo. Also, part of Expo carpark can be converted into a massive queueing area with installation of giant tentages.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:...
- Based on earlier post, SMRT did not allow standing onboard buses on day 1; which i think is ridiculuous, since its not a premium service (and even free!). Also, the seated capacity of bendies are far fewer than SBST DDs!
Ah yeah well I am a bit confused over this part; does it mean that Expo shuttles are the ones that standing is prohibited, the PSR one or both?
In fact 105 percent load did happen...

If you did read the ads on the papers, it's written as ferry svc from Pasir Ris Int to Singapore Airshow
i was shocked SMRT handled the ferry svc as Airshow ads were plastered on SBST DDs, SDs.
All Airshows ferry svcs depart fr Pasir Ris Int, so organisers would not want to change that, the reason for Expo station not being chosen is to reduce confusion of pple actuaaly stopping at Changi Airport Station. For Pasir Ris station pple would know it's the end of the east line, no nd to be confuse where to alight coz it's the last stop.
SMRT buses did allow pple to stand till the door and standing is allowed on the bus as witnessed by me at the show on saturday for Pasir Ris MRT ferry
Bad thing about SMRt was buses were parking along Pasir Ris Dr 3 near the junction of Pasir Ris St 52, making it difficult for sv15 to turn right into Pasir Ris Dr 3. ![]()
SMRT buses were idling along Pasir Ris Dr 3 when there should waiting to pick up passengers os Pasir Ris MRT station.
The queue as at 1100hrs on sat began at the junction of Pasir Ris Central[nearer to Downtown East side, where sv89 turns right],Pasir Ris Dr 3.
By 1145hrs, 3 police cars and 2 hilux pickups in Pasir Ris Int with MIBs figuring what to do.
For info, the queue is from the bus stop diagonally to Pasir Ris Int, turn at the sheltered walkway to the station entrance facing white sands, u turn up again up to the sheltered walkway at the interchange turn right into the interchange proper to the other side of the interchange end out to the field near the junction of Pasir Ris Central n Pasir Ris Dr 3[junction where sv89 turns right]
LOuSY planning!
Double Post...
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:
Ah yeah well I am a bit confused over this part; does it mean that Expo shuttles are the ones that standing is prohibited, the PSR one or both?
In fact 105 percent load did happen...
There is seldom a 100% load factor on Singapore buses, the total capacity on the buses are often overrated. If not, why had PTC given the two companies a good loading factor. The loophole, I believe, is that they use the MLW, and not the space required for a person to stand in, to calculate maximum number of passengers a bus can carry. The only times a bus can carry more than 105% is when people stand on the upper deck of a DD, with the lower deck packed.
I think the reason why you see some buses full and why some buses are not is that, there is simply no coordination between the drivers, SMRT HQ staff and the Police. SMRT HQ staff just required the buses to be fully seated, while the police (if you do overhear their conversation) assume that the buses should be full, and if there are people who wants to board, they let them board. Its the chaotic situation which causes some buses to be full and some just full seating.
This airshow is screwed, they (the organizers) just don't learn from Reed Exhibitions sucess and assumed that they were well planned for the event.
Originally posted by Scania:There is seldom a 100% load factor on Singapore buses, the total capacity on the buses are often overrated. If not, why had PTC given the two companies a good loading factor. The loophole, I believe, is that they use the MLW, and not the space required for a person to stand in, to calculate maximum number of passengers a bus can carry. The only times a bus can carry more than 105% is when people stand on the upper deck of a DD, with the lower deck packed.
I think the reason why you see some buses full and why some buses are not is that, there is simply no coordination between the drivers, SMRT HQ staff and the Police. SMRT HQ staff just required the buses to be fully seated, while the police (if you do overhear their conversation) assume that the buses should be full, and if there are people who wants to board, they let them board. Its the chaotic situation which causes some buses to be full and some just full seating.
This airshow is screwed, they (the organizers) just don't learn from Reed Exhibitions sucess and assumed that they were well planned for the event.
Its sadly the fact that such 'success' is often overshadowing all those other failure, but no one in the 'higher authority' will remember about the bad oart, while we citizens have to continue suffer under this...
Yeah, I am not too sure about the exact load, but what '105%' means in my dictionary is that passengers stand on the front staircase. Each staircase well is counted as 5 percent, and the maximum number of passengers that can squeeze onto a bus is 110 percent for the 12 metre and 115 percent for bendies. This si not really 'total load x 105%' but meerly the percentage of cram/squeeze.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:pardon me for being ignorant abt the shuttle buses for the airshow:
- i checked SMRT webpage but found no postings of the Pasir Ris and Expo shuttle services. i checked airshow 2008 official webpage www.singaporeairshow.com.sg/ but found instead "SBS Transit services operating from Expo MRT at $5.00 per trip" But it turned out to be SMRT Buses instead. Where on earth did visitors got to know the Pasir Ris route?
http://www.singaporeairshow.com.sg/visit-public-day.asp
Read in great detail because it appears only on one line.
i'd have missed the shuttle service part if not for your hint! Anyway, the airshow official website is not user-friendly. Important notes should have been made clearer and more visible.
Replying to Acx1688's post:
if SMRT is afraid of pax forgetting to alight at Expo and blur blur travel all the way to Changi Airport, they should have made an announcement onboard the train to inform pax to alight at the next station; Expo, for those going to the Airshow and transfer onto the shuttle buses. They can make ammouncements for svc 950 but not this? In this case, some pax load can then be even out to Expo instead of majority jamming up at PSR.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:i'd have missed the shuttle service part if not for your hint! Anyway, the airshow official website is not user-friendly. Important notes should have been made clearer and more visible.
Replying to Acx1688's post:
if SMRT is afraid of pax forgetting to alight at Expo and blur blur travel all the way to Changi Airport, they should have made an announcement onboard the train to inform pax to alight at the next station; Expo, for those going to the Airshow and transfer onto the shuttle buses. They can make ammouncements for svc 950 but not this? In this case, some pax load can then be even out to Expo instead of majority jamming up at PSR.
Bro,
Different shuttle route serve different purposes..
The Expo Shuttle are meant for those who are driving, but dont want to spend $50 to park at site. So, they were encouraged to park at EXPO and take the $5 Shuttle over to the AirShow. Thats why you would have notice that only 12m rigid are being deployed on this route.
The PSR Shuttle are meant for the general public who take public transport to the AirShow, thus the reason on why you find all the bendies deployed on this route.
The Orchard/Marina Shuttle are actually meant for the trade visitors. Thus the reason why you see coaches from private companies being deployed on this route.
You have the same arrangement with the Asian Aerospace in the past. Full DDs for PSR shuttle and MK4s on the EXPO shuttle.