Originally posted by n4l:Most of the drivers are quite nice, probably because they have their tinge of humanity - I've ever gotten a free ride because I didn't have any coins and my EZLink didn't have cash, and I too, got a free ride because of a stupid mistake I made on the bus while tapping my EZLink (this was when they just updated the software to show "green" when a concession pass has no money...I didn't know and just walked in, thinking they had made a new sound for concession holders - driver didn't care less either).
I think is is what is sorely missing in our public transit system - the human factor. Sometimes, I feel our public transit system has grown to be too systematic, faceless, clockwork-like, robotic, and Stalinist - and while I can understand the reason why there has to be systematic clockwork-like deployment of our buses and trains, I feel that many of the human interactions between commuter and public transit company has fallen victim to this same clockwork mechanism. Like all these bus fare incidents, I can't help but feel that these people are robots programmed to insist on only one thing and is incapable of looking at things another way - simply because for them, it doesn't exist.
This, I have always felt, is the real reason behind why our public transit system is such a mess.
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:I think is is what is sorely missing in our public transit system - the human factor. Sometimes, I feel our public transit system has grown to be too systematic, faceless, clockwork-like, robotic, and Stalinist - and while I can understand the reason why there has to be systematic clockwork-like deployment of our buses and trains, I feel that many of the human interactions between commuter and public transit company has fallen victim to this same clockwork mechanism. Like all these bus fare incidents, I can't help but feel that these people are robots programmed to insist on only one thing and is incapable of looking at things another way - simply because for them, it doesn't exist.
This, I have always felt, is the real reason behind why our public transit system is such a mess.
Too much humanity doesn't work too. Singaporeans being Singaporeans, in particular those with the kiasu-ness, will abuse it.
I don't blame the companies for being so stiff - after all, they are answerable to shareholders on profits and they have to make profits in our corporate environment to survive. I doubt the Government gives them any cash/aid - for gods sake, they even have to pay PTC/Govt to run a route I think, and with all the ridiculous restrictions restricting them (such as the territory rule which imo, needs to be abolished), it doesn't make things any better.
must have been a busy day for Tammy Tan today!!! ![]()
still no answer? STOMP didnt contact SBSTransit anyway.
Strange notice on SBS Bus, says STOMPer
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=38454
Originally posted by sinicker:must have been a busy day for Tammy Tan today!!!
still no answer? STOMP didnt contact SBSTransit anyway.
Someone spam her. ![]()
Originally posted by QX179R:Strange notice on SBS Bus, says STOMPer
Well... it's really not too strange, but that message is indeed a bit weird if you think about it. The Chinese message did say that the hammer is used to break the glass window in an emergency, but it's not explicitly stated in the English message.
Maybe a better wording could have been: "In case of emergency, use the hammer to break the window glass."
Originally posted by Oceane:
They should be sacked for their rash and inconsiderate actions.
accordingly to Sin Min Daily News, Tammy Tan have reply and say sorry (yet again) regarding this incident. The ticket inspector will be deal with.
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Well... it's really not too strange, but that message is indeed a bit weird if you think about it. The Chinese message did say that the hammer is used to break the glass window in an emergency, but it's not explicitly stated in the English message.
Maybe a better wording could have been: "In case of emergency, use the hammer to break the window glass."
Because it is understood by the general public as a shorthand - the exceptions are Stompers as they don't have any brains to begin with.
Originally posted by lemon1974:accordingly to Sin Min Daily News, Tammy Tan have reply and say sorry (yet again) regarding this incident. The ticket inspector will be deal with.
which date ah? i think i gt that newspaper
73 another tight one (especially during off-peak hours). Mercedes speeding down Lorong Chuan and Serangoon Garden Way.
you should look at 200 too, especially with those blind corners
Originally posted by n4l:Because it is understood by the general public as a shorthand - the exceptions are Stompers as they don't have any brains to begin with.
That's usually the case, isn't it?
Originally posted by JJxJJ:you should look at 200 too, especially with those blind corners
That sounds dangerous! I can't imagine it meeting an accident in the Bunoa Vista area, where the roads are winding, hilly, and narrow - it will be a disaster!
Originally posted by JaSoNhSu92:
which date ah? i think i gt that newspaper
Yesterday's.
Originally posted by QX179R:Strange notice on SBS Bus, says STOMPer
There is a "EMERGENCY EXIT" Sign on top of that sticker+The hammer had been indicated 'FOR EMERGENCY USE ONLY"
Dun see any need for the fuss
Bus fails to keep to bus lane during rush hour
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=39067
Originally posted by QX179R:Bus fails to keep to bus lane during rush hour
if i remember correctly, there's one related article saying about this too...
I still remember someone said this b4 at the forum, "Bus lane is exclusive use what... is up to the bus driver whether to use or not."
New LTA initiatives for timely travel infomation
SINGAPORE: The Land Transport Authority has kicked off two new initiatives – a transport portal and a message service.
PublicTransport@SG is a one-stop public transport portal that provides information covering all public transport operators.
Another initiative is a real-time Short Message Service (SMS) bus arrival information service.
The SMS service will be on trial for six months beginning October 10,
2008, and will cover 166 bus stops along the Western academic belt,
which includes National University of Singapore and Singapore
Polytechnic.
- CNA/yt
Originally posted by QX179R:New LTA initiatives for timely travel infomation
SINGAPORE: The Land Transport Authority has kicked off two new initiatives – a transport portal and a message service.
PublicTransport@SG is a one-stop public transport portal that provides information covering all public transport operators.
Another initiative is a real-time Short Message Service (SMS) bus arrival information service.
The SMS service will be on trial for six months beginning October 10, 2008, and will cover 166 bus stops along the Western academic belt, which includes National University of Singapore and Singapore Polytechnic.
- CNA/yt
=D
I've seen many cases of "bullying" by SBS Transit BCs, students with uniforms are requested to show their EZ-Link card and etc. There was once when I wanted to retain the value in my EZ-Link card to take MRT home and hence I had to pay cash on a S130 bus. The driver asked me to show him my EZ-Link card and that was exactly what I did. However, he still asked me to tap my EZ-Link card on the card reader and when it showed that it still had value, he questioned me on why I still had to pay cash. I felt like telling him off at the right instant, on that spot (and with my school uniform) that bus drivers have no right to tell passengers which mode of payment they wish to use on board the bus.
Is there a reason why they need to check? Because I saw a sign at the BC's lefthandside mini door saying smth about needing to check. The knn driver that day waste my money. I put in $1 and he still ask me to tap, what'smore he didn't allow me to pass unless I tap it. Secon experience: On 59 after school (still in uniform)I didn't bring ez-link so I put 55c. BC kp liao. "Where is your ez-link?" reply> "If I got bring I still put cash for what?!" then she like nothing to say and let me go. Somemore she still drive wrong route in th end.. Act da pai? Don't know..
Originally posted by Stage:Is there a reason why they need to check? Because I saw a sign at the BC's lefthandside mini door saying smth about needing to check. The knn driver that day waste my money. I put in $1 and he still ask me to tap, what'smore he didn't allow me to pass unless I tap it. Secon experience: On 59 after school (still in uniform)I didn't bring ez-link so I put 55c. BC kp liao. "Where is your ez-link?" reply> "If I got bring I still put cash for what?!" then she like nothing to say and let me go. Somemore she still drive wrong route in th end.. Act da pai? Don't know..
the BC ask you to tap is to check whether ur card is vaild for concession. No money is deducted. Even if value is being deducted from ur card, u can always request the BC to cancel ur trip.
Originally posted by sBs_boy:the BC ask you to tap is to check whether ur card is vaild for concession. No money is deducted. Even if value is being deducted from ur card, u can always request the BC to cancel ur trip.
The problem is, some BCs refuse to cancel trip.
Originally posted by 566117:The problem is, some BCs refuse to cancel trip.
Or they act blur pretend dont know how.
Originally posted by 566117:The problem is, some BCs refuse to cancel trip.
There is always transitlink office for u to claim.
Originally posted by QX179R:Bus fails to keep to bus lane during rush hour
This picture is taken at Eu Tong Sen St at its junction with Upp Cross St.
The SBST Mercedes Benz O405 Mk I with Service No 145 on the left is not turning left into Upp Cross St, but staying to the leftmost lane allowing it to go straight to the bus stop outside People's Park Centre.
The SMRT Mercedes Benz O405 Mk II with Service No 970 on the third lane is on its way to turn right into Upp Pickering St at the next junction.
This is stupid.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:This picture is taken at Eu Tong Sen St at its junction with Upp Cross St.
The SBST Mercedes Benz O405 Mk I with Service No 145 on the left is not turning left into Upp Cross St, but staying to the leftmost lane allowing it to go straight to the bus stop outside People's Park Centre.
The SMRT Mercedes Benz O405 Mk II with Service No 970 on the third lane is on its way to turn right into Upp Pickering St at the next junction.
This is stupid.
If i'm not wrong its the 2nd time that place was STOMPed. First time involved a S61 bus if i remember correctly. Topic is also on the issue of buses using non-bus lanes.