A Bus not a sports car (TODAY 20/5/2008)
Reckless manoeuvres bybus driver almost caused a serious accident
Letter from GERALDINE CHAY MEI FONG
ON FRIDAY at around 10.45am, my husband and I were in our car in the middle lane of Thomson Road, towards Marymount Road in the direction of Ang Mo Kio, near the Old Police Academy. There were no cars in front of us. Suddenly, the driver of an SMRT-Tibs “bendy bus” (Service 851) accelerated from the bus lane and cut into the middle lane ahead of us to avoid some road works in the bus lane. The bus almost hit the left side of our vehicle, where I was seated. The bus driver’s rash actions forced my
husband to suddenly apply his brakes and we had to come to a stop in the middle lane for quite a while to wait for the bus to pass. If we hadn’t stopped in time, I believe
a serious accident would have taken place. My husband couldn’t swerve into the right
lane to avoid the bus as there were other vehicles in that lane. The bus driver could
have also caused a pile-up if the traffic had been heavier. The bus driver had no qualms about endangering the lives of other road users and that of his passengers. He should have stayed in his lane and made sure the road was clear before changing lanes. I would like an explanation from SMRTTibs for the actions of bus drivers who
drive their buses like sports cars.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Number of 811 buses sufficent
(mypaper: 20/05/2008)
I REFER to Mr Chng Guan Poh’s suggestion to introduce more buses for loop service 811 between 8am and 8.30am (my paper,May 12). SMRT plans its bus frequency and capacity based on passenger demand. Our checks showed that the current service frequency of about six minutes from Yishun Bus Interchange is adequate to meet passengers’ demand during that time.We thank Mr Chng for his feedback.
Ms Kuek Chor Ling
Manager, Corporate
Marketing and
Communications
SMRT Corporation Ltd
*fumes*
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:
omg...another case. that time got 961, this time reverse, 169...
Originally posted by nenepokey:omg...another case. that time got 961, this time reverse, 169...
Apparently the male in his twenties saw the BC looking at him and kind of became pissed off and started attacking him, verbally and physically.
I have no comments for such people.
eh... for tat SBS n SMRT comments
Pls and remember most ppl still think it's Tibs or SMRT... or even best Tibs is Transitlink
as for chiong... I dun care being tight or watever, you get into an accident you waste more time or even lose your license if any accident goes fatal
'tight schedule' is just an useless excuse for causing near accident
Nobody saw 8103K on 100 and 1218R on 190?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
haha, ST and BH had 8103K and ZB and TM had 1218R.
Ok lah, give Chinese version in color :P
Originally posted by Oceane:
Apparently the male in his twenties saw the BC looking at him and kind of became pissed off and started attacking him, verbally and physically.I have no comments for such people.
Walau. I pity the poor wife/girlfriend, so unlucky choose such a disgusting guy.
Originally posted by Scania:Nobody saw 8103K on 100 and 1218R on 190?
I saw 8103K on 232 today.
Originally posted by Scania:Nobody saw 8103K on 100 and 1218R on 190?
I believe the 8103K could be a fake, but 1218R on 190 is possible.
Originally posted by Oceane:
I believe the 8103K could be a fake, but 1218R on 190 is possible.
The TIB1218R is fake too. Saw it today (23 May) on 812 with no special livery whatsoever, just the usual drab SMRT red garbs. It may well have ran 190 that day but dont think the special paintjob was there.
Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:The TIB1218R is fake too. Saw it today (23 May) on 812 with no special livery whatsoever, just the usual drab SMRT red garbs. It may well have ran 190 that day but dont think the special paintjob was there.
The ad is fake. It was a photo edit. But 1218R on 190 is possible. Not totally possible but there is a certain probability it could have done 190 on the day the person took this photo.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
I saw 8103K on 232 today.
Never look at newspaper on Wednesday.....
8103K is confirm fake la, saw the bus the day before the ad came out. but ad looks nice on the Scania.
"Bus driver did not stop bus even when the bell was rung five times!"
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=23719
Originally posted by QX179R:"Bus driver did not stop bus even when the bell was rung five times!"
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=23719
At least the Stomper got the company correct, not SBS 167 or Tibs 167.
Originally posted by stooper:At least the Stomper got the company correct, not SBS 167 or Tibs 167.
And Not SMRTTibs 167 or CSS167
Upside down bus number spotted!
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=24366
Today Sin Ming :
A BC got into afight with a passenger.
A man was hit for talking loudly on Mobile in the bus.
That STOMPER KNS lah! an upside down 72 back desto also Kao pei
Upside down front desto.....I've seen 88 do that at least 5 times already.
Originally posted by QX179R:Upside down bus number spotted!
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=24366
Walau this kind of thing also stomp... that guy is baby ah isit?
I thought the STOMPer was referring to the front desto upside down, then when I went to the page... CHEY!!! Saw that many times already...