RIP.....
Originally posted by bus555:
The bus was at the centre of the road (thanks choww for checking it out) towards at Lor 8 slip rd towards Braddell Rd. Its as good as a road closure and buses went crazy with lots of half routes and downroutes during morning peak.
56-minute wait for bus? Luckily, just a faulty display board
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=46362
56-minute wait for bus? Luckily, just a faulty display board
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=46362
Double posting? Luckily, just a forum software glitch.
(
)
Actually, I will be hardly surprised if those are the real timings for that particular route...
In regards to the accident at Toa Payoh, I just spoke with my dad (I have a lot of parternal relatives living there - my late grandmother used to live there, and I have a few uncles and an aunt and their families up there in the neighbourhood where the accident occurred too, so my dad is familar with the people and surroundings there), and he says the victim was someone known to my relatives living there; my dad says he doesn't know her well personally, but she used to live in the same kampung (village) as my dad.
Listening to the reports, and being familar myself with the area too, I can theorise that it was most likely the victim's fault; she was riding out of the carpark onto the side road, and I find it unlikely that she could have missed seeing something as big as a bus unless she was not paying attention and was riding at speed. There's a good reason why there are stop signs at intersections without traffic lights, like the one where the accident occurred; it's to get motorists (I consider cyclists who cycle on the roads to be a motorist) to slow down and stop, and to look for and avoid collision with oncoming traffic on the main road. Quite likely, she was:
Of course, as I'm not a witness and an investigator, these are only at best intelligent guesses.
Even then, no matter what exactly happened, I hope this can serve as an important reminder to other motorists out there (especially cyclists and motorcyclists) to obey the Stop sign and stop at the intersection to check if the coast is clear before continuing. Personally, whenever I cycle and come across a Stop sign, I always at least slow to a crawl - and if I know I'm coming onto a busy road or a road whose traffic conditions I'm unfamilar with, I stop, even if the coast seems clear. Rushing through the sign might bring fatal consequences, as it happened to the poor woman here.
I hope she can rest in peace. ![]()
Originally posted by bus555:
if they wanna blame, shoudl blame the KUb? i guess
I want to know if the K230UB's registration ends in an 8 (or some other number considered lucky to the Chinese).
If it is, then are they also going to start skipping registrations ending in that number? Or are they going to see it as a fluke?
This whole registration skipping thing is simply ridiculous; any bus with any registration number can have such things happen to it (I wish for the day when SBS 8888D gets involved in some nasty accident or - better - gets burned up). If they still continue to skip registrations, it then goes to show how illogical they really are - haven't they realised that there will be headaches later on?
Can you trust a company supersitious like this to run a business well?
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:I want to know if the K230UB's registration ends in an 8 (or some other number considered lucky to the Chinese).
If it is, then are they also going to start skipping registrations ending in that number? Or are they going to see it as a fluke?
This whole registration skipping thing is simply ridiculous; any bus with any registration number can have such things happen to it (I wish for the day when SBS 8888D gets involved in some nasty accident or - better - gets burned up). If they still continue to skip registrations, it then goes to show how illogical they really are - haven't they realised that there will be headaches later on?
Can you trust a company supersitious like this to run a business well?
Would they had any loss if they dun use the nos?
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:In regards to the accident at Toa Payoh, I just spoke with my dad (I have a lot of parternal relatives living there - my late grandmother used to live there, and I have a few uncles and an aunt and their families up there in the neighbourhood where the accident occurred too, so my dad is familar with the people and surroundings there), and he says the victim was someone known to my relatives living there; my dad says he doesn't know her well personally, but she used to live in the same kampung (village) as my dad.
Listening to the reports, and being familar myself with the area too, I can theorise that it was most likely the victim's fault; she was riding out of the carpark onto the side road, and I find it unlikely that she could have missed seeing something as big as a bus unless she was not paying attention and was riding at speed. There's a good reason why there are stop signs at intersections without traffic lights, like the one where the accident occurred; it's to get motorists (I consider cyclists who cycle on the roads to be a motorist) to slow down and stop, and to look for and avoid collision with oncoming traffic on the main road. Quite likely, she was:
- not paying attention to the road, and was also riding quickly out of the carpark without slowing or stopping,
- paying attention, but was cycling too quickly out of the carpark to notice and avoid the bus in time, or
- riding slowly out, but was not paying enough attention to the road and missed seeing the bus until it was too late.
Of course, as I'm not a witness and an investigator, these are only at best intelligent guesses.
Even then, no matter what exactly happened, I hope this can serve as an important reminder to other motorists out there (especially cyclists and motorcyclists) to obey the Stop sign and stop at the intersection to check if the coast is clear before continuing. Personally, whenever I cycle and come across a Stop sign, I always at least slow to a crawl - and if I know I'm coming onto a busy road or a road whose traffic conditions I'm unfamilar with, I stop, even if the coast seems clear. Rushing through the sign might bring fatal consequences, as it happened to the poor woman here.
I hope she can rest in peace.
Its also quite hard for a Scania to chiong there, the Mercs can do so, but drivers driving Scanias tend to be slower, due to the slope of the bridge, the bridge walls also pose a blind spot for drivers driving there.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Would they had any loss if they dun use the nos?
Well, remember that SBS Transit may be starting to run of registration numbers in the SBS range, thanks to a not-very-efficient use of blocks of registration numbers in the past. Unless they are willing to use the odd gaps left in some blocks, or unless they are allowed to recycle registration numbers (the latter being unlikely), skipping registration numbers will only hasten the exhaustion.
The only significantly largely-free blocks left that I'm aware of are mostly in the 9700's, 9900's, and 7500's to 7900's. SBS Transit probably has about 600 (not using gaps) to perhaps about 700 to 900 (using gaps - hazard guess) spaces left in the SBS registration for them to use - not enough for them if they are going to carry out a large-scale bus fleet replacement.
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Well, remember that SBS Transit may be starting to run of registration numbers in the SBS range, thanks to a not-very-efficient use of blocks of registration numbers in the past. Unless they are willing to use the odd gaps left in some blocks, or unless they are allowed to recycle registration numbers (the latter being unlikely), skipping registration numbers will only hasten the exhaustion.
The only significantly largely-free blocks left that I'm aware of are mostly in the 9700's, 9900's, and 7500's to 7900's. SBS Transit probably has about 600 (not using gaps) to perhaps about 700 to 900 (using gaps - hazard guess) spaces left in the SBS registration for them to use - not enough for them if they are going to carry out a large-scale bus fleet replacement.
0XXX, 1XXX (almost), 4XXX, 6XXX fully used.
SBS2839K to SBS2987R (exclusive of SBS2888T), SBS3923T to SBS3999A, SBS5625R to SBS5999L and what you have just mentioned hasn't been used yet. They can always reuse their rego like how SJE reuses theirs.
Originally posted by QX179R:Female cyclist in her 50s killed in a road accident involving an SBS bus
A woman cyclist was killed in a road accident this morning involving an SBS bus, along Lorong 8 Toa Payoh in central Singapore.
Police received a call at about 6.30am.
The cyclist, known as Madam Pang, was in her 50s.
She was pronounced dead by paramedics.
According to witnesses, when the accident happened, the bus was on the main road going straight, while the cyclist was coming out from a side road.
Police are investigating the accident. -- 938Live
it is out in Shin Min 
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Hmph. WIth SMRT bus drivers speeding and driving so recklessly, I'm surprised that fatal accidents involving SMRT buses don't happen more often. Three seperate personal occasions, thre seperate days (including one today), three seperate bus routes - 851, 855, and 960 - and three seperate buses (respectively, TIB 1023K, TIB 932T, and TIB 1242U), all were driven by mad speeding bus drivers. The one driving route 851 did several other things that made me go straight up to the passenger service centre to complain once I got off at Yishun Interchange, the one driving route 855 made at least three near-misses, and the one driving route 960 just flew straight through Woodlands Road, jamming the brakes at bus stops and red lights.
If this continues, SMRT is really going to live up to it's name - if you understand some Slavic languages (i.e. languages spoken in eastern Europe, generally) - according to Wikipedia, "smrt" means "death" in many Slavic languages.
By then, the only guranteed safe roads in Singapore will be in Punggol (I hope people get this one)...
Yesterday I took TIB914X on Sv 853 at around 11pm
The bus was speeding and when the BC saw someone flagging for the bus, he will open the door of the entrance first then slow down to stop....
Originally posted by gorby107:
The bus was speeding and when the BC saw someone flagging for the bus, he will open the door of the entrance first then slow down to stop....
That's also typical for the HG Standby BC. =DDD
Likely a habit carried over from the old days, when some bus drivers will open the door while the bus is still approaching the bus stop from several tens or hundreds of metres away, and then close the door long after the bus had left the stop.
At least they do keep the door closed at other times - in the old days, some didn't even bother to close the front door.
My Paper - 17th Dec 2008
BUSES GIVE OFF BLACK FUMES
I HAVE noticed that public buses seem to be emitting more black exhaust fumes when they move off from a stationary position. Black fumes are extremely pollutive, and I remember that back in the old days, the former Registry of Vehicles (now the Land Transport Authority) had a unit which did an effective job of collecting fines from drivers whose vehicles emitted black fumes. Is the problem due to a lower grade of diesel being used? Or could it be that the maintenance standards for public buses have dropped? Also, why are buses not using compressed natural gas?
Mr Wong Yew Chuen
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
1. The observation tally with mine.......fair
2. But the underline words make me laugh, there are CNG bus in SG
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:My Paper - 17th Dec 2008
BUSES GIVE OFF BLACK FUMES
I HAVE noticed that public buses seem to be emitting more black exhaust fumes when they move off from a stationary position. Black fumes are extremely pollutive, and I remember that back in the old days, the former Registry of Vehicles (now the Land Transport Authority) had a unit which did an effective job of collecting fines from drivers whose vehicles emitted black fumes. Is the problem due to a lower grade of diesel being used? Or could it be that the maintenance standards for public buses have dropped? Also, why are buses not using compressed natural gas?
Mr Wong Yew Chuen
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
1. The observation tally with mine.......fair
2. But the underline words make me laugh, there are CNG bus in SG
Maybe he has not seen any CNG bus before? or he don't know that it's actually CNG bus when he saw it..?
Lolx... This happens very common for Nissan UDs SLs (particularly on Service 178, 852, 920, ex-921). Not sure if those MIC SLs follow suit or not but some/most of the Malaysian/Singaporean SLs do that..
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Well, remember that SBS Transit may be starting to run of registration numbers in the SBS range, thanks to a not-very-efficient use of blocks of registration numbers in the past. Unless they are willing to use the odd gaps left in some blocks, or unless they are allowed to recycle registration numbers (the latter being unlikely), skipping registration numbers will only hasten the exhaustion.
Really not an issue. Better to play safe. There are still lots of no left. Dun be shocked if they use SBSTXXXX one day.
Originally posted by TIB1062Y:Maybe he has not seen any CNG bus before? or he don't know that it's actually CNG bus when he saw it..?
next time must use this desto
CNG 143.....le......
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Really not an issue. Better to play safe. There are still lots of no left. Dun be shocked if they use SBSTXXXX one day.
SBT maybe......
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:SBT maybe......
Wrong. STB. SBSTransit Buses
Follow SMB style eh?
They could use back the old regos since they are deregistered and are free, like SBS 1 or something. (i don't know LTA ruling so pardon me). If not they really may need to change the first 3 letters to SBT.
@8033D STB ==> Singapore Tourism Board have this acronym, abit odd for SBST to use and too similar to SMRT's SMB letter
Originally posted by TIB537B:Follow SMB style eh?
They could use back the old regos since they are deregistered and are free, like SBS 1 or something. (i don't know LTA ruling so pardon me). If not they really may need to change the first 3 letters to SBT.
@8033D STB ==> Singapore Tourism Board have this acronym, abit odd for SBST to use and too similar to SMRT's SMB letter
Thanks for speaking what i wish to say.......
i knew it was a kub :(