Originally posted by TIB537B:Follow SMB style eh?
They could use back the old regos since they are deregistered and are free, like SBS 1 or something. (i don't know LTA ruling so pardon me). If not they really may need to change the first 3 letters to SBT.
@8033D STB ==> Singapore Tourism Board have this acronym, abit odd for SBST to use and too similar to SMRT's SMB letter
correct me if im wrong, but i thought SBT is already used for registering public cars? i remembered seeing cars with first 3 letters being SBT.
Originally posted by BusSpeeder:correct me if im wrong, but i thought SBT is already used for registering public cars? i remembered seeing cars with first 3 letters being SBT.
public cars? isit govt cars?
Seems SBS painted itself to a corner le.
Originally posted by TIB537B:
public cars? isit govt cars?Seems SBS painted itself to a corner le.
SBT has already been used to register private passenger cars in 1991
A 52-YEAR-OLD man who was ferrying students and teachers in his private coach lost his cool when another bus cut into his lane along Farrer Road last May.
He trailed the bus, SMRT service no. 961, to a nearby bus stop, where he confronted and later punched driver Mr Wong Kam Weng, 36, before driving off.
On Wednesday, Yeo Teck Kiang showed no expression when he was jailed for five weeks in a district court for voluntarily hurting Mr Wong.
The court heard that after the incident, Mr Wong, who suffered from a swelling on his head, sought treatment at a polyclinic and was given three days' medical leave.
Pleading for leniency, Yeo's lawyer Mr Shashi Nathan said that the court must distinguish between a case where a member of the public attacks a public transport worker and one where an altercation occurs between two such workers.
He said: 'Moreover, the injuries sustained were very minor.'
However Assistant Public Prosecutor Nicholas Ngoh retorted that Yeo's actions would have been seen by young impressionable students who were on board the coach.
Calling Yeo the 'sole aggressor', Mr Ngoh added that it would send the wrong message that violence on the road is condoned.
According to court documents, Yeo had driven onto a flyover along Lornie Road on May 14, 2007, ferrying students and teachers to Dunman High School from Tampines MRT Station.
But when his coach entered Farrer Road, the traffic lanes merged and Yeo noticed that Mr Wong had cut into his lane.
Enraged, he followed behind Mr Wong's bus until it stopped at a bus stop opposite Queens Road Wet Market to pick up and allow passengers to alight.
As Mr Wong pulled out of the bus stop, Yeo overtook his bus and stopped alongside it. Opening the passenger door of his coach, Yeo confronted Mr Wong as he had been unhappy that the bus had blocked him at the bus stop.
Mr Wong wound down the driver's window of the bus and a heated dispute ensued, ending in Yeo throwing him a punch on his left cheek.
When a bus passenger, who had seen what had happened, shouted at the two men, Yeo returned to his seat and drove off. --ST
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:I hope she can rest in peace.
Its a pity that the lady loss her life. Hope the BC will be fine and not be sacked or quit due to this incident. He is a long time perm 238 senior bc..
Originally posted by choww:Its a pity that the lady loss her life. Hope the BC will be fine and not be sacked or quit due to this incident. He is a long time perm 238 senior bc..
i dont think BC will be let off so easily... he killed someone, u know.
Originally posted by jayh272416:
But there will still be times when its the cyclist fault and not the BC fault.
Just hope that the CCTVs will come in handy and bring out the truth.
The BC already felt bad enough having an accident that caused someone's life. If he was sacked because of it, then that'll be another damaging trauma to his life.
Originally posted by TIB537B:
The BC already felt bad enough having an accident that caused someone's life. If he was sacked because of it, then that'll be another damaging trauma to his life.
But if was found out that the lady died due to the BC's fault, thats something that we cant avoid.
Like i've mentioned, hope that the CCTV will help.
If the BC isn't at fault, why should he be sacked even though he killed someone?
Eh, if the rego runs out, there are several options.
1) Reuse rego plates.
2) Create new rego range.
3) Reg in SH/SHD series. These were originally meant for buses and taxis.
Rego range which bus operators cannot anyhow use are CB, CSS, PA, PB, PC, PH and PZ.
CSS-Only for City Shuttle Services, two operators, Comfort and Singapore Shuttle Bus used this series before, registering buses in the CSS series means that at the point of time the buses were regged, they are meant for use only on City Shuttle Services. And since 608 was cancelled last year, the series is basically not for use on newer vehicles anymore, unless someone decides to create a new CSS route.
CB (School Bus)-Mainly, for carrying school children.
PA, PC, PH (Private Hire)-Basically just for chartering, carrying school children, Scheme B and/or adult workers.
PA, PB, PC (Private)-Basically just for own use by an single entity.
PA, PC, PZ (Excursion)-Used by tour groups.
Originally posted by Scania:Eh, if the rego runs out, there are several options.
1) Reuse rego plates.
2) Create new rego range.
3) Reg in SH/SHD series. These were originally meant for buses and taxis.Rego range which bus operators cannot anyhow use are CB, CSS, PA, PB, PC, PH and PZ.
CSS-Only for City Shuttle Services, two operators, Comfort and Singapore Shuttle Bus used this series before, registering buses in the CSS series means that at the point of time the buses were regged, they are meant for use only on City Shuttle Services. And since 608 was cancelled last year, the series is basically not for use on newer vehicles anymore, unless someone decides to create a new CSS route.
CB (School Bus)-Mainly, for carrying school children.
PA, PC, PH (Private Hire)-Basically just for chartering, carrying school children, Scheme B and/or adult workers.
PA, PB, PC (Private)-Basically just for own use by an single entity.
PA, PC, PZ (Excursion)-Used by tour groups.
TIB XXXX X ???
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:TIB XXXX X ???
Eh, I think the only one who can use that is SMRT Bus, since they have brought over TIBS, and most probably holds the right to use the TIB regos, just that they forgone it for their new rego series, SMB.
=X
Originally posted by Scania:Its also quite hard for a Scania to chiong there, the Mercs can do so, but drivers driving Scanias tend to be slower, due to the slope of the bridge, the bridge walls also pose a blind spot for drivers driving there.
is there a road hump there? too long never take Sv 238 liao. But when i took Sv 238 K230 one fine day, i remember the BC slowing down when passing that area/bridge.
Originally posted by lemon1974:is there a road hump there? too long never take Sv 238 liao. But when i took Sv 238 K230 one fine day, i remember the BC slowing down when passing that area/bridge.
Hump is before the bridge, but there is a slope after the bridge.
Toa Payoh MRT Train Disruption due to gas leak from a faulty air-conditioning unit in a train.
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=46721
by ben.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:Toa Payoh MRT Train Disruption due to gas leak from a faulty air-conditioning unit in a train.
by ben.
wrong forum leh, shd post over at trains forum instead..
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:Toa Payoh MRT Train Disruption due to gas leak from a faulty air-conditioning unit in a train.
by ben.
I wonder who it is =P
Originally posted by sBs_boy:But there will still be times when its the cyclist fault and not the BC fault.
Just hope that the CCTVs will come in handy and bring out the truth.
This time round, the CCTV dun come in handy. The CCTV was not working on that day. Overheard from some BC.
Wheelchair Friendly Buses : Oh the irony!
Letter from Richard Chua
Originally posted by brotherchen1982:Wheelchair Friendly Buses : Oh the irony!
Letter from Richard Chua
AFTER a visit to Gleneagles Hospital, I decided to take bus No 7, a Wheelchair-Accessible Bus (WAB) service, to Dhoby Ghaut..It turned out to be a big mistake — going to Orchard MRT by the footpath would have been faster for my caregiver and myself..I waited for more than an hour for aNo 7 bus with the WAB decal. Four non-WAB No 7 buses came within that hour..While waiting for the WAB bus, I noticed that, ironically, other services not on the WAB shortlist were using wheelchair-accessible buses..Where’s the logic in assigning WAB buses to serve the able-bodied while assigning non-WAB buses on routes meant to help the disabled?.The writer has been wheelchair-bound for four years.
I had to agree with the writer....but reply may be "we cannot deploy WAB SD on WAB routes with WAB DD.........due to deployment issue"
Originally posted by QX179R:Female cyclist in her 50s killed in a road accident involving an SBS bus
A woman cyclist was killed in a road accident this morning involving an SBS bus, along Lorong 8 Toa Payoh in central Singapore.
Police received a call at about 6.30am.
The cyclist, known as Madam Pang, was in her 50s.
She was pronounced dead by paramedics.
According to witnesses, when the accident happened, the bus was on the main road going straight, while the cyclist was coming out from a side road.
Police are investigating the accident. -- 938Live
MR LIM BOON TIONG WHITE HAIR UNCLE DRIVING SBS8102M S SHIFT.
Letter from Richard Chua
AFTER a visit to Gleneagles Hospital, I decided to take bus No 7, a Wheelchair-Accessible Bus (WAB) service, to Dhoby Ghaut..It turned out to be a big mistake — going to Orchard MRT by the footpath would have been faster for my caregiver and myself..I waited for more than an hour for aNo 7 bus with the WAB decal. Four non-WAB No 7 buses came within that hour..While waiting for the WAB bus, I noticed that, ironically, other services not on the WAB shortlist were using wheelchair-accessible buses..Where’s the logic in assigning WAB buses to serve the able-bodied while assigning non-WAB buses on routes meant to help the disabled?.The writer has been wheelchair-bound for four years.
This is Singapore's public transport standard for the WAB people.. Suck thumb...
Letter from Richard Chua
cannot take sv 174? tot lot of WAB on Sv 174 mah...