Originally posted by The Soon:Today Sunday Times report about the new Scania and Mercedes-Benz buses.
Copy and paste from website because I am lazy to type whole article.
The new single-deck buses from SBS Transit and SMRT may look nice but some commuters are unhappy with them.
One-third of 50 commuters - young and old - in a Sunday Times poll said the rides could be better.
Their beef was over issues like seating (fewer seats than the older buses) and design (the need to climb steps midway in the bus).
The buses run by SBS are made by Swedish company Scania while SMRT's are made by German firm Mercedes-Benz.
But there are advantages too. The new buses have low floors - about the same height as the kerb - and there are no steps at the doors. This is a plus for the elderly and less mobile passengers. The buses also have wheelchair-friendly features such as retractable ramps at the doors and two wheelchair lots.
SBS has rolled out 500 of these buses since November 2007 at a cost of $180 million. By the end of this year, another 400 are expected to hit the roads.
SMRT rolled out 67 new single- deck buses in May last year and plans to buy 60 more. Each costs more than $360,000.
In the Sunday Times poll, many feel moving about in the bus is not a breeze. Instead of a level platform from front to back, they have to mount two steps midway to get to the back, and climb another two steps to reach the rear-most seats.
Said retiree Teo Cher Muay, 64: 'The steps can be very dangerous for the elderly, as they have little strength in their legs. I've seen them trip.'
Even the young find the steps a challenge. 'I nearly fell the first few times I took this new bus, as it started to move before I sat down,' said student Goh Yee Hong, 22, who has ridden on both Scania and Mercedes-Benz buses.
Read the full story in the Sunday Times today.
hopefully the bus companies will do sth abt this quickly. mavb they can make the steps become slope?
Originally posted by SBS7382C:hopefully the bus companies will do sth abt this quickly. mavb they can make the steps become slope?
it will cost a bomb to do this. then they got a hole in their pocket liao.
Man presses bell late, then shouts at bus driver for not stopping
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=60962
Originally posted by QX179R:Queue for bus service 238 so long, it snakes around the shops nearby
at least better that 27 lor
btw isnt this the 2nd time liao?
Originally posted by bus555:
at least better that 27 lor
btw isnt this the 2nd time liao?
svc 139 at times also can be compared to svc 238..
not as long but the queues are long..
Originally posted by QX179R:svc 139 at times also can be compared to svc 238..
not as long but the queues are long..
i think 238 should have DD man? nah maybe can wait long long... but u sure 139 queues like 238 meh? sry cause never went to tpy for a while liao...
Originally posted by bus555:
i think 238 should have DD man? nah maybe can wait long long... but u sure 139 queues like 238 meh? sry cause never went to tpy for a while liao...
i once took it during peak hrs at abt 6+pm nearing 7pm, super long queue..
frequency should be increased..
Originally posted by QX179R:Man presses bell late, then shouts at bus driver for not stopping
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=60962
Who at fault now?
sigh.. I have said something regarding this on this forum once before. Yet again bus555 wants to recommend DDs. if you put DDs on 238 you will see 6-8min frequencies and the queue will be longer. Which one you want?
The queue in the pictures are enough to fill up 2 buses, with the cut off outside the Buzz kiosk - basically the end of the 2nd picture. Why the stomper makes noise because the human flow keeps coming despite the buses coming at a 2-4min.
Frequency of 238 is 2min between 1816-1825hrs, 1850-1900hrs and 1925-1935hrs, with the help of the xover from 26 and 155. Its 4 min in other times.
I have seen 8 90 139 145 that queue right into the centre podium. The cut off that is enough for one SD bus is just before the centre podium area. Even 142 235 queue stretches to the 238 berth.
Shallow minded stompers are.
Originally posted by service_238:sigh.. I have said something regarding this on this forum once before. Yet again bus555 wants to recommend DDs. if you put DDs on 238 you will see 6-8min frequencies and the queue will be longer. Which one you want?
Hav DD but having the same freq or not exceeding 4-5mins. Somemore more pple guaranteed to get a seat onboard.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Hav DD but having the same freq or not exceeding 4-5mins. Somemore more pple guaranteed to get a seat onboard.
Either way also don't work, the only buses suitable for 238 are 14.5ms or bendies.
Originally posted by Scania:
Either way also don't work, the only buses suitable for 238 are 14.5ms or bendies.
if only SBST got.
if 238 gets DD it will be another 291. half of the catchment of 238 alight at Blk 32 and Blk 23. The rest alight at PolyClinic, Blk 231 and Blk 227. So what are the chances ppl go upstairs for a ride that is less than 7min?
if only SBST got.
SBS 997 A not 14.5m ah?
Originally posted by service_238:
SBS 997 A not 14.5m ah?
Ohh.. Gladly won't redeployed. =p
SBS 997 A not 14.5m ah?
oh ok.. that one would not get redeployed la.
if 238 gets DD it will be another 291. half of the catchment of 238 alight at Blk 32 and Blk 23. The rest alight at PolyClinic, Blk 231 and Blk 227. So what are the chances ppl go upstairs for a ride that is less than 7min?
possible, I rmb 243W also got this prob but after that crowd start to move up.
Originally posted by QX179R:Pervert SBS senior capt stares, grins and tells MAN: You're beautiful
GAY?
Originally posted by service_238:sigh.. I have said something regarding this on this forum once before. Yet again bus555 wants to recommend DDs. if you put DDs on 238 you will see 6-8min frequencies and the queue will be longer. Which one you want?
The queue in the pictures are enough to fill up 2 buses, with the cut off outside the Buzz kiosk - basically the end of the 2nd picture. Why the stomper makes noise because the human flow keeps coming despite the buses coming at a 2-4min.
Frequency of 238 is 2min between 1816-1825hrs, 1850-1900hrs and 1925-1935hrs, with the help of the xover from 26 and 155. Its 4 min in other times.
I have seen 8 90 139 145 that queue right into the centre podium. The cut off that is enough for one SD bus is just before the centre podium area. Even 142 235 queue stretches to the 238 berth.
Shallow minded stompers are.
238 cant have DD leh ![]()
if they wanted to put DD they would have put them in long ago
Originally posted by SBS7382C:hopefully the bus companies will do sth abt this quickly. mavb they can make the steps become slope?
I don't think that would be possible because of the chassis design. Only the front half of the bus is low floor.
Originally posted by The Soon:Today Sunday Times report about the new Scania and Mercedes-Benz buses.
Copy and paste from website because I am lazy to type whole article.
The new single-deck buses from SBS Transit and SMRT may look nice but some commuters are unhappy with them.
One-third of 50 commuters - young and old - in a Sunday Times poll said the rides could be better.
Their beef was over issues like seating (fewer seats than the older buses) and design (the need to climb steps midway in the bus).
The buses run by SBS are made by Swedish company Scania while SMRT's are made by German firm Mercedes-Benz.
But there are advantages too. The new buses have low floors - about the same height as the kerb - and there are no steps at the doors. This is a plus for the elderly and less mobile passengers. The buses also have wheelchair-friendly features such as retractable ramps at the doors and two wheelchair lots.
SBS has rolled out 500 of these buses since November 2007 at a cost of $180 million. By the end of this year, another 400 are expected to hit the roads.
SMRT rolled out 67 new single- deck buses in May last year and plans to buy 60 more. Each costs more than $360,000.
In the Sunday Times poll, many feel moving about in the bus is not a breeze. Instead of a level platform from front to back, they have to mount two steps midway to get to the back, and climb another two steps to reach the rear-most seats.
Said retiree Teo Cher Muay, 64: 'The steps can be very dangerous for the elderly, as they have little strength in their legs. I've seen them trip.'
Even the young find the steps a challenge. 'I nearly fell the first few times I took this new bus, as it started to move before I sat down,' said student Goh Yee Hong, 22, who has ridden on both Scania and Mercedes-Benz buses.
Read the full story in the Sunday Times today.
The KUB's are the ones that have the problem. OC is like...very high meh? Must be that GYH go up that time never hold railings de then almost fall lah, so blame on the bus lor.