Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Wa.. sianz.. First K230UB kana accident. Hope it is not SBS 8036X. Withdrawn of K230UB on this particular svc?
They put means put liao. Unlike some other service which cannot get K230 at all because of high accident rates (KP should know what I'm talking about =D).
An update on this morning's YCK crash
Shin Min Daily News has a rather brief report on this morning's accident. Can be found at Page 2, towards the bottom left. Waiting for some kind soul to scan it because my scanner has some problems. Anyway...
From the report, both buses were not carrying passengers when the accident took place near ST Engineering at YCK Road, towards AMK. Which means either the buses were completely empty or they were off service. Bendy is confirmed TIB 1138M because of the advert. Scania K230UB still unsure.
Anyway, the Indian BC driving the K230UB was stuck for 1 hour in his seat while firefighters tried to extricate him. He suffered multiple fractures to his both legs and was sent together with the Bendy driver to hospital. Below are the current reports on damages as seen from 1) The photo from STOMP and 2) The photo from Shin Min Daily News:
Scania K230UB
1) Front EDS gone
2) Front door totally smashed
3) Windscreen damaged
4) Bodywork damaged
5) Driver's compartment totally gone (Even the door controls were seen hanging outside... steering wheel was twisted)
And many more...
Mercedes Benz O405G Hispano Habit
1) Rear roof caved in (framework at the rear was bent down)
2) Engine *most likely* smashed (Sad case...)
3) Bodywork damaged
4) In short... everything that can be found at the rear was damaged
It somehow reminds me of the incident of SBS 9357M and SBS 9424C on PIE... just that SBS 9357M is related to the K230UB here, while SBS 9424C is related to the Bendy. So who knows what might happen to the bendy?
o_O
new engine, new rear.
maybe copy another habit rear.
then again... its smrt so it might get another design butt =)
Think for the bendy , still can be safe
but as for the K230UB ... i guess ... no hope...
i dun think sbs will bother to save it. its gonna cost a bomb to repair. maybe scrap for parts or soemthing.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:i dun think sbs will bother to save it. its gonna cost a bomb to repair. maybe scrap for parts or soemthing.
I think the K230UB can be saved. The major components are all at the back. The same cannot be said for the bendy whose components are at the back too.....
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
I think the K230UB can be saved. The major components are all at the back. The same cannot be said for the bendy whose components are at the back too.....
All mechanisms linked to the K230UB driver compartment were completely destroyed. A possibility that SBST might scrap it. Or even if it can be saved, it will be costing SBST a huge amount.
Sturdy Pininfarina VS Cheapskate Gemilang. SMRT wins. =D
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Wa.. sianz.. First K230UB kana accident. Hope it is not SBS 8036X. Withdrawn of K230UB on this particular svc?
Lagi sian... Now HGDEP have 1 Scania K230UB down already.
Hopefully no withdrawal since SBS8113G is still around
My opinion is that the Habit is worth salvaging. The seriousness of the Habit compared to the K230 is lower. The K230UB front is completely a gone case.
Originally posted by Oceane:
All mechanisms linked to the K230UB driver compartment were completely destroyed. A possibility that SBST might scrap it. Or even if it can be saved, it will be costing SBST a huge amount.Sturdy Pininfarina VS Cheapskate Gemilang. SMRT wins. =D
Mechanisms in the driver's cab......any chance Scania will repair it since this is part of the chassis and the bus should still be under Scania's obligations?
On the other hand the obligation should cover only mechanical defects and faults.
I still think this bus can still be saved. Unless the front axle buang or something. Any pics?
Mechanisms in the driver's cab......any chance Scania will repair it since this is part of the chassis and the bus should still be under Scania's obligations?On the other hand the obligation should cover only mechanical defects and faults.
I still think this bus can still be saved. Unless the front axle buang or something. Any pics?
Scania will only be obliged to repair it if it is their fault. Example... engine catch fire due to poor wiring. Crashes like this are often up to SBST to repair and pay themselves.
The weakness of Gemilang bodywork......
Have seen any accident like such bef, at most the body stick to each other not go through..
Originally posted by bus555:Accident involving two SBS buses causes jam along Yio Chu Kang Road
OMG!!! THe first Scania K230UB to tio Accident. But I find the title typo. "two SBS buses..''? The front one is an SMRT habit lol
RTA involving two buses (TIB1138M & SBS8074K) & a lorry (YM6155H). The BC for the SBS bus got his leg trapped & pinned at the dashboard whereas for the SMRT BC, he was trapped at the driver's seat.
Rear end collision happened at about 0946hrs & incident location is at Yio Chu Kang Rd near ST Electronics.
Bus was towed back to amdep and is in lay up corner now awaiting investigations. Front covered with canvas, but can see how bad the damage is as the contour of the canvas curves into the bus. Rear door damaged by impact even though the rear door wasn't hit.
Originally posted by QX179R:"Bus driver shouted at me because I was not aware of route change"
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=24865
Bus captains reminded to provide good service, says ComfortDelGro
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=24958
View of YCK road accident
So sad, K230 is just barley nine months old and this things are happenning.
Habit 100% must save, SMRT lack of buses and this is a habit not a UD, which is so important to ease traffic load in the service, so SMRT would most probably spend large sums of money into it. The habit still not so badly damaged.
As for the K230, still got chance to save, now all the K230 is being saaembled, spare parts should be available from the unassembed ones from HGDEP and SC and it still have chance, maybe go to super-long configuration like 997A.
Sad for the first accident involving eds equipped SD from both bus companies...sob...sob...sob
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:View of YCK road accident
So sad, K230 is just barley nine months old and this things are happenning.
Habit 100% must save, SMRT lack of buses and this is a habit not a UD, which is so important to ease traffic load in the service, so SMRT would most probably spend large sums of money into it. The habit still not so badly damaged.
As for the K230, still got chance to save, now all the K230 is being saaembled, spare parts should be available from the unassembed ones from HGDEP and SC and it still have chance, maybe go to super-long configuration like 997A.
Sad for the first accident involving eds equipped SD from both bus companies...sob...sob...sob
Pardon me but... Haha :D
How can it go to long configuration just like this? Stretch the bodywork? Then let the front and back droop out of the chassis and then when crash 'safer' cos the 'extra' sections will go to waste immediately?
Cannot lah like this cannot...
And vehicular repairs always go by the accounting books... Its not spend money spend money and then repair... If the repairing cost is more than buying a new bus, then the broken vehicle is just as good as scrap. You can see why 900K and 1110S are not salvaged while 1118X and 1063U are repaired... Bodywork and general engine damage are main guidelines. Filter those all can change, but buying a new engine+buy new bodywork=better off buy a new bus...
One small tip: To a company, a bus is just a bus, a money tool, a marketing subject. No matter if its SBS9888Y, SBS997A, TIB1224Y or any bus, once its beyond their books (money), its 'dump' into the bin it goes. That is the hard fact. Don't attach dear feelings to vehicles. They will have to say goodbye one day...
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Pardon me but... Haha :D
How can it go to long configuration just like this? Stretch the bodywork? Then let the front and back droop out of the chassis and then when crash 'safer' cos the 'extra' sections will go to waste immediately?
After super-long, can call the best safe SBS driver to drive the bus mah...haaha...only prediction only lah...relax lah...
No no I not angry lols :D
Just poking fun at the words only lols :D
Okay, time to sleep liao worz lols :D
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:No no I not angry lols :D
Just poking fun at the words only lols :D
Okay, time to sleep liao worz lols :D
Good night
haiya
Very shocking to hear this news.
I think the scania bus might have started the movement too fast and maybe the SMRT bus suddenly apply brake. then, might have caused the scania driver dun have time to apply brake (since we know that K230UB buses started the movement so jerky till everyone who stands on the bus moves)
1st K230UB kena accident...
Hope it wont scrapped =)
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:Pardon me but... Haha :D
And vehicular repairs always go by the accounting books... Its not spend money spend money and then repair... If the repairing cost is more than buying a new bus, then the broken vehicle is just as good as scrap. You can see why 900K and 1110S are not salvaged while 1118X and 1063U are repaired... Bodywork and general engine damage are main guidelines. Filter those all can change, but buying a new engine+buy new bodywork=better off buy a new bus...
One small tip: To a company, a bus is just a bus, a money tool, a marketing subject. No matter if its SBS9888Y, SBS997A, TIB1224Y or any bus, once its beyond their books (money), its 'dump' into the bin it goes. That is the hard fact. Don't attach dear feelings to vehicles. They will have to say goodbye one day...
sad to say i take offense to ur last few sentences
some of us do have feelings for certain buses.
and its hypocritical in the sense that u have this attachment to TIb11224Y so much so ur nikc is the bus.
u will not be suprised if most of us wd be offended bby the statement since most of us use our dalring buses as nicks.
i myself cannot say that i have no feelings for certain scania N113CRBS. sure enough i myself have attachemtns to SBS35 38 50 54 75 78 , them being my old frens on 196. definiely will be sadd to see them go.
k k back to topic
very horrific accident ...
Originally posted by QX179R:RTA involving two buses (TIB1138M & SBS8074K) & a lorry (YM6155H). The BC for the SBS bus got his leg trapped & pinned at the dashboard whereas for the SMRT BC, he was trapped at the driver's seat.
Rear end collision happened at about 0946hrs & incident location is at Yio Chu Kang Rd near ST Electronics.
And we all thought it was 163...
It was the BRBP bus after all.
Originally posted by Oceane:
And we all thought it was 163...It was the BRBP bus after all.
uhh.. the thing.. the smrt driver was trapp;ed in his compartment???
the driver compartment not at the back right?? or something collapsed on him.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:
uhh.. the thing.. the smrt driver was trapp;ed in his compartment???the driver compartment not at the back right?? or something collapsed on him.
Impact?