most likely somthing dropped. phew.
Originally posted by SBS7484P:most likely somthing dropped. phew.
Neck pains caused by impact of the crash.
This morning's Lian He Zao Bao and Straits Times all have media coverage of the horrific accident. Both took pictures of the front of the bus after the bendy was separated from the K230UB. Straits Times from the front-right, Zao Bao from the Front-Left. So probably you can have a look at it since the real one, which is in AMDEP now is covered with canvas and cannot be seen.
Lian He Zao Bao - Page 4
Straits Times - (Home) H2
http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/STIStory_246379.html?vgnmr=1 - Online ST report on the accident
No idea why the BC wanna go yck rd. Most probably going amdep after his AM S shift? 8074 was doing 32S on service 63 yesterday. And most probably he was speeding tat result a major damage of the bus, which clear my doubt whereby i thinking how would sv163 BC drive so fast?
Todays news say that the sbst driver had a leg fracture while the smrt driver complained of back n neck pain. no passengers were in jured. btw, stomper say that it the services were 163 n 854
Originally posted by ZYX2005:sad to say i take offense to ur last few sentences
some of us do have feelings for certain buses.
and its hypocritical in the sense that u have this attachment to TIb11224Y so much so ur nikc is the bus.
u will not be suprised if most of us wd be offended bby the statement since most of us use our dalring buses as nicks.
i myself cannot say that i have no feelings for certain scania N113CRBS. sure enough i myself have attachemtns to SBS35 38 50 54 75 78 , them being my old frens on 196. definiely will be sadd to see them go.
k k back to topic
very horrific accident ...
Misunderstanding cleared :D
Carrying on... :D
Originally posted by phillipC:This is what I called “Bullshitting”!
June 10, 2008
Current bus services serve diverse needs of commuters: SMRT
I REFER to the letter, ‘Buck Up, SMRT’ (ST Online Forum, June 4) by Mr Vincent Kessler on SMRT bus services.
SMRT Buses operates a fleet of over 860 buses. Besides trunk, feeder and intra-town services, SMRT also operates Premium Bus Services which offers residents living in areas such as River Valley, Pasir Ris and Geylang Bahru comfortable, fast and direct connections to their workplace in the Central Business District.For residents living in areas such as Yishun, Sembawang and Bukit Batok who are out late on Fridays, Saturdays and the eve of public holidays, SMRT operates NightRider Services, providing them with safe and affordable alternative transport.
We would also like to share that we operate SMRT Link, the first regular free shuttle service by a public transport operator. SMRT Link services, which run on weekends and public holidays from Dhoby Ghaut and Outram Park MRT stations, make it cheaper and more convenient for commuters to travel to Chinatown and Little India.
More information about the various bus services offered by SMRT can be found at www.smrt.com.sg/buses/buses.asp
We thank Mr Kessler for his feedback and will continue to enhance our services to commuters.
Kuek Chor Ling (Ms)
Manager, Corporate Marketing and Communications
SMRT Corporation Ltd
What to do? Lets continue to GO GREEN by standing on the exit door steps of the bus or "squeeze and push one another" in a bendy bus even at around 9pm++ to 11pm.. Service 960 (Sundays), Service 190 and Service 106 for the win... =.=
Ah to talk of service 106... Getting more worse
Originally posted by phillipC:This is what I called “Bullshitting”!
June 10, 2008
Current bus services serve diverse needs of commuters: SMRT
I REFER to the letter, ‘Buck Up, SMRT’ (ST Online Forum, June 4) by Mr Vincent Kessler on SMRT bus services.
SMRT Buses operates a fleet of over 860 buses. Besides trunk, feeder and intra-town services, SMRT also operates Premium Bus Services which offers residents living in areas such as River Valley, Pasir Ris and Geylang Bahru comfortable, fast and direct connections to their workplace in the Central Business District.For residents living in areas such as Yishun, Sembawang and Bukit Batok who are out late on Fridays, Saturdays and the eve of public holidays, SMRT operates NightRider Services, providing them with safe and affordable alternative transport.
We would also like to share that we operate SMRT Link, the first regular free shuttle service by a public transport operator. SMRT Link services, which run on weekends and public holidays from Dhoby Ghaut and Outram Park MRT stations, make it cheaper and more convenient for commuters to travel to Chinatown and Little India.
More information about the various bus services offered by SMRT can be found at www.smrt.com.sg/buses/buses.asp
We thank Mr Kessler for his feedback and will continue to enhance our services to commuters.
Kuek Chor Ling (Ms)
Manager, Corporate Marketing and Communications
SMRT Corporation Ltd
They are going/beating around the bush and not answering the point that the forumer has raised.
No wonder SPH's hair look like some bush
Originally posted by TIB1224Y:
Misunderstanding cleared :D
Carrying on... :D
miscommuncation case. carry on.
writer understand now that certain old buses, got people miss n fondly recal childhood days ride on them when brand new n so is can develop attachemtn feeling for v old bus models.
ZYX
Originally posted by TIB1062Y:What to do? Lets continue to GO GREEN by standing on the exit door steps of the bus or "squeeze and push one another" in a bendy bus even at around 9pm++ to 11pm.. Service 960 (Sundays), Service 190 and Service 106 for the win... =.=
Talk about standing at doorsteps, take a look at the damage of the Scania K230UB and TIB666L that crashed. Thankfully both buses werent packed. But what would happen if these buses were packed to the doorsteps? I wouldnt be surprised if someone died. The heavier weight of the fully laden bus would also mean more damage since more energy is absorbed. Hope someone rectify this issue before some gets seriously hurt or killed.
Originally posted by gorby107:They are going/beating around the bush and not answering the point that the forumer has raised.
No wonder SPH's hair look like some bush
Yes. The SMRT Manager of Corporate Marketing and Communications did not answer for the dirty seat cushions when the forumer said
"My experience with SBS buses has also led me to perceive them to be cleaner and of a higher comfort level.".
I do find SMRT buses fur seats dirty and also rather hard as compared to SBS Transit buses. SMRT buses can also smell bad sometimes.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
I do find SMRT buses fur seats dirty and also rather hard as compared to SBS Transit buses. SMRT buses can also smell bad sometimes.
Sometimes i do find SBST seats dirty too and smells bad sometimes ...
e YCK Rd accident... Zaobao article apparently reported tat eyewitness saw e SMRT bendy wanted to change lane but failed to notice the lorry beside... by then e driver jammed e brake which caused e crash aft e behind SBS bus was unable to brake in time... I wonder did e SMRT driver even signalled in e first place
Sabo others.. lucky it's a bus, if it's a m'bike behind how?
Originally posted by sbst275:e YCK Rd accident... Zaobao article apparently reported tat eyewitness saw e SMRT bendy wanted to change lane but failed to notice the lorry beside... by then e driver jammed e brake which caused e crash aft e behind SBS bus was unable to brake in time... I wonder did e SMRT driver even signalled in e first place
plus the bendy already scratch the lorry liao...
Wanna laugh
Last week SMRT replied over tat Bus 851 incident... say within speed limit is safe... ok now YCK accident, dun tell me bus travelling abv speed limit? bus w/o speed limiter?
pls la, at any speed it can cause an accident and any accident w/ speed abv 40kph has high chance of fatality
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Talk about standing at doorsteps, take a look at the damage of the Scania K230UB and TIB666L that crashed. Thankfully both buses werent packed. But what would happen if these buses were packed to the doorsteps? I wouldnt be surprised if someone died. The heavier weight of the fully laden bus would also mean more damage since more energy is absorbed. Hope someone rectify this issue before some gets seriously hurt or killed.
The pattern and the theory tallies.
Off svc buses tend to go faster.
Originally posted by azharjj:haiya
Very shocking to hear this news.
I think the scania bus might have started the movement too fast and maybe the SMRT bus suddenly apply brake. then, might have caused the scania driver dun have time to apply brake (since we know that K230UB buses started the movement so jerky till everyone who stands on the bus moves)
1st K230UB kena accident...
Hope it wont scrapped =)
Kinda reminds me of the pit-stop fiasco at the Canadian Grand Prix.
Originally posted by sbst275:e YCK Rd accident... Zaobao article apparently reported tat eyewitness saw e SMRT bendy wanted to change lane but failed to notice the lorry beside... by then e driver jammed e brake which caused e crash aft e behind SBS bus was unable to brake in time... I wonder did e SMRT driver even signalled in e first place
SMRT and lorry, SMRT and SBST are different things. Maybe SMRT driver was wrong for cutting lane without signalling, therefore hitting the lorry. Then of course he has to jam brake lah.
SBST driver, if he kept a safe distance away and maintained a lesser speed such that he can brake with no problems from the SMRT bus, still can brake in time. Question is, the whole front of the SBST bus is gone, how far does it prove that SMRT is at fault for the crashed front of the SBST? Obviously 1) The K230 was too close to the bendy and 2) It was speeding. It's no doubt arguable that when buses are Off Service, the BCs tend to speed faster because they don't have to call at bus stops and there are no passengers inside. And obviously, the K230's bodywork was too weak to withstand force and crumbled upon impact. From pictures shown from yesterday's newspaper, the bendy was still intact.
Don't everything SMRT SMRT SMRT...
confirm SMRT bendy is at fault coz SMRT drivers like to drive dangerously
Originally posted by Oceane:
SMRT and lorry, SMRT and SBST are different things. Maybe SMRT driver was wrong for cutting lane without signalling, therefore hitting the lorry. Then of course he has to jam brake lah.SBST driver, if he kept a safe distance away from the SMRT bus, still can brake in time. Question is, the whole front of the SBST bus is gone, how far does it prove that SMRT is at fault for the crashed front of the SBST? Obviously 1) The K230 was too close to the bendy and 2) It was speeding.
If you don't drive and don't know what you're talking about, don't open your mouth. You don't know how much of a menace SMRT drivers can be on the roads.
One more thing, how can he be speeding if he is limited to 65km/h? Moreover that stretch of YCK Rd has a speed limit of 70km/h. Speeding? Doesn't seem so to me.
Originally posted by SBS9818A:If you don't drive and don't know what you're talking about, don't open your mouth. You don't know how much of a menace SMRT drivers can be on the roads.
I also know how much of a menace SBST drivers can be on the roads.
SMRT and lorry, SMRT and SBST are different things. Maybe SMRT driver was wrong for cutting lane without signalling, therefore hitting the lorry. Then of course he has to jam brake lah.SBST driver, if he kept a safe distance away from the SMRT bus, still can brake in time. Question is, the whole front of the SBST bus is gone, how far does it prove that SMRT is at fault for the crashed front of the SBST? Obviously 1) The K230 was too close to the bendy and 2) It was speeding.
of course in tis accident, SBS driver has abt 30% responsibility over tis... but put it tis way, if it's a m'bike, e cyclist wun even survive esp if it's e brake
speeding? speed limit there is 60kph, same as for heavy vehicles... tailgate is possible
even if it's neither, e brake can also cause accidents esp for heavy vehicles *ahem* tat freak Pioneer Rd Nth trailer langa last yr
I also know how much of a menace SBST drivers can be on the roads.
What do you know? You're only seeing things from a passenger's POV. I've been driving long enough to know the difference in habits of SMRT and SBST BCs.