nowadays, some taxi drivers oso dunno their surroundings well and end up driving round n round e same place. if taxi drivers can be make tis mistake, so can bus captains. bc only needs to let passengers board or alight n bring them to their destination. they r not street directory...
The bus driver is to know his route. That is all. Should he know the details of the area surrounding the length of his route in detail, then that is a bonus, to passengers. But he is not required to know that much in detail, he is not a taxi driver nor a post man or a tour guide.
But a Singaporean, vested with interest in the destination, should be more self reliant, and find out in detail how to get there. That should be natural for someone in pursuit of higher learning.
Erm... aren't you holding onto a map? Can't you actually read and realise that it was near and should not take the bus instead?![]()
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
Actually u all dunno how clever are the PRC driver. In china, they drive coach, big lorries for a long distance. What is Singapore to them when Singapore is so small and for them they can maybe take less than a month to get use to the road.
Yah lah, they pro, memorise the maps like how they memorise dictionary. ![]()
You board the bus and ask the China BC how to go Orchard Road, he will reply, it is on page 123, grid A2 (in the China accent of course)
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
If you work with China people before you would know.
oh really ah. i order them around they still dont understand.
at times, i charge them go DB.
glad to know you had great, orgasmic experiences with them.
i think TS is too reliant on the bus driver already.
i mean, there are a lot of initiatives public transport companies have done over the past years to allow the bus driver to just concentrate on one thing, driving the bus.
you can find route details over the internet, on GPRS, at the bus stops. even bus stops in orchard have that one big panel with the map & bus routes spanning across the map.
and furthermore, a bus driver doesnt necessarily drive a certain service everyday.
maybe he scared if he said he didnt know he would tio complain from you in STOMP! ![]()
what do you expect? singaporeans dun wan to be bus driver. so foreigners who are new to the place takes up the offer loh!!! So, now we are all lost!
u knw the route to for example KL.
but do u knw argh... nvm![]()
u knw the route to for example KL.
but do u knw argh... nvm![]()
Originally posted by mancha:The bus driver is to know his route. That is all. Should he know the details of the area surrounding the length of his route in detail, then that is a bonus, to passengers. But he is not required to know that much in detail, he is not a taxi driver nor a post man or a tour guide.
But a Singaporean, vested with interest in the destination, should be more self reliant, and find out in detail how to get there. That should be natural for someone in pursuit of higher learning.
How much is too much details? He should at least know whether the building is before or after the bus stop where I stopped him. Is that too much details?
If he at least knows that, he would have asked me to go across the road to take another bus with the same number.
I have checked on the net before I boarded the bus. Street Directory says take bus 132 from bus stop nearby Far East Plaza, but I did not know whether it is the bus stop directly in front of Far East Plaza or opposite Far East Plaza.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Erm... aren't you holding onto a map? Can't you actually read and realise that it was near and should not take the bus instead?
If you know how to read, you would realize I never said it is anywhere near leh...I don't want to be walking all the way to that building on the day of my exam when I could have taken a bus...
And the map is not complete. It just shows the building and the nearby road, never says where to take the bus from.
take taxi confirm u know wat
AFAIK, the route details of 132 has never published RELC as a landmark. Why?? Becos no buses pass along Orange Grove Road!!!. It is RELC or your examination prerogative if they want to publish this piece of information in their pamphlet.
Being a student, I am somewhat baffled that TS did not get his/her sources checked out. Note that it is NOT issued by SBS. The least TS could do is to call and ask RELC. Assume makes an ASS out of U and ME, remember.
In SG, it is a bonus that the BC even bothers to talk to you. In places like Hong Kong where they have the next stop display and the voice guided prompts, the BC's job is to drive.
TS can take offence with me... PM the mods/PM me waddever, but i suspect more of such taking for granted will get this kind of mentality nowhere. I think, you thought, who confirm??
Originally posted by SBST390:AFAIK, the route details of 132 has never published RELC as a landmark. Why?? Becos no buses pass along Orange Grove Road!!!. It is RELC or your examination prerogative if they want to publish this piece of information in their pamphlet.
Being a student, I am somewhat baffled that TS did not get his/her sources checked out. Note that it is NOT issued by SBS. The least TS could do is to call and ask RELC. Assume makes an ASS out of U and ME, remember.
In SG, it is a bonus that the BC even bothers to talk to you. In places like Hong Kong where they have the next stop display and the voice guided prompts, the BC's job is to drive.
TS can take offence with me... PM the mods/PM me waddever, but i suspect more of such taking for granted will get this kind of mentality nowhere. I think, you thought, who confirm??
Got pass la...today only I took a bus to go there...
Even if they never noticed RELC building, they should know where is Raffles Girls School and The Pines right? Which are right by the side of the road?
Originally posted by rainee:Got pass la...today only I took a bus to go there...
Even if they never noticed RELC building, they should know where is Raffles Girls School and The Pines right? Which are right by the side of the road?
i guess you wouldnt go wrong if you only said RGS.
maybe you said too many building names(others which may be unheard of to him) then he also confused then he also must close the exit door. ![]()
Originally posted by rainee:Got pass la...today only I took a bus to go there...
How much do you want them to know? Their job is to drive bus, not be your damn tour guide.
Originally posted by Oceane:
How much do you want them to know? Their job is to drive bus, not be your damn tour guide.
excuse me, did i ever say I wanted them to be my tour guide? ![]()
I am not exactly asking him how to go to the place. I am asking him if the bus he is driving will bring me to that place. Since he is not very sure, I provided him with the names of the buildings nearby to help him. But he still failed to recall that his bus doesn't go there.
The bus captain knows his route, and if he is to cover a different route, he will know that route too. His knowledge is linear, and he knows the road well. As for buildings he will know only those prominent government buildings by name, all others he will know by sight. Show him a picture of a building along his route and he will know where it is. Give him the building's name, and ???.
Maps? A map is a plan of the area, and a person occupied with driving a bus has not the time to examine it, get the orientation, and fix the location on it. No one looks at a map, even a simple one, or a few seconds.
The bus captain is not at fault, even if he blundered, because his priority is to get on the way, and helping TS was unavoidably slipshod. And TS was a distraction to his driving too. I think in Europe there are buses with signs prohibiting talking to the drivers.
yes ur a re right. it is LAW in hong kong and Europe not to talk with bus captain whilst driving.
in hong kong bus there is even this yellow line drawn so that u stand behind it n dun get tok to drvier. its drawn slanted from first seat toward where we place ourvalidators. (think single deck).
from whhat i observe, once the line is reached for standing pax, no more pax will be allowed to board the hong kong bus. pax wd be rejected altho stiill got space. rationale is good. as drvier needs to be ale to view the mirror on the left to see left nearside n blind spot. if not moving off may hit peple on his left. plus the mirror double up as watching ppl run after the bus to cacth ur bus as u wait at bus stop.
u will notice for us we stand until door (ie celebrate life) sumtimes driver will ask u to move a bit so he can access to his mirror left blind spot view.
ZYX
no. 1: You had a map
no. 2: You knew where you were
no. 3: You should be able to tell that its the opposite direction
no. 4: The driver is confused by you telling him all those extra unnecessary info
You can't really blame the driver. He knows that it passes, but doesnt know when. Of course, if you asked the driver of a 124 and he tells you to just get on and that the bus goes to Orange Grove Road, you can blame him.