this afternoon one service 88 BC told me that SBS9424C has been de-registered for parts and the engine is damaged beyond repair. is this true? why can't they buy a new engine and install into the bus?

and the BC also told me that the DD which bang into SBS 9424C might also be de-registered. the damage is not so serious leh.... why must de-register? ![]()
i thought SBS9424C finished repairing liao? i remember someone posted a pic of the bus in SBST livery in AMDEP?
Originally posted by xunmeng:this afternoon one service 88 BC told me that SBS9424C has been de-registered for parts and the engine is damaged beyond repair. is this true? why can't they buy a new engine and install into the bus?
and the BC also told me that the DD which bang into SBS 9424C might also be de-registered. the damage is not so serious leh.... why must de-register?
Need to check LTA, at last check, the bus was sitting in amdep with a new rear but without aircon, the rear did not have any vents for the aircon yet. However, bus has Mas Selamat poster on door.
EDIT: Dint see my@jas's post.....sad case...
Originally posted by xunmeng:this afternoon one service 88 BC told me that SBS9424C has been de-registered for parts and the engine is damaged beyond repair. is this true? why can't they buy a new engine and install into the bus?
and the BC also told me that the DD which bang into SBS 9424C might also be de-registered. the damage is not so serious leh.... why must de-register?
it looks bad haha. cos the engine is at the back. you cant possibly buy a new engine to replace an old one. it would cost a bomb.
dis kind of small ting, u oso muz go trouble the authority?
maybe radiator beyond repair? think about the impact that made 9424 lyk that...anyway radiators for all LO3x and VO3x are in front. that's why the front always so noisy
I think the engine is no longer in production in any case.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:I think the engine is no longer in production in any case.
D10A-245 think is no longer in production...now no more 10L buses. all is either 7L or 9L. unless SBST kee siao wanna get D9A which i think is impossible.
hello kitty.....what are u doing here?...this is not a place for a meow meow bye...
Originally posted by nenepokey:D10A-245 think is no longer in production...now no more 10L buses. all is either 7L or 9L. unless SBST kee siao wanna get D9A which i think is impossible.
They no longer market the D10A-245, but I do believe that parts for the D10A-245 or even the D10A-245 is still in limited production. If not how do you expect that few thousands Volvo Olympians around the world running on Volvo engines to run when they usually need an engine refurbishment every 1.5 to 3 years.
it seems like 9424 is intact wor. i think they decided to donate the bus cos its quite dum to do something so nicely and at the end dismantle the parts for other buses or to go for scrapping. maybe the engine very weak in performance now due to the accident. keke.
Originally posted by nenepokey:D10A-245 think is no longer in production...now no more 10L buses. all is either 7L or 9L. unless SBST kee siao wanna get D9A which i think is impossible.
then we will be seeing a VO3X that runs at B9 speed.... =)
Volvo Olympian 3 Axle (SBS9425AE), unladen weight 14200kg, Volvo B9TL (SBS7483U) unladen weight 15800kg, shockingly, there is one ton difference.
SBS9424C is really de-registered already. Sad case... Might have a reason like spare parts so they have to de-register it.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:it seems like 9424 is intact wor. i think they decided to donate the bus cos its quite dum to do something so nicely and at the end dismantle the parts for other buses or to go for scrapping. maybe the engine very weak in performance now due to the accident. keke.
I was thinking the total opposite. The rear where most of the components are is a total wreck.
Eh, nobody bothers to read the comments in the redeployment thread?
Originally posted by Scania:Eh, nobody bothers to read the comments in the redeployment thread?
I did. And its a high chance it will become a reality. The only problem is where is it going to park.
Originally posted by service_238:
I did. And its a high chance it will become a reality. The only problem is where is it going to park.
park somewhere in NUS loh.. but then can this bus go up the slope at NUS? further there is height limit of 4.4M right?
Originally posted by Scania:Eh, nobody bothers to read the comments in the redeployment thread?
they just dun bother, even after showing them picture that the bus have been repaired.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
I was thinking the total opposite. The rear where most of the components are is a total wreck.
go to amdep. u would see that they did up 9424 nicely from the state it was on the pic above. the redeployment thread got a photo of it. pls look bef commenting. thank you.
:(
I've taken this bus before. This is sad.
And why would that do the bus up nicely just to dereg it?