Originally posted by service_238:
i want WOMAN
lol
i was on the 1.05pm trip frm PSR Int & back.
pleasant ride. no vibrations. when bus was moving along w/o acceleration, engine was so silent. idling was great too.
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
Well
Design (Interior) -> MAN
Exterior -> Tie (MAN and B7RLE
If you are comparing the 2 for interior design, I would believe the B7RLE looks better than the gemilang design. Well, if you are talking about the exterior, I would think the B7RLE looks more unique. gemilang MAN looks very similar to gemilang scanias.
Hi, I come from HK, and glad to see that MAN return to SG again.
Although this demonstrator looks like those Gemilangs in HK, none of those in HK are exactly the same with the demonstrator for SBST.
For the posted the links to HKiTalk, I can explain a little bit about those in HK.
There is 3 operators have MAN low-floor bus with Gemilang body.
The first one is the operator of the cross-border shuttle(Yellow bus). They are NL263/R, that means, a full low floor, non-step bus, with D2866LUH-23 Euro-3 engine and Voith gearbox.
The second one is Discovery Bay Transport Service limited( DBTSL). It has two different kinds. The first bus is a 18.280HOCL-NL(A69), a 280hp version of what SBST got. It is a semi-low floor, low entry bus, with D0836LOH engine. You can recognize with the high positioned rear seats, hub-reduction axle and the near-side radiator. The followers are Euro 3 NL263/R, which is similar to the one for Yellow bus.
The third one is New Lantau Bus(NLB). It is the first operator of NL273/R in HK. A full low floor, non-step bus, with a Euro4 D2066LUH engine.
The code system of MAN need a little time to get used to. xx.xxx can be used for any kind of MAN product. Numbers beyond the decimal is designed GVW in tons, numbers after is the engine output in hp. Someone pointed out that he discovered 18.240HOCL is a coach, it is correct. HOCL is a string explain how the chassis is designed. Because 18.240 HOCL-NL is modified from 18.240 HOCL, that's why it has same code. They have same design at the rear part of the bus, which is the platform area after the exit door. It uses a vertical engine, D0836LOH. D08 means 7L displacement, and LOH means vertical engine, which is different from LUH, a horizontal engine. NL means low-entry. Now, we can have a more clear view on the demonstrator for SBST.
The NL262/R in Citybus are considered as full low floor. There is no steps on aisle from the front door to the rear emergency exit originally. (Self-modified Airport version add a tiny step) It might be not impressive than the aisle of NL263, but it was an outstandind design in earlt 90's.
Originally posted by nwfb23:
It uses a vertical engine, D0836LOH. D08 means 7L displacement, and LOH means vertical engine, which is different from LUH, a horizontal engine. NL means low-entry. Now, we can have a more clear view on the demonstrator for SBST.
First letter designates fuel type: D = Diesel, E= Erdgas (CNG), G = Flüsiggas (LPG), H = Hydrogen
Next two digits represent the bore of each cylinder minus 100.
First letter of suffix designates induction: L = Ladeluftkülung (Turbocharged & Intercooled), T = Turbo-Aufladung (Turbocharged), D = Naturally Aspirated
Second letter of suffix designates cylinder orientation: U = Underfloor, O = Omnibus-Vertical
Third letter of suffix is for location of engine in relation to chassis: H = Rear-mounted engine, F = Front-mounted (mainly for trucks)
There are usually two digits following the suffix, designating engine revision.
An example:
"E 2876 LUH 02" represents a Revision 02 CNG engine with a 12.8-litre displacement (128mm bore, 166mm stroke) that is turbocharged and intercooled, to be installed underfloor (horizontal cylinders) at the rear of the chassis.
Regards,
Dave
Originally posted by TIB537B:Why didn't SBS Transit fit Alcoa wheels to the MAN like the B7RLE?
Possibly the most pleasant bus ride I have ever had. Bus was quiet, little vibrations, no jerk, no irritating kneeling function (which was nice in the L113CRLs and L113CRBs but not nice in K230UBs), suspension was very good, gave a very smooth ride.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
The bus does not belong to SBS Transit.
The B7RLE also belongs to Volvo, right? They fitted Alcoa wheels there.
Ownership....
Originally posted by TIB537B:
The B7RLE also belongs to Volvo, right? They fitted Alcoa wheels there.Ownership....
Originally posted by TIB537B:
The B7RLE also belongs to Volvo, right? They fitted Alcoa wheels there.Ownership....
Yes, it belongs to Volvo. SBS Transit didn't make that decision too.
so does it mean that SBST does not own e MAN (8031J), just like B7RLE (8033D)?
Originally posted by AEW5001:so does it mean that SBST does not own e MAN (8031J), just like B7RLE (8033D)?
B7RLE is 8030L. =)
i always confused with 8030L and 8033D...argh
Originally posted by AEW5001:i always confused with 8030L and 8033D...argh
SBS 8030L looks very different from SBS 8033D. Now, SBS 8031J looks exactly like SBS 8033D.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
SBS 8030L looks very different from SBS 8033D. Now, SBS 8031J looks exactly like SBS 8033D.
SBS8031J's exterior differs from SBS8033D's from its front and the rear.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
Volvo fitted it. Must MAN fit it too?
Think the MAN rims looks nicer ![]()
man rims of coz nicer
alcoa last time nice now too generalised
Oh, I hope that SBS will buy MANs and Volvo B7RLEs. They are great buses!
About SBS8033D, does the bus officially belongs to SBS or still under Scania ownership?
Originally posted by tintinspartan:Oh, I hope that SBS will buy MANs and Volvo B7RLEs. They are great buses!
About SBS8033D, does the bus officially belongs to SBS or still under Scania ownership?
Maybe starting from SBS83xxx lor then SBST can stop buying KUBs?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:the 500 K230UB order has been confirmed…
haizz sian I think. No last mins to like 400 or 300 lol?
the MAN bus width is wider than KUB anot ?
Originally posted by tintinspartan:Oh, I hope that SBS will buy MANs and Volvo B7RLEs. They are great buses!
8033 think still under Scania leh...
Originally posted by bus555:
haizz sian I think. No last mins to like 400 or 300 lol?
It's like you ordered a steamboat buffet and you decided to cancel last minute. Later all food cooked is wasted. That works the same way to the KUBs.