Originally posted by nenepokey:8033 think still under Scania leh...
1688? 2988?
Originally posted by jayh272416:
1688? 2988?
Originally posted by jayh272416:
1688? 2988?
both bought by SBST. they happy with 1688, so buy some CNGs. 2888. maybe hard to maintain.
So how many seats does this bus?
Originally posted by SBS2695H:So how many seats does this bus?
1 more seat than K230UBs.
hey that departure timings that tamago write on 8031j iz it all day same timings or one day onli?
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:hey that departure timings that tamago write on 8031j iz it all day same timings or one day onli?
If there's no changes, the timings should all be the same for this week.
Originally posted by sbs&tibs:
If there's no changes, the timings should all be the same for this week.
today's timing is on duty 4S, no jump bus.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
SBS 8030L looks very different from SBS 8033D. Now, SBS 8031J looks exactly like SBS 8033D.
Simply because the 8033D's design was based on the MAN design used on 8031J, which first appeared on Discovery Bay's MANs (way before there was 8033D).
review of MAN 18.240 HOCl-NL-R
popped by Pasir ris again ytd to go sit my new darling (lol). Decided to preview the thing before a full ride soo i chucked myself out from int one stop out using a s17.
Apprehension greeted me when i board the bus. Will the new generation Voith gearbox not produce any whsitles? Will bus have the turbo whistle mix with Voith producing a nice sounds like MAN 18.310 Cuaseway link? More importantly,Will there be hubs?!
first thing that caught my eye. Hey the flooring is kinda carpettish textured. Indeed the floor llooks different with the matted design. Went to the rear n found a tix immediately. had a look around . look pretty much like a Scania k230Ub but just feels much more spacey. Stretched legs out. hmmm lots of legroom. hmm the air pressure equipment is confined to one side of bus only.
Noticed the L shaped rear protrusion immediately. Recokoned its a MAN Lion's City kind of feature.
Before entering Pasir ris the bus produced the voith whistle. confirming that the Voith whsitle is here to stay despite being a new gen voith gearbox
FULL RIDE
This time I compare the bus to the other MANs i took. Mostly the MAn engine sound is a bit more low toned. Not as high toned as i wanted it to be. The bus when shifting from 1st to 2nd gar kinda chokes up. however, this is where the MAN engine power starts being shown off as the bus roars 9 the word roar used with much significance due to MAn's mascot the Lion) loudly and the bus gains speed despite gear choke.. the roar brings back the days of the Merc O305 double deckers whom engine roars are a much show of power then.
the bus easily shifts after hitting the second gear after a power roar. Upon reaching 4th , the floating sensation did not come. this was expected as MANs dun normally give floating sensations due to their high engine whining. However often times, the bus kicks down to 3rd when hitting 4th. bus seem to not be able to maintain 4th gear optimal drive... hmmmm
the voith gearbox repeated shows its face when the bus shifts gears producing a high pitch whine to go along with the MAN engine sound. however no turbo whistle was detected. sian. no combination of both whsitles from the turbo and the Voith gearbox to produce a heavenly sound. I detected hardly a sign of a hub reduction sound although there is a faint one sometimes. Apparently true to promise, the new hub reduction technology (what they call it hypoid hubs?) makes hubs real soft.
As promsied, the suspension is enhanced and the effect is truly felt. (with 4 suspension adbsorbers at the rear), we all got a comfy ride.
overall, the bus is a refreshhing (MAN engine sounds) and comfy ride (superior air suspensions)
info
I took a pic of the VIN plate with BC permission.
WMAA69ZZ46CC07603
to decipher the VIn a few poiinters:
W first letter is country code
last 4 digit is chassis series number. so its the 7603th chassis.
A69 is the chassis series. Some will find this number VERY significant.
upon alighting from the bus i had a good look at the rear. very chio curves. rear looks good. much nicer than scania. well proportioned and symetrical it is.
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:review of MAN 18.240 HOCl-NL-R
popped by Pasir ris again ytd to go sit my new darling (lol). Decided to preview the thing before a full ride soo i chucked myself out from int one stop out using a s17.Apprehension greeted me when i board the bus. Will the new generation Voith gearbox not produce any whsitles? Will bus have the turbo whistle mix with Voith producing a nice sounds like MAN 18.310 Cuaseway link? More importantly,Will there be hubs?!
first thing that caught my eye. Hey the flooring is kinda carpettish textured. Indeed the floor llooks different with the matted design. Went to the rear n found a tix immediately. had a look around . look pretty much like a Scania k230Ub but just feels much more spacey. Stretched legs out. hmmm lots of legroom. hmm the air pressure equipment is confined to one side of bus only.
Noticed the L shaped rear protrusion immediately. Recokoned its a MAN Lion's City kind of feature.
Before entering Pasir ris the bus produced the voith whistle. confirming that the Voith whsitle is here to stay despite being a new gen voith gearboxFULL RIDE
This time I compare the bus to the other MANs i took. Mostly the MAn engine sound is a bit more low toned. Not as high toned as i wanted it to be. The bus when shifting from 1st to 2nd gar kinda chokes up. however, this is where the MAN engine power starts being shown off as the bus roars 9 the word roar used with much significance due to MAn's mascot the Lion) loudly and the bus gains speed despite gear choke.. the roar brings back the days of the Merc O305 double deckers whom engine roars are a much show of power then.
the bus easily shifts after hitting the second gear after a power roar. Upon reaching 4th , the floating sensation did not come. this was expected as MANs dun normally give floating sensations due to their high engine whining. However often times, the bus kicks down to 3rd when hitting 4th. bus seem to not be able to maintain 4th gear optimal drive... hmmmm
the voith gearbox repeated shows its face when the bus shifts gears producing a high pitch whine to go along with the MAN engine sound. however no turbo whistle was detected. sian. no combination of both whsitles from the turbo and the Voith gearbox to produce a heavenly sound. I detected hardly a sign of a hub reduction sound although there is a faint one sometimes. Apparently true to promise, the new hub reduction technology (what they call it hypoid hubs?) makes hubs real soft.
As promsied, the suspension is enhanced and the effect is truly felt. (with 4 suspension adbsorbers at the rear), we all got a comfy ride.
overall, the bus is a refreshhing (MAN engine sounds) and comfy ride (superior air suspensions)
info
I took a pic of the VIN plate with BC permission.WMAA69ZZ46CC07603
to decipher the VIn a few poiinters:
W first letter is country code
last 4 digit is chassis series number. so its the 7603th chassis.
A69 is the chassis series. Some will find this number VERY significant.upon alighting from the bus i had a good look at the rear. very chio curves. rear looks good. much nicer than scania. well proportioned and symetrical it is.
ZYX
Have you ever wondered what it might be like if it is fitted with ZF?
anyway just a question. this MAN is EURO IV, not EURO V, rite?
Ok since i am such a MAn bus lover, talk more
yesh its a EURO IV bus. u can detect the euro IV ish smell (yes there is such a thing - )coming out from rear of bus as it moved off. and danggit the thing cannot produce a MAn fart.
MANs do not come with ZF. Due to Intense competition with mercdes benz in germany their homeland.
The mercs side with Zf whereas as rivals MAns side with votih. my opinions lol
A cursory review of other MANs i took
Cuaseway link MAN 18.310
I took both coach and citybus. both Voiths Sound the same . loud peircing engine with Voith whines and turbo whsitles n voith whsitles to whet ur ears. lovely air release sounds. (called MAn farts by me)
Intrakota ex MAN
MAn SL 252 (model i tink may be wrong correct me if worng)
very loud and power showing engine of MAn bus. rev until mad. can go really really fast on top speeds. Also comes with Voiths. heavenl whsitles n turbos mix well also. lovely air release sounds.
Citybus Hong Kong
MAN Nl262 (WAB)
rather quiet for a MAn. in fact its very deep engine sound with a more Lance and b10BLE like tone to it. gearbox not able to detect what it is. Sounds very ZFish. very quiet for a MAN. odd one out i guess.
Seriusoly, I appreciate more if the MAN comes with voiths. My very biased preferrence. lol..not say i dunch like Zff gearbox oso....
ZYX
Certified MAN kee seow
Wasn't the MAN 16.240 mated with a ZF4?
As for the MAN Nl262 you mentioned, can I hazard a guess that its a Allison?
Citybus's NL262/R supposes is not WAB, they are full low floor bus
This is a photo took on a Citybus's MAN NL262/R:
This is a photo of a MAN NL262/R use on Cityflyer, a self-modified coach
version:

In March 2006, Citybus lauch Airport route A10 under its Cityflyer brand, form Ap Lei Chau to HKIA. Because the special operational condition in Soutern District, Citybus need a shorter and lower capacity bus for this route. A Dennis Trident is too big (although somtimes will have a Trident ), but Citybus does not have small coach. It decided to modified 10 MAN NL262/R from its original fleet(#1560-1569).

Citybus removed the center door, and replace it with 2 full size windows with a thicker column in between. 4 special one-man seats are removed and replaced with two baggae rack. All seats are removed and replaced with coach seats. At the same time, they add a platform at the rear part of the bus. So the coach version is a WAB, but the original one is a full low floor bus.
Original one uses Voith DIWA 851.3. Coach version uses the same gearbox at first, but the original tunning, which is excellent on urban area is not suitable for highway trip. They replaced with a D864.3 gearbox. If you want to try a ZF gearbox on MAN bus, you can go to discovery bay and try their single-door version of NL262/R and NL263/R. They are incredible smooth, powerful and quiet at first, but now get deterioted.
Regarding transmissions: If a MAN customer specifies ZF, a ZF transmission will be supplied. Otherwise, MAN will supply their city bus chassis' with a Voith transmission by default. Likewise, if a Mercedes-Benz customer specifies Voith, a Voith transmission will be supplied. Otherwise, Mercedes-Benz will supply their city bus chassis' with a ZF transmission by default. Both manufacturers are happy to use either ZF or Voith - it is the CUSTOMER'S choice.
ZYX: If the bus is consistantly hunting between 3rd and 4th gear, it could mean a couple of things. It could mean that the engine lacks low-down torque (which in the case of the 18.240 holds true) or it could mean that the diff ratio specified is unsuitable for the operating conditions (which could also be true).
Regards,
Dave
I believe 8033D belongs to SBST (since SBS alr bought 500 KUBs) and they will buy 8030L and 8031J after 1yr, just like 1688K n 2888T
Originally posted by nwfb23:Citybus's NL262/R supposes is not WAB, they are full low floor bus
This is a photo took on a Citybus's MAN NL262/R:
This is a photo of a MAN NL262/R use on Cityflyer, a self-modified coach
version:
In March 2006, Citybus lauch Airport route A10 under its Cityflyer brand, form Ap Lei Chau to HKIA. Because the special operational condition in Soutern District, Citybus need a shorter and lower capacity bus for this route. A Dennis Trident is too big (although somtimes will have a Trident ), but Citybus does not have small coach. It decided to modified 10 MAN NL262/R from its original fleet(#1560-1569).
Citybus removed the center door, and replace it with 2 full size windows with a thicker column in between. 4 special one-man seats are removed and replaced with two baggae rack. All seats are removed and replaced with coach seats. At the same time, they add a platform at the rear part of the bus. So the coach version is a WAB, but the original one is a full low floor bus.
Original one uses Voith DIWA 851.3. Coach version uses the same gearbox at first, but the original tunning, which is excellent on urban area is not suitable for highway trip. They replaced with a D864.3 gearbox. If you want to try a ZF gearbox on MAN bus, you can go to discovery bay and try their single-door version of NL262/R and NL263/R. They are incredible smooth, powerful and quiet at first, but now get deterioted.
de interior looks dull but congrats de seats, cushion not plastic
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:de interior looks dull but congrats de seats, cushion not plastic
Compared to the production batch K230s, it looks better. And the seats are the SAME as K230s.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:So how many seats does this bus?
Just to list out
1688 has 34 seat
the CNGs has 34 seat
2888 have 31 seat
K230 have 29/30 seat
8031 have 31 seat
8030 have 28 seat
Originally posted by ZYX2005:Ok since i am such a MAn bus lover, talk more
yesh its a EURO IV bus. u can detect the euro IV ish smell (yes there is such a thing - )coming out from rear of bus as it moved off. and danggit the thing cannot produce a MAn fart.
MANs do not come with ZF. Due to Intense competition with mercdes benz in germany their homeland.
The mercs side with Zf whereas as rivals MAns side with votih. my opinions lol
A cursory review of other MANs i took
Cuaseway link MAN 18.310
I took both coach and citybus. both Voiths Sound the same . loud peircing engine with Voith whines and turbo whsitles n voith whsitles to whet ur ears. lovely air release sounds. (called MAn farts by me)Intrakota ex MAN
MAn SL 252 (model i tink may be wrong correct me if worng)
very loud and power showing engine of MAn bus. rev until mad. can go really really fast on top speeds. Also comes with Voiths. heavenl whsitles n turbos mix well also. lovely air release sounds.
Citybus Hong Kong
MAN Nl262 (WAB)
rather quiet for a MAn. in fact its very deep engine sound with a more Lance and b10BLE like tone to it. gearbox not able to detect what it is. Sounds very ZFish. very quiet for a MAN. odd one out i guess.Seriusoly, I appreciate more if the MAN comes with voiths. My very biased preferrence. lol..not say i dunch like Zff gearbox oso....
ZYX
Certified MAN kee seow
As im also a MAN lover lol :D
just to addon to a BC from sv 6 said that the bus are late every trip
Originally posted by AEW5001:I believe 8033D belongs to SBST (since SBS alr bought 500 KUBs) and they will buy 8030L and 8031J after 1yr, just like 1688K n 2888T
SBS8033D is the demo lah....
Originally posted by AEW5001:I believe 8033D belongs to SBST (since SBS alr bought 500 KUBs) and they will buy 8030L and 8031J after 1yr, just like 1688K n 2888T
Sorry to burst ur bubbles..
its still under Scania.
its OK, since there r so many KUBs alr under SBS