Originally posted by SBS7484P:LOL! unhappy bus. volgrens always smiling eh. haha
sadly SBST having a hard time maintaining their volgrens. thats probably the reason they stopped buying volgren after B10TLs.
Originally posted by Oceane:
Let's hope they order equal numbers of B7RLE and this MAN. But we are having Gemilang invasions now...
None of us here tested the bus yet. What if it is worse than K230UB?
Originally posted by Oceane:Well it's pointless arguing here. Whichever service it will ply on it's the SBST HQ's decision. Though I'm not so favourable for it to be under SLBP as we have seen in the past 2 examples how 8030L and 8033D went down in engine quality after being deployed on 174. I'm not so OK with dumping all the demos in one service because that's a very biased viewpoint. Currently only ARBP and BRBP do not have demos (9888Y got taken over by AMDEP) so they stand a higher chance (or is it because they're sub depots of BBDEP and AMDEP respectively?)
Either way, 81S used to be in AMDEP.
I would definitely say a no-no to have this bus under SLBP and rot there.
At least AM/BR is more capable of handling Merc buses and Merc-like buses. (After all, both MAN and MB are from Germany)
Because ur statement above are bias lor. Engine quality? haha.
I checked MAN's website for technical details. However the site is full of details which can make a newcomer confused. Anyway, the engine of the bus produces 240Bhp and a max of 945Nm(compared to 1050Nm in K230s) and is a 7 litre engine. Lets see how this bus gonna handle high loads. ![]()
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Because ur statement above are bias lor. Engine quality? haha.
It is a fact.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
None of us here tested the bus yet. What if it is worse than K230UB?
u sure. heeheehee. it is less powerful than K230UB. if you want that bus, take it. only it will end up like 8030 and 8033, in a super jialat state.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:I checked MAN's website for technical details. However the site is full of details which can make a newcomer confused. Anyway, the engine of the bus produces 240Bhp and a max of 945Nm(compared to 1050Nm in K230s) and is a 7 litre engine. Lets see how this bus gonna handle high loads.
K230UB more powerful leh. i wonder why they buy MAN.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:K230UB more powerful leh. i wonder why they buy MAN.
To make the AMDEP services look as if they were still being served by Mercedes buses. :D
Gemilang copy Lion City front very creative indeed. ![]()
tamago: 
would have preferred full low floor.
Originally posted by Oceane:
It is a fact....
I dun see any issue with SBS 8030L & SBS 8033D. They still speed along Bukit Timah Rd at night. Ur guys staying at the "East District" haha, are just plain jealous about it.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:
I dun see any issue with SBS 8030L & SBS 8033D. They still speed along Bukit Timah Rd at night. Ur guys staying at the "East District" haha, are just plain jealous about it.
stop givin xcuses tt ppl r jealous...u juz dun wan 2 blieve wad dey tries 2 xplain 2 u...simply bcuz u live in e west n 4 sure u supports west district...
nowadays e head of west district is trying 2 gif itself better life after complains...nice move indeed...
i cant understand y both demos r deployed on e same svc...u may consider it coincidence...it was alr confirmed 8030l was 2 b perm svc62...i tink svc62 just cant get along wif svc174 bah..thou dey r under same district...cuz svc62 tuk away svc174's superlong so nw itz svc174's turn 2 take away svc62 speical bus..wahahaha...
i really tink 2 demos on 1 svc is too much...serious...
i dun wan 2 deny west district is a stronger party...e best depot under e west is hgdep...no doubt but 2 thumbs up 2 tt...n hgdep usually gets e newer buses...any objections???
east district n hgdep hav got their flaws 2...but slbp flaws r really more obvious...lol...
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:Gemilang copy Lion City front very creative indeed.
tamago:
o my gdness tt brown color interior agn...
i'd tink man suggested 2 gemilang 2 use its preferred front...same goes 4 scanias n their front...such things has gotta go thru approval...
sbs0000m ends wif a wrong suffix...it shd b sbs0000b...lol... high change it'd b reg as sbs8031j...sbst shd get a king long 4 sbs8032g...wahahahaha...
Originally posted by SBS8043A:o my gdness tt brown color interior agn...
i'd tink man suggested 2 gemilang 2 use its preferred front...same goes 4 scanias n their front...such things has gotta go thru approval...
sbs0000m ends wif a wrong suffix...it shd b sbs0000b...lol... high change it'd b reg as sbs8031j...sbst shd get a king long 4 sbs8032g...wahahahaha...
Long time no see... :)
In fact 0000M belongs to TIB 0000M, not SBS.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:Gemilang copy Lion City front very creative indeed.
tamago:
Sadly, the one on top is a MAN NL243, which is fully low floor, unlike the 18.240 HOCL-NL.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:I checked MAN's website for technical details. However the site is full of details which can make a newcomer confused. Anyway, the engine of the bus produces 240Bhp and a max of 945Nm(compared to 1050Nm in K230s) and is a 7 litre engine. Lets see how this bus gonna handle high loads.
hmm. upon analysis, i feel that the MAN should operate like our SBST MB O.405's. the reason being that the MAN also has hub reduction axle technology, it should compensate a little bit for the otherwise lousy torque of the engine. as for 8030, it;'s still the best, with 290HP.. was it 1200Nm of torque there? =)
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:sadly SBST having a hard time maintaining their volgrens. thats probably the reason they stopped buying volgren after B10TLs.
true.. i still love volgrens tho. they have a pleasing feel.. those forever smiling VSO's and gassies. ^^
Originally posted by SBS7484P:
hmm. upon analysis, i feel that the MAN should operate like our SBST MB O.405's. the reason being that the MAN also has hub reduction axle technology, it should compensate a little bit for the otherwise lousy torque of the engine. as for 8030, it;'s still the best, with 290HP.. was it 1200Nm of torque there? =)
Yes.
Actually MAN do offer engines with HP output of 240, 280 and 310 for the same chassis. I wonder why SBST chose the lowest HP. ![]()
Originally posted by SBS8043A:
stop givin xcuses tt ppl r jealous...u juz dun wan 2 blieve wad dey tries 2 xplain 2 u...simply bcuz u live in e west n 4 sure u supports west district...
nowadays e head of west district is trying 2 gif itself better life after complains...nice move indeed...
i cant understand y both demos r deployed on e same svc...u may consider it coincidence...it was alr confirmed 8030l was 2 b perm svc62...i tink svc62 just cant get along wif svc174 bah..thou dey r under same district...cuz svc62 tuk away svc174's superlong so nw itz svc174's turn 2 take away svc62 speical bus..wahahaha...
i really tink 2 demos on 1 svc is too much...serious...
i dun wan 2 deny west district is a stronger party...e best depot under e west is hgdep...no doubt but 2 thumbs up 2 tt...n hgdep usually gets e newer buses...any objections???
east district n hgdep hav got their flaws 2...but slbp flaws r really more obvious...lol...
SLBP flaws? but this is the best depot leh.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Yes.
Actually MAN do offer engines with HP output of 240, 280 and 310 for the same chassis. I wonder why SBST chose the lowest HP.
hmm. mainly because of sbst choosing safety over speed. just like the scanias. they had more powerful options but they chose the baseline. they prolly didnt want to encourage the BC's to speed, like the BC's on 80 did with the B9's
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Yes.
Actually MAN do offer engines with HP output of 240, 280 and 310 for the same chassis. I wonder why SBST chose the lowest HP.
Is there a need to wonder?![]()
Aw man. I was hoping to see this bus go in to service with the hubcaps. Too bad they removed it. The hubcaps looked nice when I saw it.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:
Is there a need to wonder?
8030 for the winners!
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:SLBP flaws? but this is the best depot leh.
Simple qn. Prove it.
I never understood how you people determine which service is cash cow. Unless you have figures from HQ, (if HQ even keeps track of which service brings in the most money), I think its just pure speculation.
A full bus does not mean a profitable service. A bus full of students paying 45cents may not bring in as much revenue as a bus half full of adults. So unless you are free enough to go collect data, I think most of us don't quite have the right to say which bus service is a cash cow. However, we are all free to continue speculating.
Oh, and regarding the depots, I know 1 thing for sure. SL Volvos are not as nice sounding as HG. How do I know? I use SL/HG controlled sv105 frequently. As for where the demonstrator will end up, time will tell us. In my opinion, it does not matter where to bus go. What matters is if SBS decides to buy more.