Originally posted by ZYX2005:i also anlaysed the specs leow. heres what i gathered with SBS99816 helping me understand the chim stuffs
review: voith 854.5?? (use this?)
gearbox = Voith 854.5 (ignoringthe Diwa branding since pretty much every voith gearbox is the Diwa brand anyways)anyhow 854.5. says in the specs is some new revolutionary gearbox designs n concepts. very intresting two way fluid thrust for accleration. think most gearbox is a one way thrust of fluids.
the reatarding pcoess sounds new..dunno what "kick back" shall be, is it the same process as when enviro 500 (dennis trident osos\)with voiths do when idle...suddenly engine rev a bits?. Conerting kinetic energy to heat energy...uhhhhh...expect hot rear rides...?
very new gearbox i figure. must be new 2008 model kind .. means new sounds of gearbox from this guy. doubt there will be voith whsitles?
_voith wbesite
review: 18.240 chassis review
we scoot over to have a looky at some MAN 18.240 specs. we chose to view 18.240HOCL-NL figuring its prob that thing.
4 rear shock absorbers for bus. wah comfy ride. i normally hear of two shcok absorber pads. this one got 4.
the engines figures have been analysed.. indeed a 6.8 litre engine. max output is 240HP (i figure u folks wd know that number is reflected in the model code by now) . 18 tonne veh. close counterpart to b7RLE. from the figures i think ze MAN might lose a bit in acc to B7RLE Mk III EURO IV.. Coupled with the new new (2008 model gearbox worh) Voith gearbox, i dunno how good the acc power wd be frankly.
one thing for sure, the bumper level from road level is a bit higher than k230UB. i think is lower than B7RLE tho.
veh width seems tad thin. cd be quite a sqeeze inside.
SBS9816 drew my attention to the in-bus diagnostics of the bus agai new generation chim gadgets figure out whats wrong with he bus. interestingly enough there is one that figures out if the brake pads r worn.\
what makes a good MAN bbus?:
have turbo whsitle, have voith whsitle. have hub reduction and the typcial MAn air pressure release sounds.
look like Lion's Citybus comes with tubro so good will have turbo whsitle.
bus already said to be with Voith may expect voith whistle
bus has hub reduction yes. but new revolutionary hub reduction reducing sound technology. wah rau. softer hubs.
Air pressure release uh? i dunno if this kind of new MAn engine makes thhat sound.
heeey check out the front of the Gemilang Lion's City bodywork (see tamago pix). its a close resemblance to a pure bred MAN Lion's City bus as can be found in germany. very chio front. very enthusing (u can imagine me drooling at tamago pic).. pity the side windows are not full length glass. if not will super reemble a MAn lion's City bus.=> we have here a goooood MAN bus.
recommedation: (a preview?)
go sit causeway link MAN 18.310 coach on CW2. that one the engine sound very sui with hubs, voith n turbo whsitles. i guess our dear MAN 18.240 wd pretty much sound like that cuasway link one
NL243 is not 18.240 is not lion's city:just to inform: NL243 is not equal to 18.240. take a close look at the engine numbers u will know. Also note that lion's City (the full integrated product line from MAn themselves) do not have 240HP chassis lines so its not a Lion's City .
Note: The transperth folks have their TP3001 the MAN NG313 (CNG fuel WAB bendybus) which is rather close to a MAN Lion's City GL bus. So that case ca sort of say iz like Lion's City.
conclusions:
all in all epxectations are expectations, u'd have to ride the bus itself to see for urself. For me i expect a comfortabble and engine that is pleasing to ears ride. hopefully same engine ptiching as the CW2 MAns lor.
ZYX
certified MAN buses lover (why not woMAN also)
Practically most , if not all, buses with air suspension has 4 shocks at the rear. That includes Scania N113CRB, MB O405 and B10Ms etc. Rear axles normally support 10tonnes and above. 2 airbags cant support that load. Normally theres 4 airbags and theres 1 shock for each airbag.
Those axles used on MAN 18.240 HOCL-NL are hypoid axles. They offer single drive through. So far, i know that they are by no means, a hub reduction axle. Do correct me if im wrong here.
HAR?? Really arh? Omg. Altho those 18.310 sounds nice inside, outside its perturbly loud! I took one before. Inside it sounds completely awesome with the turbo and all that. However, outside, when the bus moves off, its unbearably loud for my ears. Hopefully the new MAN sounds much softer.
NL243 can be 18.240/280 or even 310. The xx.xxx is just a chassis and engine HP code. However, NL243 =/= HOCL-NL series. NL243 are fully low floor. HOCL-NL are just low entry. They have steps after the rear exit.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:you raise a good point. the spces for the MAN 18.240 states its a high floor bus chassis. not low entry WAB bus. however given LTA regulations, one must assume its a modified 18.240 chassis which can take wheelchair passengers?
ZYX
No. The code HOCL-NL means its a low entry chassis. If a chassis has to be modified, it can turn a safe bus into a dangerous one, unless its factory modified by MAN.
best is to put on ............... what huh.............yah............Service 293!or 291!
Originally posted by SBS8112J:best is to put on ............... what huh.............yah............Service 293!or 291!
childish and immature
To those who like to quarrel around:
Please get your own conversation outside of this forum. "YOU" people are getting more and more nonsense down here. If "YOU" are not learning in this forum but to argue your way out, don't ever look at this forum again. This is not a place for "YOU" people to quarrel but to learn things.
I suppose many of us here are sick and tired of all these nonsense.
Many thanks in advance!
Can the mod pls help to clear the nonsense in front? thanks.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Can the mod pls help to clear the nonsense in front? thanks.
agree. delete all my posts.
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Can the mod pls help to clear the nonsense in front? thanks.
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:agree. delete all my posts.
to both SBS9888Y and Chickenlittle2
if you two are mature enough,pls clear the "nonsense" or mess that you have created YOURSELF. Do not expect the mod to be so free to help edit more than 100 posts? When you two posts, also never think of the consequences and now still need the mods to edit those post for you two? Since you two have spent so much time arguing, now should spent some more time to edit it yourself.
Engine wise should more or less like the causeway link MAN,7 litres but with diff HP(250-1000nm).Gearbox think the latest 4 speed...This bus sure roaring like hell!
Originally posted by lemon1974:
to both SBS9888Y and Chickenlittle2
if you two are mature enough,pls clear the "nonsense" or mess that you have created YOURSELF. Do not expect the mod to be so free to help edit more than 100 posts? When you two posts, also never think of the consequences and now still need the mods to edit those post for you two? Since you two have spent so much time arguing, now should spent some more time to edit it yourself.
i think people said enough. leave the past behind to rest and stop reiterating what others said and stick back to the topic.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Practically most , if not all, buses with air suspension has 4 shocks at the rear. That includes Scania N113CRB, MB O405 and B10Ms etc. Rear axles normally support 10tonnes and above. 2 airbags cant support that load. Normally theres 4 airbags and theres 1 shock for each airbag.
Those axles used on MAN 18.240 HOCL-NL are hypoid axles. They offer single drive through. So far, i know that they are by no means, a hub reduction axle. Do correct me if im wrong here.
HAR?? Really arh? Omg. Altho those 18.310 sounds nice inside, outside its perturbly loud! I took one before. Inside it sounds completely awesome with the turbo and all that. However, outside, when the bus moves off, its unbearably loud for my ears. Hopefully the new MAN sounds much softer.
NL243 can be 18.240/280 or even 310. The xx.xxx is just a chassis and engine HP code. However, NL243 =/= HOCL-NL series. NL243 are fully low floor. HOCL-NL are just low entry. They have steps after the rear exit.
from looking thru the spces list i get the impression that a NL243 and a 18.240 MAN bus are diff things le...as in their engine model is totally different.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:No. The code HOCL-NL means its a low entry chassis. If a chassis has to be modified, it can turn a safe bus into a dangerous one, unless its factory modified by MAN.
I see
i guess when one section of the specs sheet place put 18.240 as low entry i thought the step is at front like the MAN SL252s in KL . (errr are those RapidKl svc 338 MANs Sl252 btw right?). As i read i was thinking, hmm 18.240 is high floor right and in this case is modified to zero step?
but thanks for clearing up cause the code HOCl-Nl indeed will imply a true zero step bus at least for the front part.
a point to note : u seem to imply if u code a MAN bus with the NLxx3 series u mean true low floor all the way. Like merc O405NH? If like that, i deduce the MAN Nlxx3 series are an offering by MAn to compete with the zero step all the way offerings of merc O405NH chassis type.
--high floor MANs crazy angled front step----
incidentally i have seen blueprint figures of a MAN SL202 in some european bus operations textbook. the 45 degree angled step fron entry at front door is the step i refer to. i like that step cause its a unique feature on some MAN high floor citybuses. the KL MAns have that step too which i thought is cool.
of coz most people will find that step stupid as it is angled and u have to turn your body into that angle in order to proceed on into the bus middle sections or rear. if i recall correctly the angled step is part of a 2 step entry for he KL MAns. So u imagine u ahve to tap ur card loew then see the funny angle step, twist ur body go up the step then u se...another step..but this time its aligned with the vreath of the bus body and up u go on this one.
in the book , the Sl202 is a one angled-step entry bus.
i do wonder if the MAn lion;s city high floor version still has that design feature. heee
anyhow mr scanialuver, u shd call urself MAnluver also. cuz u know much bout MAn bus
ZYX
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:HAR?? Really arh? Omg. Altho those 18.310 sounds nice inside, outside its perturbly loud! I took one before. Inside it sounds completely awesome with the turbo and all that. However, outside, when the bus moves off, its unbearably loud for my ears. Hopefully the new MAN sounds much softer.
hee hee
yesh they are loud on the outside but superb in the inside to my ears
i guessh the sound insulation stuffs on he bus engine rox
hahaha
YX
new question to raise:
are the hong kong Discovery bay 270HP output MAns true low floor all the way or just at front then got steps to rears?
juz to clear up whether HK MAN is NL273 or 18.270HOCL
adui yet anoher question for mr scanialuver.
i confused leow. i see got 18.240HOCl-NL, the end NL means zero step all the way for this HOCl chassis? or foes the code HOCl mean the bus has the steps to rear..
ZYX
I think last time got heard before, the NL is low floor bus... Regarding full low floor I dunno liao le...
In HK those DD MAN are 24.310 HOCL-N/R, in which 'N/R' (or NR?!) should denote double deck...
Of course with 'HOCL' constant, we do know that its a rear engined chassis.
From what i know, the last '2' in 'NL262' would mean the series number. That would be equal to the system seen in Scania, wherein 'K93UB', 'K94UB' and so on...
Eg: HK's Citybus MAN NL262, fleet number 1562, registered 2000/4/5, converted to airport bus in 2006 include adding in luggage racks and rearrangement of seats. Looking at the rear, there are quite some really high seats, so for this its a low entry bus I suppose, hard to be a full low floor due to the height difference! But it does not carry a XX.XXX desgination. Chassis is NL262R, engine D2866LUH22, gearbox Voith DIWA 851.3

Oh well, I'm quite surprise for SBST got the MAN 18.240 HOCL-NL demo bus, I tried once in Hong Kong is not too bad~~
im actually looking forward to riding this thing.. it looks very very merc like. all man buses are almost mercs if u doscount certain details.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:i find that the new buses nowadays have lost their distinctive character. Different bus models yet engine sounds similar to each other. Different models (eg the new scania and MAN demonstrator) but with similar bodywork design.
I still prefer the days when different models got different engine sound and different bodywork design.
Yes, I agree. All new buses of all brands have same plug doors at exit and same doors closing chime! Notice that the buzzer sounded different for different brand of buses for older buses.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:i find that the new buses nowadays have lost their distinctive character. Different bus models yet engine sounds similar to each other. Different models (eg the new scania and MAN demonstrator) but with similar bodywork design.
I still prefer the days when different models got different engine sound and different bodywork design.
Gemilang-solves-all seems to be a key reason.![]()
Chassis-wise, the different buses are still very distinctive.
Originally posted by I miss old annoucements:
Yes, I agree. All new buses of all brands have same plug doors at exit and same doors closing chime! Notice that the buzzer sounded different for different brand of buses for older buses.
And almost similar bench seats for Mk2s, Mk3s, Mk4s, N113s, O405s, VO2xs, VO3xs and LO3xs.
And similar doors for many of the abovementioned models.
And similar 'Bus Stopping' buzzer/chime for many of the abovementioned models.
And similar 'Doors Closing' buzzer/chime for many of the abovementioned models.
In other words, it has been in practice since the early days. It's called commonality, which in turn resulted in cost savings for the operator. Imagine the costs incurred if each and every model does not have the same spare components?
Ps. Sorry for being OT, can't resist.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:from looking thru the spces list i get the impression that a NL243 and a 18.240 MAN bus are diff things le...as in their engine model is totally different.
If im not wrong, the NL243 is using a 10 litre engine. I cant rmbr its model number tho. MAN engine codes are hard to rmbr!
Originally posted by ZYX2005:I see
i guess when one section of the specs sheet place put 18.240 as low entry i thought the step is at front like the MAN SL252s in KL . (errr are those RapidKl svc 338 MANs Sl252 btw right?). As i read i was thinking, hmm 18.240 is high floor right and in this case is modified to zero step?
but thanks for clearing up cause the code HOCl-Nl indeed will imply a true zero step bus at least for the front part.
a point to note : u seem to imply if u code a MAN bus with the NLxx3 series u mean true low floor all the way. Like merc O405NH? If like that, i deduce the MAN Nlxx3 series are an offering by MAn to compete with the zero step all the way offerings of merc O405NH chassis type.--high floor MANs crazy angled front step----
incidentally i have seen blueprint figures of a MAN SL202 in some european bus operations textbook. the 45 degree angled step fron entry at front door is the step i refer to. i like that step cause its a unique feature on some MAN high floor citybuses. the KL MAns have that step too which i thought is cool.
of coz most people will find that step stupid as it is angled and u have to turn your body into that angle in order to proceed on into the bus middle sections or rear. if i recall correctly the angled step is part of a 2 step entry for he KL MAns. So u imagine u ahve to tap ur card loew then see the funny angle step, twist ur body go up the step then u se...another step..but this time its aligned with the vreath of the bus body and up u go on this one.in the book , the Sl202 is a one angled-step entry bus.
i do wonder if the MAn lion;s city high floor version still has that design feature. heee
anyhow mr scanialuver, u shd call urself MAnluver also. cuz u know much bout MAn bus
ZYX
If the code is 18.240 HOCL, it is a high floor bus, but there are many types of high floor bus codes . Got HOCL-SL (high-floor city bus) and HOCL-SÜ( high floor intercity bus). IMO, theres no such things as chassis modified to make it low floor. Maybe you refering to design modifications? Normally its called deprivations. For example, you take a design of the chassis of a 18.240 HOCL, you can actually make calculations and modify the chassis thru CAD (Computer Aided Drafting). Very seldom people would take the actual chassis and cut it into pieces than join it again to form a low floor one. That would be rediculous.
Its better to modify the bus on the sketch board before making the final product.
Hmm i not a pro of MAN buses to tell you. Haha. I like to study bus chassis and engines, hence i got some info about them. Haha.![]()
Originally posted by SBS7484P:im actually looking forward to riding this thing.. it looks very very merc like. all man buses are almost mercs if u doscount certain details.
that is absolutely correct
ZYX
just ignore side profile. concentrate on front of the man bus....
engine wise the MAN will have a distinct sound that most of us wun have heard before.
ZYX