Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:If the code is 18.240 HOCL, it is a high floor bus, but there are many types of high floor bus codes . Got HOCL-SL (high-floor city bus) and HOCL-SÜ( high floor intercity bus). IMO, theres no such things as chassis modified to make it low floor. Maybe you refering to design modifications? Normally its called deprivations. For example, you take a design of the chassis of a 18.240 HOCL, you can actually make calculations and modify the chassis thru CAD (Computer Aided Drafting). Very seldom people would take the actual chassis and cut it into pieces than join it again to form a low floor one. That would be rediculous.
Its better to modify the bus on the sketch board before making the final product.
Hmm i not a pro of MAN buses to tell you. Haha. I like to study bus chassis and engines, hence i got some info about them. Haha.
ah correct lor
when i first skim the spec sheets with sbs9816 we saw 18.240HOCl (no Nl one) then we think...err..high floor bus meh?
later skim further found the 18.240HOCl-NL specs
haha. thats why i say 18.240 got high floor also one. maybe for coach wor.
is like 18.310 got coach version but yet 18.310 got WAB one also.
so is like:
MAn 18.310HOCl = coach bus (example - causeway link)
MAN 18.310HOCl-NL - (CNG fuel) - WAB citybus common in australia
same like volvo b7R series . got coach n citybus one.
Volvo b7R ( coach one - example sentosa high flloor coaches)
Volvo B7RLE series
> Volvo b7RLE Mk II ( sentosa liannex un wheelchair frenly low floor bus)
> Volvo B7RLE Mk III EURO IV (the sbs WAB one, call SBS8030L)
> Volvo B7RLE Mk III EURO V (The euro V version of the same model, more common in england)
ZYX
Originally posted by carbikebus:Engine wise should more or less like the causeway link MAN,7 litres but with diff HP(250-1000nm).Gearbox think the latest 4 speed...This bus sure roaring like hell!
this one unsure. engine wise could be lik lion's city MAn engine. more smooth n lower tone sounding (think lance mix with old scania sounds) or sculli as u say like cuasway link MAN 18.310 type engine sound. loud n higher ptiching.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:this one unsure. engine wise could be lik lion's city MAn engine. more smooth n lower tone sounding (think lance mix with old scania sounds) or sculli as u say like cuasway link MAN 18.310 type engine sound. loud n higher ptiching.
Engine would be the same, accept that Lion City's engine might be horizontal, just like O405 engine. Most low floor buses that has longitudinal config uses this kind of engine, otherwise it would be transverse position so that the engine doesnt penetrate into the pax compartment as much as possible, permitting a low floor configuration. HOCL-NL engines are mostly vertical.
O405's engine is vertical too, right?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:O405's engine is vertical too, right?
Its Horizontal. Heres a link to show how the engine looks like :
http://www.mantas-service.com/truck.php?act=viewProd&productId=528
Kindly help yourself by copying and pasting link.. Thanks. I had such a hard time trying to link this stupid thing.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:O405's engine is vertical too, right?
bro when a bus engine is palced vertical, u either have a super high rear end like the Scania k230UB,.. and u bump ur head when u stand up..PONK
or it would be dumped to the side of the bus and no windows n seats can be put there at rear like most european buses. maybe O405NH is like that wor.
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:
bro when a bus engine is palced vertical, u either have a super high rear end like the Scania k230UB,.. and u bump ur head when u stand up..PONK
or it would be dumped to the side of the bus and no windows n seats can be put there at rear like most european buses. maybe O405NH is like that wor.
ZYX
O.405NH's engine position is the same as a O.405, an O.405NH is basically a O.405N2's front attached to a O.405 rear. An O.405 or O.405NH's engine position would be Horizontal and longitudinal.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:
Ok, so is this a stepless bus? And if SBST is trialling it, does it mean SBST will most probably place an order for it? ![]()
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Low-entry, not stepless. Trailing it does not mean it will place an order for it.
Have to see if trial is successful or not... =)
Originally posted by ^tamago^:Low-entry, not stepless. Trailing it does not mean it will place an order for it.
Why only low-entry, not stepless? I thought SBST is aiming for 100% wheelchair-friendly bus fleet? ![]()
Originally posted by alleggerita:Why only low-entry, not stepless? I thought SBST is aiming for 100% wheelchair-friendly bus fleet?
Low Entry is Wheelchair-friendly. Low floor also wheelchair friendly. However, it appears that stepless aka fully low floor bus are slightly costlier than low entry ones. Theres still one DD chassis that i know is low floor type, that is the DT3 and the Enviro500. B9TLs are low entry type.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Engine wise should more or less like the causeway link MAN,7 litres but with diff HP(250-1000nm).Gearbox think the latest 4 speed...This bus sure roaring like hell!
Hmm you mean for Voith? Currently only Voith produces 4 -speed gearboxes. ZF have phased out their 4-speed gearboxes.
lets clear up the names used
Low entry _
can mean
a) high floor bus with 1 or two short steps at fronts. canot carry PIW. not WAB. eg: MAN ion's City high floor version. (bacially the bus front is old MAN bodywork)
b) WAb bus with zero step front and exit door bus with steps leading to rear of bus like k230Ub or b7RLE. pls note when u say Low entry bus in Singapore context it will automatically mean WAB bus category so no such thin as the a) class. this is due to regulatons
Full zero step bus>
In singapore i guess the b10TL and Dennsi trident will meet this. this mans WAB bus (or in this case din fit wheelchair amps) with no steps all the way until rear seat where u inevitably must go on steps to sit down. no steps after rear exit to climb n shag to go rear portion of bus.
in germany, the MAN NL series meet this whereas the 18.xxx series may not meet this.
the confusion i msyelf have is because our dear 18.240 bus hor, the model got the Nl lettering side hor so i was thinking is like the no step to rear bus one.
anyhow the problem will solve itself when i see the interior of the bus for myself
ZYX
Hi guys,
To clear some things up.
The 18.240 HOCL-R-NL is built on the MAN A69 chassis - the same used for the 18.280 HOCL-R-NL and 18.310 HOCL-R-NL. The A69 chassis can incorporate several different engines which include the D 0836 (6.871-litre), D 2066 (10.518-litre), and CNG-fuelled E 2876 LUH (12.816-litre) engines. All engines are turbocharged and intercooled and have 6 inline cylinders. The availability of different engine options allows the operator to choose the engine that best suits their needs. Engine outputs from 240 PS up to 310 PS are available, with the CNG option being 310 PS.
Clarification of terminology:
Low FLOOR: zero-step entry, flat floor right to the back seat.
Low ENTRY: zero step entry, flat floor until the rear axle and then raised floor to the back seat.
NL 243 is NOT equal to 18.240 HOCL-R-NL. Both are built on completely different chassis designs.
Regards,
Dave
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:i hope this time round, SBST places bulk order for MAN buses.
Why not you try taking the new MAN 18.240 first before making that statement. The MAN bus *might* not be that good after all.
*double post*
Saw this bus today the engine noise is very low look very similar to SBS8033D.
Although MAN buses are popular in Malaysia, the same can't be said for SG. SJE is the only operator with regular buses while SBS only had 1 unit. Recently, Five Star Travel have acquired new MAN DD coach(es) but the marque still remains scarce here. The prospect of having MAN buses in SG is something I have been looking forward to. I hope this new demonstrator will provide good feedback and hopefully it will lead to the purchase of more buses.
I suppose it could be that the dealership (STK) has not been active in promoting nor bringing in the bus products, preferring to focus on the trucks and military-use vehicles instead.
Originally posted by sv966:I suppose it could be that the dealership (STK) has not been active in promoting nor bringing in the bus products, preferring to focus on the trucks and military-use vehicles instead.
Not forgetting the Changi Airport T2/T3 baggage tow tractor which uses China made engines![]()
Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:Although MAN buses are popular in Malaysia, the same can't be said for SG. SJE is the only operator with regular buses while SBS only had 1 unit. Recently, Five Star Travel have acquired new MAN DD coach(es) but the marque still remains scarce here. The prospect of having MAN buses in SG is something I have been looking forward to. I hope this new demonstrator will provide good feedback and hopefully it will lead to the purchase of more buses.
agree with this. i llike MAN buses and cannot be always spending money go Hong Kong or malaysia just to have a ride in MANs.
lol
ZYX
I think the rego would be SBS8029P you may not know? Just between the Soon Chow and the Volvo B7R rego :)