I somehow came thru this topic while browsing the net.
http://talkback.stomp.com.sg/forums/archive/index.php/t-15887.html
The writer states that the bendy (This time its TIB989E cameo 190) swung dangerously from lane 1 to the next and back again hence passengers experiences high G-forces at the rear.
I experienced this before while at the rear tho, when the SL suddenly shift from lane to lane at high speed. Anyone experiences this before?
Honestly......how high can the G force be?
1??
Go to fly kite,Dunno why this dumbo complain so much.Go buy own transport lah basket!Everything must complain really spoilt this type of peoples.Because of such dumbass the Govt will bring up some issues and use as an excuse to raise everything.Fed up sial!
You better pray u wont be like a passenger in this bus ![]()
I think that's why SBST does not wants bendy buses. They are hard to mantain also.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:I think that's why SBST does not wants bendy buses. They are hard to mantain also.
Depot parking and interchange infrastructure constraints.
bus can feel more lah.... for car you feel song!
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:i saw stickers pasted on the rear of Perth’s articulated buses warning the buses may swing outwards. such situations may happen when the bus turn at high speed or the road is slippery. any possibility the anti jackknife system fails?
btw i noticed some SMRT bendies got serious sagging bottoms at the flexible connection, with parts even brushing against the road surface!
Lots of SMRT bendies got this problem. On top of that, there are lots with this squeaky articulator that will make wierd screaming sounds when the bus makes a turn...
Originally posted by carbikebus:Go to fly kite,Dunno why this dumbo complain so much.Go buy own transport lah basket!Everything must complain really spoilt this type of peoples.Because of such dumbass the Govt will bring up some issues and use as an excuse to raise everything.Fed up sial!
I've posted abt tis matter bef last year and you said tis
What happens if this bus hits a car beside? the car beside might even just fly kite lke wat you said LOL LOL LOL
Hmm the thing i would like to highlight is not about the bus jacknifing or failure of anti-jackknife stuffs. I'm discussing about the discomfort experience by passengers when the bendy bus swerves around.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Hmm the thing i would like to highlight is not about the bus jacknifing or failure of anti-jackknife stuffs. I'm discussing about the discomfort experience by passengers when the bendy bus swerves around.
it's also a road hazard esp if e bus is too close to any vehicles beside esp on high speed
Originally posted by sbst275:
it's also a road hazard esp if e bus is too close to any vehicles beside esp on high speed
Yep. Imagine this. You are driving next to an articulated bus. Suddenly the driver speeds up and the tail section of the bus swings right into your car. That will be tragic right?
I wonder why people not complaining of verticle unstability,esp at PIE for Sv. 190 ![]()
Originally posted by jayh272416:
Yep. Imagine this. You are driving next to an articulated bus. Suddenly the driver speeds up and the tail section of the bus swings right into your car. That will be tragic right?
two scene
1) it hits you cos bus and your vehicle is too close
2) you got frightened, steer your steering wheel and end up cause an accident
Yes, its not rare to experience high forces when the bus swtiches lane quickly...
And one or more times, on service 190, numerous of buses like 878S (now WLDEP), 1118X (when it went to 'ji siao' s190), some of the perm buses Habit especially and those which seems not to have 'bang-you' (lock at 60km/h) and even 1224Y, when the bus captain switches lanes quickly, at Lornie Road exit area as well, the slope and the added velocity will create a very big sway at the rear, causing the passengers, mostly at the last row, feel a very strong sideways jerking force.
Even on normal roads this will occur.
I would say that its the natural design of the bus that creates such huge forces, as the rear carriage is like a tail, a crocrodile's tail is very power and so does the bus' 'tail' in such a sense, sway very hard when the front changes direction.
It is technically so that the rear axle will follow the same route as the middle axle, so by 'keeping up', the axle is subjected high forces and so does the force goes up to the cabin, and on a whole, as the fulcrum is on the middle axle, the rear will become the 'load'. When u subject high forces to the applied area, the fulcrum is the turing point, where its the most stable (the middle axle) and the load is where the turn is similar, if not the same, as ur applied point. So does the bendy bus work in such a way.
When the bus jack-knives, just like in Harbourfront and many other places, the feeling that u would have at the rear is how u would feel in the front, but when at the middle axle, u only feel a small bump, if none...
Under normal driving conditions, an articulated bus should in no way jack-knife whilst travelling in a straight line. Jack-knifing or fish-tailing is generally caused by poor maintenance.
Regarding the "bus may swing outwards" signs: these were displayed on articulated buses fitted with steerable rear axles. Rear-steer articulated buses have two steering axles - frontmost and rearmost. When the front axle is turned to the left (e.g. for a left-hand turn), the rear axle turns slighly to the right. This moves the trailer away from the nearside kerb, thereby giving a tighter turning radius at the expense of off-side "swing-out". A larger problem occurs when there is street furniture sited close to the kerb in a bus bay. Potentially, a rear-steer articulated bus' nearside rear corner may come into contact with this furniture upon departure from the bus bay due to the "swing-out". With the steering wheel at full lock in either direction, the "swing-out" clearance required is significant, which means that special training is required to drive these vehicles.
Regards,
Dave
Did the complainer get Lane 1 correct? If so, then what is the Bendy doing on the fast/overtaking lane?
Originally posted by mancha:Did the complainer get Lane 1 correct? If so, then what is the Bendy doing on the fast/overtaking lane?
I think they thought is L - R when it's R - L
I myself have saw tis kind of swinging bef when they wanna overtake
Ok, the bus is on the extreme left lane, where it should be. It was presumably over taking other slower vehicle in an abrupt manner. Passengers in the Bendy, especialy those at the rear, exprienced some (terrific) G-force.
Isn't the G-force thing normal. It is centrifugal force, you can experience it even in cars, and regular buses. Tiko uncles and other miscreants, take advantage of it when they are seated next to a chio bu.
I will put it down to bad driving by the bus captain rather than faulty design of the Bendy.
Originally posted by mancha:Ok, the bus is on the extreme left lane, where it should be. It was presumably over taking other slower vehicle in an abrupt manner. Passengers in the Bendy, especialy those at the rear, exprienced some (terrific) G-force.
Isn't the G-force thing normal. It is centrifugal force, you can experience it even in cars, and regular buses. Tiko uncles and other miscreants, take advantage of it when they are seated next to a chio bu.
I will put it down to bad driving by the bus captain rather than faulty design of the Bendy.
cos of length, attachment body factor and finally, travelling speed
oftenly SMRT buses love to do abrupt lane changing one... somemore keep on acclerating for any occasion (reversing at bus int, travelling at 40kph at bus int @ Boon Lay & Ang Mo Kio)... I hope not, sooner or later one bendy bus going to crash into bus interchange platform all cos of carelessness + speeding
Originally posted by ceecookie:You better pray u wont be like a passenger in this bus
Originally posted by ceecookie:I wonder why people not complaining of verticle unstability,esp at PIE for Sv. 190
they worry miss saw put uds instead
Originally posted by sbst275:
I've posted abt tis matter bef last year and you said tisWhat happens if this bus hits a car beside? the car beside might even just fly kite lke wat you said LOL LOL LOL
As a road user i feel one should understand each other,like car dun get too near beside a bendy bus when turning.If every car so selfish then its useless to have even DD buses on the road