Originally posted by SBS2695H:I think SMRT should just openly annouce the timings for SMB1H if they are really intrested to promote this bus to the public.
C'mon, it's just another bus; there'll be more of them sooner or later. It's not as if promoting SMB1H extensively is going to rake in more profits for them right? Imagine the chaos at New Bridge Rd or CCK if SMRT were to make the timings known, since many people would want to board it.
*announce
*interested
Anyone has the timing for tomorrow?
5th July 2008: 307/190 -> Full day
2moro maybe full day or split shift. will update your guys again
Originally posted by TIB 589B:6th July 2008: 307/190 -> Full day
2moro maybe full day or split shift. will update your guys again
Chris, do you mean 7 July? I don't think it's necessary for SMB1H to cross to 307 on a sunday.
Originally posted by tintinspartan:
Chris, do you mean 7 July? I don't think it's necessary for SMB1H to cross to 307 on a sunday.
he must be assuming that at time of typing that reply is still on friday...i believe it's on 5 jul right?
btw 7 jul is a monday...
No news on SMB2E to SMB131R?
Are they still being bodied up or given SMRT's weird history with buses, the chassis themselves havent' even reach Singapore shores?
the introduction of the K230UBs are faster, but the fact is that they are replacing buses that are outgoing. The UDs are still on the road, and only one SMB bus on revenue service.
Originally posted by TIB537B:No news on SMB2E to SMB131R?
Are they still being bodied up or given SMRT's weird history with buses, the chassis themselves havent' even reach Singapore shores?
the introduction of the K230UBs are faster, but the fact is that they are replacing buses that are outgoing. The UDs are still on the road, and only one SMB bus on revenue service.
Are SMB2E and SMB131R also OC500LEs?
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
Are SMB2E and SMB131R also OC500LEs?
yes.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
yes.
I hope 77 gets OC500LE. 77 has lower demand so can enjoy better. ![]()
Originally posted by TIB537B:No news on SMB2E to SMB131R?
The problem is..
The OC500 are being bodied somewhere else before it is being shipped here. While the K230s are being bodied locally. Thats why you can see that K230s are hitting the roads at a very fast speed.
Imagine :
The OC500 chassis have to be shipped to a country to be bodied before being shipped over to SIN.
The K230 chassis being shipped to SIN and being bodied here.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:
SPH is really funny. Skip SMB3C to SMB130T and jump to SMB131R. I just hope 77 gets OC500LE. 77 has lower demand so can enjoy better.
You are really funny. Can't even see that TIB537B put SMB2E to SBS131R. By the way, SPH stands for Singapore Press Holdings.
Originally posted by 566117:
You are really funny. Can't even see that TIB537B put SMB2E to SBS131R. By the way, SPH stands for Singapore Press Holdings.
Oh ok I didn't see clearly. But anyway SPH = Saw Phiak Hua, the SMRT's CEO's name.
Originally posted by sBs_boy:
The problem is..The OC500 are being bodied somewhere else before it is being shipped here. While the K230s are being bodied locally. Thats why you can see that K230s are hitting the roads at a very fast speed.
Imagine :
The OC500 chassis have to be shipped to a country to be bodied before being shipped over to SIN.The K230 chassis being shipped to SIN and being bodied here.
I remember TIBS also had this tradition of bodying their buses overseas before shipping here for better quality vehicles. Seems that the tradition still sticks with SMRT.
Was wondering why SMRT couldn't ask to have bodied up more units before launching say, the first 20 buses on the first day? This way, they can make a little bit more impact to the frequency on the first day of their service.
Trivia - Imagine in about 20 more years, the TIB rego will really walk into history with the retirement of the hispano habits and TIBS will really be a memory. By that time, SMRT Buses should have a full WAB fleet or something. :(
alright alright
REVIEW of the bus
"
I chance upon a ride in the all new SMb1H , a mercedes benz OC500LE of Singapore.
I already had a preview of the bus on my Campus grounds on 28 apr 2008 (NUS). Already noted some extra features (no ride then)
the wheellchair user will have seatbelts for xtra safety. this feature CAN ONLY be found in Hong Kong buses.
the door closing chime might get irritating.
the pls move to the rear announcement is cute.
In terms of ride comfort, i chose a outer seat on my first ride. someone feedback to me that a inner seat ride will not be so good. I also tried a inner seat ride few days ago. i found the feedback to be true.
also at the rear, there is no jutting out wheel curve, so ur leg dun feel chui after a long ride in an awkward postion.
i will cocnentrate on the ride i had in a outer seat at rear middle. the bus is soft. (dun sit at rearmost seats!), engine sounds like a Hino crossed with a Scania L113. however posesses much of a australian OC500LE sound as well. the retarding -final stage- ZF whine is very nice to my ears.
I still find that the bus revving engine like mad when we slow down. it is bit rather irritating. much like how i found it irritating whilst on TP1854.
when the bus managed to shift to 5th gear, we can hear a sort of a hub reduction sound. very in line with any Zf 6 speed bus. However what stunned me the most was when the bus hit the 6th gear.
at 6th gear, IF you sit in a outer seat at the rear middle, u get this floating sensation. this is attributed to the engine coming down to a very low revolution rate, coupled with a superior suspension, u literally feel like you are floating on BKE. upon exiting form 6th gar, the bus does not have a pronnouned cat-call. this floating sensation CANNOT be found in any citybus in Singapore perhaps except TIb840 when u sit in front. floating sensation an be easily felt in good suspension scania coaches of the SJE Scania L113 (sit in front)
However, the very loud whine ptiching before exiting form 6th gar rminds us that other units may have potential to have cat calls. i look forward to rides on other units when they come out. just for the floating sensations.
ZYX
i just hope SMb2E have cat calls ?
CAT CALLS
some buses are tuned/the gears r such that no cat call . many of the scanias i took dun catcall.
why do i have this fascination with cat calls? it has to do with a cat mewing on a SBS8057 ride i had on 123 once long ago. i thought, hey we have a stowaway cat on bus..i look around..erm no kitten or cat leh... then it hit me..
THAT WAS THE CAT CALL as told to me by many Austrlian bus fans.
from then on, i loved the cat calls, just because they make the sound of a lovely cat.
note that cat calls can also be made when a bus shift from 2nd to thrid in certain situations. but commonly, before a cat call, u are in 6th gear, u hear a high pitch whine building up , it reaches a very high pitch. when the bus finally starts to engage slow down gear, a cat call is produced.
meow
ZYX
Originally posted by ZYX2005:the wheellchair user will have seatbelts for xtra safety. this feature CAN ONLY be found in Hong Kong buses.
It is also a federal requirement in both the united states and canada to have seatbelts for wheelchair users. It is not only found in HK buses.
Originally posted by ZYX2005:
I still find that the bus revving engine like mad when we slow down. it is bit rather irritating. much like how i found it irritating whilst on TP1854.
Fascinating.....I really can't wait to get my butt on a OC500LE soon.
Cat calls......referring to the loud yowl when the ZF4/5/6 shifts up from 2nd to 3rd, and subsequently the howl before the gearbox goes into its overdrive?
As well as the individual howls as the gears shift down as the bus slows, and it is particularly loud when the bus slows to 2nd gear.
Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:Fascinating.....I really can't wait to get my butt on a OC500LE soon.
Cat calls......referring to the loud yowl when the ZF4/5/6 shifts up from 2nd to 3rd, and subsequently the howl before the gearbox goes into its overdrive?
As well as the individual howls as the gears shift down as the bus slows, and it is particularly loud when the bus slows to 2nd gear.
shall we take the bus together? ![]()
17/m/keen.
I managed to take it today. I really love it and I hope SMRT buys more and more of OC500LE.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:I managed to take it today. I really love it and I hope SMRT buys more and more of OC500LE.
SMRT not Singapore Mint hor.
your more and more sounds like hundreds and hundreds! ![]()
Just now did AM/PM Shift 190 - 23
Later doing the TQ shift.
Originally posted by SBS2695H:I managed to take it today. I really love it and I hope SMRT buys more and more of OC500LE.
I'd like for them to get more varieties of bus makes and bodies too. i think everyday see all fleet OC500LE will sian one. Nissan Diesels/Hino with Volgrens :p anyone?
Wrong Post
Originally posted by sinicker:
shall we take the bus together?
17/m/keen.
No thanks......wait you kancho moi....![]()