Originally posted by Powered_By_CNG:Low-powered? These things have 220kW (299 PS) and 1250Nm - sigificantly higher than the K230UB, B7RLE, and 18.240. The power and torque are available at lower engine speeds too (better driveability). From experience, the OM 457 hLA engine isn't exactly spirited (as opposed to the OM 447 hLA), but definitely delivers the low-revving "kick" that Merc engines are famous for.
Regards,
Dave
I believe many can't differentiate between the power of an engine...whether it is good or bad. Tsk tsk.
Originally posted by Powered_By_CNG:Low-powered? These things have 220kW (299 PS) and 1250Nm - sigificantly higher than the K230UB, B7RLE, and 18.240. The power and torque are available at lower engine speeds too (better driveability). From experience, the OM 457 hLA engine isn't exactly spirited (as opposed to the OM 447 hLA), but definitely delivers the low-revving "kick" that Merc engines are famous for.
Regards,
Dave
Let me make this clear once n for all:
I agree w those statistics, but it FEELS LIKE its low powered, thats all
Originally posted by AEW5001:
Let me make this clear once n for all:
I agree w those statistics, but it FEELS LIKE its low powered, thats all
In what way does it feels like its low powered?
Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:
Yeah you got to elaborate, so we can understand more. (:
Originally posted by AEW5001:then as well e card reader shld have been red n white, silver grabpoles, red colour seats etc
then i rather have the original look for KUBS.The colours already represent that you are on a SBST bus.And you see the signs?They are even in orange,white and purple.
Originally posted by SBS8033D:then i rather have the original look for KUBS.The colours already represent that you are on a SBST bus.And you see the signs?They are even
in orange,white and purple.
Pls be mature n stop harping on those. They are BEYOND my control.
Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:
Initially e bus accelerates (not as loud as 18.240). As it chg gears, sound from engine goes softer, until i only hear e A/C running. BTW e driver didnt step on e gas all e way.
Quite dissapointed to c no visible markings to indicate steps.
Originally posted by Oceane:
I believe many can't differentiate between the power of an engine...whether it is good or bad. Tsk tsk.
In comparison, a Scania N113CRB or a B10TL has 1300Nm of torque.
Originally posted by Scania:In comparison, a Scania N113CRB or a B10TL has 1300Nm of torque.
I thought a B10TL has 1200Nm of torque? Most B10TLs are fitted with ZF 5HP590 gearboxes, which can handle a maximum of 1250Nm. If B10TL engines produce 1300Nm, it would have been wise to fit it with ZF 5HP600 gearbox.
Initially e bus accelerates (not as loud as 18.240). As it chg gears, sound from engine goes softer, until i only hear e A/C running. BTW e driver didnt step on e gas all e way.Quite dissapointed to c no visible markings to indicate steps.
if the SL go zham the accelerator, u will get the shiokness!
New buses with operators just getting a hang of it... Just like a kid who just got his first computer (do you remember what happened yourself?), of course the operation is slow, typing is slow etc.
Once you got the hang of it... Now that you can even post in a forum.
That is the point. I too remember how slow the Scania was when it came to s174 for the first time, Bukit Batok to City take 1 hour, and then 6 months down the road, SMU/City Hall to BB in 38 minutes (same timing as a fast LO).
Initially e bus accelerates (not as loud as 18.240). As it chg gears, sound from engine goes softer, until i only hear e A/C running. BTW e driver didnt step on e gas all e way.
Well there's your problem then. The driver was being cautious, because he/she didn't want to destroy a brand new vehicle and risk getting the sack!
Also, the OM 457 hLA engine is significantly quieter whilst accelerating compared to the OM 447 hLA (as found on the later O 405s), so it is natural to perceive the performance to be less, because you can't "hear" or "feel" the power.
Regards,
Dave
Which Depot is 7S under?
I'm asking cause it was at Sembawang Int 20 mins ago. Probably still is.
Originally posted by Powered_By_CNG:Well there's your problem then. The driver was being cautious, because he/she didn't want to destroy a brand new vehicle and risk getting the sack!
Also, the OM 457 hLA engine is significantly quieter whilst accelerating compared to the OM 447 hLA (as found on the later O 405s), so it is natural to perceive the performance to be less, because you can't "hear" or "feel" the power.
Regards,
Dave
maybe i take e OCs again 2 mths later!
May i ask the timing for SMB3C on 67
I onli know around 7.00-7.15am this bus will at Tampines Ave 5 (toward CCK)
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:May i ask the timing for SMB3C on 67
I onli know around 7.00-7.15am this bus will at Tampines Ave 5 (toward CCK)
yesterday it just entered tamp int frm cck at 6.00-6.05pm.
Originally posted by Raraken:Which Depot is 7S under?
AM.
From the looks of it, likely perm training... everyday go Sembawang then Yishun to let SLs try out... 6.30pm++ return to depot. x.X
Originally posted by Raraken:Which Depot is 7S under?
Oh? Are they are finally caring about us Sembawang residents and preparing to put their shiny new buses on a Sembawang route?
Most probably, training for either route 167 or 980, unless you are telling me that route 859 is going to pong back to Ang Mo Kio depot again (and what's with this endless route 859 ping-pong game? If they can't decide, just make it a dual-depot bus route, for God's sake).
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Oh? Are they are finally caring about us Sembawang residents and preparing to put their shiny new buses on a Sembawang route?
Most probably, training for either route 167 or 980, unless you are telling me that route 859 is going to pong back to Ang Mo Kio depot again (and what's with this endless route 859 ping-pong game? If they can't decide, just make it a dual-depot bus route, for God's sake).
I don't think so even though I hope so. I guess it's more of a introduction and test drive for the Service Leaders.
Originally posted by eX.A.K.R.:Oh? Are they are finally caring about us Sembawang residents and preparing to put their shiny new buses on a Sembawang route?
Someone saw 7S with the 980 route details in Sembawang previously.
859 won't make dual depot; it loops at Yishun instead of terminating there...
856 should be under AMDEP lah, the layover time in Yishun is soooooo much longer than at Woodlands... 30 minutes to 5 minutes?? Moreover SLs have their mealbreaks at Yishun.
Someone saw 7S with the 980 route details in Sembawang previously.859 won't make dual depot; it loops at Yishun instead of terminating there...
856 should be under AMDEP lah, the layover time in Yishun is soooooo much longer than at Woodlands... 30 minutes to 5 minutes?? Moreover SLs have their mealbreaks at Yishun.
ooh...my friend does not like to drive 856. cos of the Senoko area. but he enjoys 858 ![]()
Originally posted by nenepokey:ooh...my friend does not like to drive 856. cos of the Senoko area. but he enjoys 858
Tight timesheets for S856. Esp sundays. Only given 40 mins to drive from Yishun to Woodlands.
whoa...siao!
Originally posted by nenepokey:whoa...siao!
damn siao lol.I think must at least 1 hr. Then give crossover lol. Throw SP out do duty
Originally posted by SBS8033D:damn siao lol.I think must at least 1 hr. Then give crossover lol. Throw SP out do duty
Normal trips are around 50 minutes IIRC. By slicing off 10 minutes, no doubt buses are hitting Admiralty Rd West at speeds like 75km/h.