Originally posted by sinicker:Okay everyone. Today had my first OC500LE ride on S854 SMB9L 2.30pm trip from Bedok Int.
interior-wise, nice, clean, pleasing 3-colour tone with red/black and grey aircon ducts. Aircon also strong. so everything good.
the ride started fine. the female SL was very careful with the bus but i dont have complaints about that. she gave herself a very long braking distance and wide clearances too entering/exiting bus stops. reach SBST HG depot, S854 behind, a MB0405 caught up and overtake the OC500LE.
it clearly wasnt as jerky as the scania k230ub. even the 3rd batch of scanias jerk more than the OC500LE. so plus points for the merc.
to say the truth, this is not yet the time to talk abt the optimal performance of the bus as the SLs are still very cautious when they drive the OC500LE. maybe we've to give it a few more months. then they'll start to be more aggressive with their driving lol.
ride back to the east was a Scania K230UB on S39. obviously, the difference could be felt in the short span of time and my vote goes to the OC500LE. for fast rides on Scanias, one can try S27 late at night. 2nd last bus would be good(last bus must follow timetable mah).
to conclude, if you still havent ride it, take it! reading mine and other people's long comments are not similar to the personal experience you'll get.
Not all SLs drive carefully on first days. :P
Some choose to rush. LOL.
Originally posted by SBS 233 X:Just 2 random shots taken just now....
SMB9L on 854
Expected service 854 will get Merc OC500LEs one day, based on its route popularity.
Unlike SBST's practice which will have only selected bus services to have Scania K230UB deployments. SMRT deploys its new OC500LEs as normal cameo buses on its different bus routes (except WLDEP which has none).
Originally posted by TIB1049L:
Not time to comment on the cleanliness of the bus. Its just only a few days. I mean you don't expect to see aircon ducts with layers of dust. =X
hahaha.. yeah true. take SMRT 3rd generation train see aircon duct layer of dust so thick already.. what more, SMRT buses? ![]()
Originally posted by Oceane:
KJDEP still more than AMDEP by 1 unit. Lol.I'm starting to see things take shape...
At least better that WLDEP which has zero Merc OC500LEs and the most number of Nissan UDs.
Let's see where the next batch of new buses goes to after being registered (SMB14X onwards).
Originally posted by TIB1018B:
At least better that WLDEP which has zero Merc OC500LEs and the most number of Nissan UDs.
Let's see where the next batch of new buses goes to after being registered (SMB14X onwards).
I think should be KJ and AM. Got the feeling that when the UDs are phased out, WLDEP will take in Box Merz and bendies from AMDEP and KJDEP. Sad nia ![]()
Not time to comment on the cleanliness of the bus. Its just only a few days. I mean you don't expect to see aircon ducts with layers of dust. =X
Off: I have boarded those Batch 1 Scania K230UBs on service 163 and noticed that dirt marks started to appear on its surfaces already though they were registered in less than a year.
I think should be KJ and AM. Got the feeling that when the UDs are phased out, WLDEP will take in Box Merz and bendies from AMDEP and KJDEP. Sad nia
Buses like TIB782J (from AMDEP) and TIB793C (from KJDEP) got transferred to WLDEP after AMDEP and KJDEP getting Merc OC500LEs
the announcments on he SMRTbus are fine but some improvements could be made...
here are some reviews:-
" Welcome onbaord SMRTbbus vs thank you for travelling with SMRTbus"
Wlecome aboard is shorter Also is unifrom with the flashed announcements on the bendybuses lor.
"please hold on to he grabpoles while standing in the bus"
A nice try at copying the Japanese trains style but i feel...
"Please hold on to the grabpoles, the bus is moving..." is better
"DOOR CLOSING"
rather SMRT train ish. But to chase people away from the doors lest they block the infra reds, perhaps
:please stand back from the doors.." DOOP DOOP DOOP DOOP
would be nicer.
And sorely missing
where are the next stop annoucnements?!these are the most important announcements needed in a bus but yet its not annoucned?
Also the nice LED PIDS screen showing next stop locations found on other SMRTbuses are not in the new buses? I like the screens as they tell me the next stop by flashing it. i used it the other day and did not get lost while taking 975 in CCK to a certain block 464.
ZYX
Originally posted by TIB1018B:
Off: I have boarded those Batch 1 Scania K230UBs on service 163 and noticed that dirt marks started to appear on its surfaces already though they were registered in less than a year.
OT also. the KUB radiators had a lot of leaves too....so KUB windows are super greased....
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:OT also. the KUB radiators had a lot of leaves too....so KUB windows are super greased....
more like people with lots of sweat sleep liao then left behind all those disgusting markings...
can i just confirm... ... is smb 9L on S969 anymore... or no longer there?
Hi,
Was there 2 OC500LE's on 851 today? Also, does anyone have OC500LE timetables for 851 tmr?
TIA.
Originally posted by Oceane:
No idea what you are talking about. It was a normal rigid that broke down, not OC500LE which broke down. Quite common for a normal rigid to break down anyway, there are like, at least 3 breakdown incidents I hear of everyday in Yishun.
The first trip of SMB1H...on PIE while climbing up the slopes.
Originally posted by n4l:Hi,
Was there 2 OC500LE's on 851 today? Also, does anyone have OC500LE timetables for 851 tmr?
TIA.
The bus every week change timetable de. They practice driver follow bus, jump schedule. Last week it's on AM05/PM05 (Sat last bus from Bt Merah), this week it's on AM06/PM06 (one bus after it). tml shld be starting trip from YSI before 6am.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
The bus every week change timetable de. They practice driver follow bus, jump schedule. Last week it's on AM05/PM05 (Sat last bus from Bt Merah), this week it's on AM06/PM06 (one bus after it). tml shld be starting trip from YSI before 6am.
ic. thanks, going to have to play by luck then :o
Originally posted by ^tamago^:if i’m nt wrong it will change shift and depart at 14:28 for weekdays. see YSI roster for more details.
Staring at the roster is not something I want to do...:p...later the SLs think I'm up to something funny.
Originally posted by n4l:Staring at the roster is not something I want to do...:p...later the SLs think I'm up to something funny.
No lah, as long as you don't look suspicious they wouldn't care. :P
Have been viewing the rosters for many months already, sometimes even SLs chat with me about the roster.
The whole system under SMRT is that the drivers follow this timesheet system called (Block + 1). They do so every Sunday, say if Saturday drives block 10, Sunday drives block 11. They do so until reaching the highest block number, then go back to block 01.
The good thing about it too, is that end up most of the time the SL will get to use the same bus.
There are of course exceptions...
Originally posted by ZYX2005:where are the next stop annoucnements?!these are the most important announcements needed in a bus but yet its not annoucned?
Also the nice LED PIDS screen showing next stop locations found on other SMRTbuses are not in the new buses? I like the screens as they tell me the next stop by flashing it. i used it the other day and did not get lost while taking 975 in CCK to a certain block 464.
I'm also wondering why they never fit them before putting it to revenue service? at least, fit the LED boxes first so that the depot guys can tweak it when maintanience.
They may really use it in conjunction with the voice announcements. That time i took the SGH shuttle (by SMRT's premium bus service), got next stop announcement saying "Next Stop : National Heart Centre." Follow HK Style =/
Originally posted by sinicker:Okay everyone. Today had my first OC500LE ride on S854 SMB9L 2.30pm trip from Bedok Int.
interior-wise, nice, clean, pleasing 3-colour tone with red/black and grey aircon ducts. Aircon also strong. so everything good.
the ride started fine. the female SL was very careful with the bus but i dont have complaints about that. she gave herself a very long braking distance and wide clearances too entering/exiting bus stops. reach SBST HG depot, S854 behind, a MB0405 caught up and overtake the OC500LE.
it clearly wasnt as jerky as the scania k230ub. even the 3rd batch of scanias jerk more than the OC500LE. so plus points for the merc.
to say the truth, this is not yet the time to talk abt the optimal performance of the bus as the SLs are still very cautious when they drive the OC500LE. maybe we've to give it a few more months. then they'll start to be more aggressive with their driving lol.
ride back to the east was a Scania K230UB on S39. obviously, the difference could be felt in the short span of time and my vote goes to the OC500LE. for fast rides on Scanias, one can try S27 late at night. 2nd last bus would be good(last bus must follow timetable mah).
to conclude, if you still havent ride it, take it! reading mine and other people's long comments are not similar to the personal experience you'll get.
Hey Roderick and I were on that bus too, we sat at the third-last or second-last row (forgot). We went up to talk to the SL. Did you see us? I alighted at YCK Rd.
hello evrybdy, long time aftr break, anyways, saw 6U travelling twrd marina ctr at orchard rd. back eds blank, nobody board bus, front eds cant be seen as it was super speeding. to where hor?
Originally posted by scaniaB7RLE:hello evrybdy, long time aftr break, anyways, saw 6U travelling twrd marina ctr at orchard rd. back eds blank, nobody board bus, front eds cant be seen as it was super speeding. to where hor?
I saw it too. I was on a DAF on 985 when I saw it on PIE. I belive off service?
Originally posted by n4l:Staring at the roster is not something I want to do...:p...later the SLs think I'm up to something funny.
take a short peek will do. hahah