Still traumatised by this incident, I just wanted to get this off my chest and inform everyone about it. Not knowing where to post my letter or would it be rejected by publications, I've decided to post here...
Having read articles on bus cheats’ impact on bus company with great interest. But I would like to bring to everyone's attention on another viewpoint on this; while it is important to instil compliance of correct fare payment, it is also important for bus drivers to do their job with courtesy and professionalism.
Mid April, after alighting a bus at night (a few metres away from the bus stop), I spotted a figure stepped out of the entrance of the bus, yelling and waving at me, enraged.
It was the bus driver.
From his loudly accented expression, I could make out that he was commanding me to go back to him as he alleged I did not scan my ezlink card. I distinctively knew I had scanned my card both at times of boarding and only when alighting, hence there is no reason for me to be treated like that. He was not in the right mindset for a civilised discourse. I would be glad to clarify if he had make the effort to come up to me and enquire politely, since he was already out of the bus.
The next day, I checked with a polite MRT personnel and re-affirmed that my card is in working condition and the bus transaction yesterday night was well-recorded (and paid with the correct fare of $1.39).
Understand that being a bus driver is stressful, there is no reason to displace the anger on passengers. This might be another isolated incident, bus drivers certainly need to improve on their way of following up with passengers.
Bus driver's harsh way of handling the situation may be the reason why so many passengers are enraged to land a punch on their faces. However, I urge all of you to just walk away and ignore - would be the best method and then follow up later the next day with the authority. This may just prevent alot of abuses which land innocent people into imprisonment.
You can write this to Straits Times Forum stating the rego of the bus. If you can't remember the rego, try to remember the model of the bus.
eat too full.
liddat u oso wan comprain.
You can check the past few transaction of your EZ link card at the AVM at MRT stations. I think you can also get a print out, (fee 40 cents?).
Anyway you can make a complaint with proof that you have paid. This is recommended, as one more bus captain would be educated by the bus co.
Originally posted by fayewongfan:Still traumatised by this incident, I just wanted to get this off my chest and inform everyone about it. Not knowing where to post my letter or would it be rejected by publications, I've decided to post here...
Having read articles on bus cheats’ impact on bus company with great interest. But I would like to bring to everyone's attention on another viewpoint on this; while it is important to instil compliance of correct fare payment, it is also important for bus drivers to do their job with courtesy and professionalism.
Mid April, after alighting a bus at night (a few metres away from the bus stop), I spotted a figure stepped out of the entrance of the bus, yelling and waving at me, enraged.
It was the bus driver.
From his loudly accented expression, I could make out that he was commanding me to go back to him as he alleged I did not scan my ezlink card. I distinctively knew I had scanned my card both at times of boarding and only when alighting, hence there is no reason for me to be treated like that. He was not in the right mindset for a civilised discourse. I would be glad to clarify if he had make the effort to come up to me and enquire politely, since he was already out of the bus.
The next day, I checked with a polite MRT personnel and re-affirmed that my card is in working condition and the bus transaction yesterday night was well-recorded (and paid with the correct fare of $1.39).
Understand that being a bus driver is stressful, there is no reason to displace the anger on passengers. This might be another isolated incident, bus drivers certainly need to improve on their way of following up with passengers.
Bus driver's harsh way of handling the situation may be the reason why so many passengers are enraged to land a punch on their faces. However, I urge all of you to just walk away and ignore - would be the best method and then follow up later the next day with the authority. This may just prevent alot of abuses which land innocent people into imprisonment.
theres no place for them to illeviate their anger unfortunately. their superiors and road users are the biggest culprits of the stress. the company doesnt protect the interests or anything of their drivers. driver die, die lor. who cares. jus get new driver can liao.
Since you even don't know if he was talking of the payment from card and assumes that he was talking of that instead of confirming it ,what can some one say about you?
I have seen many good drivers too.A guy returned the purse I lost in the bus to the station and called me to tell about it.
Why do ppl always see the bad side?Never been angry in work?
Originally posted by mancha:You can check the past few transaction of your EZ link card at the AVM at MRT stations. I think you can also get a print out, (fee 40 cents?).
Anyway you can make a complaint with proof that you have paid. This is recommended, as one more bus captain would be educated by the bus co.
That is what I intended initially, to get the print-out (evidence) of the transaction.
But I was told by MRT staff that they no longer do that service. They can only help me to check the transactions and provide me details but no print-out.
I also do thought of complaining, however, I know that not all complaints will be heard/attended. That's why so many forumers complained online.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:eat too full.
liddat u oso wan comprain.
Not certain if you have gone thru similar experience, but it was traumatising and embarrassing (for me) to be shouted at in public, in front of so many people.
You may consider taking back your words, as it was unjustifiable for what I had gone thru.
Boycott SBS loh.. i cycle and occassionally take MRT.
Save money ,faster than public transport and no need to meet all these idiot things..
Stupid. Why not you just drive?
Originally posted by fayewongfan:Not certain if you have gone thru similar experience, but it was traumatising and embarrassing (for me) to be shouted at in public, in front of so many people.
You may consider taking back your words, as it was unjustifiable for what I had gone thru.
crazy.
y shud i.
traumatise simi.
u leali is sott one.
Why would the bus driver be angry at you if he thought you didn't scan at the exit point ? It makes no sense.
I thought that if you do not scan at the exit it just deducts the maximum fare? Shouldn't the bus driver be happy?
Originally posted by Raraken:I thought that if you do not scan at the exit it just deducts the maximum fare? Shouldn't the bus driver be happy?
The difference wouldn't go to the driver also. No reason for him to be happy as well.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:
crazy.y shud i.
traumatise simi.
u leali is sott one.
Wait till something worse happen to you... Then you speak.
Originally posted by kramnave:Why would the bus driver be angry at you if he thought you didn't scan at the exit point ? It makes no sense.
Same thoughts too, it makes no sense. That's why I chose to walk away. On top of that, that bus driver was not in a good mental state for civilised discourse.
Had I returned, there would be worse things to come.
My advice to all, best is to ignore and avoid conflict. No crime ignoring.
Originally posted by fayewongfan:
Same thoughts too, it makes no sense. That's why I chose to walk away. On top of that, that bus driver was not in a good mental state for civilised discourse.Had I returned, there would be worse things to come.
My advice to all, best is to ignore and avoid conflict. No crime ignoring.
Yeah but what was he unhappy about then ?
Originally posted by kramnave:Yeah but what was he unhappy about then ?
I really have no idea, it's like I alighted the bus and I have a very angry bus driver shouting at me...
It's weird.
Originally posted by fayewongfan:Still traumatised by this incident, I just wanted to get this off my chest and inform everyone about it. Not knowing where to post my letter or would it be rejected by publications, I've decided to post here...
It was the bus driver.
What I suggest is, document down the incident, and sent to the right channels if you are interested to get things done. When I mean right channel is...
SBS Transit top management skipping the chain of Corporate communications. And also to the press and of course the internet.
Originally posted by fayewongfan:Wait till something worse happen to you... Then you speak.
until then loh.
such a minor incident.
wat's there to bitch abt.
Originally posted by MS:
What I suggest is, document down the incident, and sent to the right channels if you are interested to get things done. When I mean right channel is...SBS Transit top management skipping the chain of Corporate communications. And also to the press and of course the internet.
Top mgt? What would they handle the matter?
Well what to do? In case some of you do not even realise that most SBS bus drivers hired in Singapore are not Singaporeans, they are foreign workers. For years, SBS has been hiring half of the workers from Malaysia, as they are much cheaper and willing to take up the lower income job. And very soon, you will see more foreign workers continue to come from 3rd world country like China(SBS is now recruiting from that country). I perceive the situation will get worst because these china men won't have a clue how to communicate with the locals and foreigners since they only know how to speak Mandarin. The only Singaporean drivers you can find are the lower educated Ah Pei (old men) who do not mind the "unglamourous" job..(sigh)
Therefore either we learn to put up with it, or complain to SBS (through ST forum) that they should hire better social manner foreign workers or increase the pay to attract more educated Singaporeans to join in.
yeah. if PRC drive bus....
they talk to their friends beside them... they are like shouting already...
what more to a passenger!
"WOI! WOI! HARROW!!!"
Originally posted by proudsinglish:Well what to do? In case some of you do not even realise that most SBS bus drivers hired in Singapore are not Singaporeans, they are foreign workers. For years, SBS has been hiring half of the workers from Malaysia, as they are much cheaper and willing to take up the lower income job. And very soon, you will see more foreign workers continue to come from 3rd world country like China(SBS is now recruiting from that country). I perceive the situation will get worst because these china men won't have a clue how to communicate with the locals and foreigners since they only know how to speak Mandarin. The only Singaporean drivers you can find are the lower educated Ah Pei (old men) who do not mind the "unglamourous" job..(sigh)
Therefore either we learn to put up with it, or complain to SBS (through ST forum) that they should hire better social manner foreign workers or increase the pay to attract more educated Singaporeans to join in.
Hmmm....... Though I believe that qualification level and EQ are mutually exclusive, the different cultures might be the reason.
I wonder, do "shouting" get things done in their own countries? (if that bus driver I met is a foreigner that may have difficulties expressing himself with proper etiquette).
Stomp it like any sg'reans would...